Let’s Get Physical

Hello friends!

No pretty pictures or friendly babble today. Nope. We are getting straight down to business ;)

As promised, here are two new full-body strength training workouts I designed for two very different clients. Pick your poison and enjoy!

 

Full Body Cardio and Strength Circuits

This is a workout I made for a client who has a lot of weight to lose. That means the exercises should be appropriate for someone dealing with excessive bodyweight and mobility restraints in mind. Listen to your body and stop if anything gets painful. Cardio sprints are added to burn extra calories off!

Start with 10 minutes on a cardio machine of your choosing. Make sure you’re warmed up and breathless by the end of it.

Circuit #1

Walking lunge with one arm alternating dumbbell shoulder press 24 reps 12 lbs Quads, glutes, shoulders
Dumbbell straight leg deadlift 10 reps 12 lbs Hamstrings, hips, lower back
Dumbbell diagonal woodchop 10-15 reps each side 12 lbs Obliques, legs, shoulders

Go through first circuit 2 times then hop on a cardio machine for 5 minutes hard work.

Circuit #2

Swiss ball squat with dumbbell bicep curl at bottom  15 reps 10-15 lbs Quads, glutes, biceps
Single leg dumbbell row 6 each leg 15-30 lbs Back, hamstrings
Toe touch crunch 20 reps 5-10 lbs Abs

Go through second circuit 2 times then hop on a cardio machine for 5 minutes hard work.

Circuit #3

Smith machine split squat (bring back leg forward to bend in front of body after every rep) 12 each leg Quads, glutes, hips
Incline push up on Smith machine 12 reps Chest, shoulders
Dumbbell overhead tricep extension  12 reps Triceps

Go through third circuit 2 times then hop on a cardio machine for 5-10 minutes hard work followed by a short cool-down and stretching.

 

Full Body Workout #4

A strength and weights-based workout designed for an experienced exerciser who is already flexible thanks to yoga and pilates. Aiming for overall “tone” at an already healthy bodyweight with a focus on compound movements and core.

Warm up on a cardio machine first for 5-10 minutes.
 

Seated machine chest press, alternating if machine allows 12-24 reps 10-20 lbs Chest, shoulders
Squat with front shoulder raise (holding swiss ball instead of medicine ball) 15-20 reps swiss ball Quads, glutes, hips, shoulders

 

Plank shuffle on medicine ball 60-90 sec Abs, shoulders
Diagonal woodchop with medicine ball 15 each side 5-10 lbs Obliques, legs, shoulders

 

Dumbbell bicep curl to shoulder press 10-15 reps 8-15 lbs Biceps, shoulders
Side plank with leg lift 30-45 sec Obliques, inner + outer thighs

 

Single arm cable row with reverse lunge 12 reps 15-30 lbs Back, biceps, quads, hips, glutes
Single arm 90 degree cable extension 12 reps 5-15 lbs Triceps

 

Single leg hamstring curl on ball 10 reps each side Hamstrings, calves
Ball pass 10-20 passes Abs

Don’t forget to stretch after!

 

See ya tomorrow for Fitness Friday where I’ll be answering all your running shoe questions!

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I like the second one. I was planning on doing speed work on the treadmill followed by weights tomorrow, so I think I will incorporate some of the ab stuff you have shown. Thanks for adding in clckable links. It is a very easy feature and oh so helpful. :)

  2. Thanks for this! sometime, I get to the gym and I’m like “what the hell now?” This give me some direction!

  3. Great workouts! I love doing circuits because I find them more interesting than doing set after set of one exercise, and they save time too. Have a great Friday :D

  4. I don’t think I would like to have you as my personal trainer – cause I would cry :)
    but seriously, these workouts look great, they will help me keep pushing myself after I’m done bootcamp!

  5. You know what would be so fun? To work out together! I always love the workouts you put together. They’re all so fabulous.

  6. These workouts look great! They are similar to some of the workouts I do on the Shred. I have to say though….when I read the blog title I so started singing Olivia Newton-John in my head :P

  7. I love the workouts! I have a question about the 2nd one, how many times do you repeat each set? Do you go through the entire workout and then repeat? I can’t wait to try these!

    Thanks!

    • Sorry, I forgot to say that in the post! The exercises are paired up and alternated for 2-3 sets, then move on to the next pair of exercises. I say 2-3 sets because it depends on how much time you have. With a 10 minute warm-up, 3 sets, and 10 minutes stretching after, you’ll be at a little over an hour.

  8. Oh I just got a cramp thinking about the single leg ham curl :-)

  9. I will try some of these the next time at the gym. Looks like some great body workouts!

  10. Ohhhh I am excited about this one! I did your lower body workout again yesterday and I am already sore today :) Hmmm is a swiss ball=stability ball? I’ll google it. That second one is going on the docket this weekend!

    LOVE YOU.

  11. gooood stuff! thank you for sharing the routines, Susan :) they look great!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

