Daily Archives: October 17, 2010

Family Feasts

Hello friends! How is everyone’s weekend going? I’ve been gallivanting around Toronto eating with my family. My mom is the city from New Brunswick for a week and my sister made it up from Ottawa for the weekend!

First stop on Friday:

IMG_2917

Fresh! This is one of my favourite spots in Toronto so far. As exhibited here, here, here, and here.

  IMG_2915
It’s a popular vegetarian/vegan restaurant with three locations around the city. Cramped seating and long waits. But the food is usually worth it!

I met up with my mom and sister here after a visit to the gym. They’d ordered a falafel + hummus appetizer that I munched on.

IMG_2905

The falafel was parsley packed and delicious, fluffy pita bread, and a wonderfully garlicky hummus. Thumbs up!

The fam split a wrap and burger. I tried a bite of the mushroom onion burger and it was amazing.Sautéed mushrooms & onions, tomato, lettuce, alfalfa sprouts & vegan mayo with aged cheddar, gorgonzola or soy cheese.” Definitely getting that next time!

IMG_2908

Sara ordered one of the E3Live juices. It was, erm, interesting.

IMG_2909

I went with something I’ve had before and loved – the magic tofu wrap: savoury coated tofu steaks with tomato, lettuce, cucumber, red onion, alfalfa sprouts, grated carrot & vegan mayo.

IMG_2912

Hit the spot!

IMG_2920

I dunno, you think we look related? ;)

 IMG_2919IMG_2921

I ended up having to work all day Saturday at the running store, but we had even bigger family plans for that evening. I have an aunt in the city and she made reservations at a new-to-me restaurant, Granite Brewery. 

IMG_2960

They’re in Halifax too!!

IMG_2932

Famillyyyy!!! Right here in Toronto :D SO wonderful to have us all together for an evening. It seems like these days the only time our family is all together like this is at mandatory holidays or funerals. I recommend getting together with your extended family every now and then for no reason other than to see each other. Maybe for Connectober!

I started with a half pour of raspberry beer. One must try the beer when eating at a place with “brewery” in the name.

IMG_2930
I also tried a half-pour of the blonde ale. Both were pretty tasty!

One thing you must know about my family is that they’re loud. They always tell me I’m so quiet. But I dare any normal-toned person to get a word in edgewise ;)

IMG_2935

Thankfully, I’m a preferred listener, and they’re pretty darn entertaining.

IMG_2937

My family are all blog readers and insisted I take pictures of all the food! Too cute. Here’s my cousin’s chicken curry:

IMG_2938

Heather with her pizza!

IMG_2939

My cajun salmon salad:

IMG_2941

Allan, the budding food blogger:

IMG_2944

Sister Sara with her steak sandwich:

IMG_2945

Then came the best part: cake!

IMG_2947

Several birthdays have been celebrated over the last couple weeks, so of course a cake was in order.

IMG_2955

It was a chocolate cheesecake cake. 

IMG_2958

After being a good girl with my half-pour beers and salmon salad, I had a fair-sized slice of cake and ate it all. You choose your battles when dining out, and this was a battle well chosen ;)

Today is my last day off before going back to the real world on Monday. But Suday is already off to an amazing start! You’ll have to wait until tomorrow to hear about it. In the meantime – enjoy the rest of your weekend! xo

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite part of a restaurant meal? The appetizers? Bread basket? Drinks? Decadent main dish? Dessert? Clearly, I am all about dessert ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers