New Kicks + Little India

Ohbaby.

IMG_2890

My staff discount at the running store finally came through. Seconds after getting the code, I literally ran there buy the shoes I’ve been dreaming of.

You see, I religiously get new running sneakers every six months. Come month 5 I start to get nagging aches and pains that weren’t there before. Even though a sneaker looks fine, there can be significant wear to the cushioning. Well, it’s been 9 months since my last upgrade, and my feet and legs have been screaming at me.

My past two pairs have been Saucony Rides, but I’ve been branching out and testing other pairs at work. Some (like the Brooks Ariel or Asics Nimbus) just feel all wrong. Too heavy, too squishy, too much in the heel, not enough in the forefoot.

IMG_2893

I’ve never thought of wearing Nikes to run in until I put the Air Pegasus 27 Trail shoes on. Everything just felt right. Even though I’ve historically gone with sneakers with a wider toe box, my foot feels nice in the notoriously narrow build of the Nike shoe. I’m a mild supinator, which means I run on the outside of my foot. Also means I need a shoe for mostly cushioning and don’t require arch support. These babies fit the bill!

IMG_2897

Even though trails are my surface of choice, it’s never occurred to me to buy specific trail shoes. They have more grip on the bottom and are made with Gore-Tex for a little water resistance.

IMG_2898

I could not wait to put these on my feet and fly down my regular running trail along Lake Ontario. I was so excited when I popped out of bed this morning, I failed to notice it was pouring rain outside until I stepped out the door. Under any other circumstances I would have turned back inside. I’m a fair weather runner. But I was just too excited to test out my new shoes! I hit the puddles for a soggy forty minutes and got completely drenched. Well, all except my feet that is. The water resistance totally worked and the extra grips were great on the wet surface. These will be great for winter training!

Did I mention they’re cute too? ;)

Alright, enough about my shoes. Something even more exciting happened today.

My mom arrived!!

She’s visiting from New Brunswick until next week and I couldn’t be more excited to have her here. We haven’t seen each other since I left New Brunswick in June!

My mom has been to Toronto manymany times, so there’s no need to show her all the typical touristy spots. We quickly came up with a list of littler known neighbourhoods she needs to explore during this visit. The first one we went to for lunch – Little India!

IMG_2886 
I live about a 15 minute walk away from Little India. Would you believe that today was my first time actually eating there??

IMG_2865
Toronto’s Little India consists of just a strip on Gerrard St East. But it’s a colourful strip regardless.

IMG_2867 
My mom said she could smell the Indian cooking as soon as we hit it.

IMG_2870 
I of course took to the internets to find the best place to eat there. Two places kept popping up and I eventually decided on Moti Mahal based on the recommendations of Suki.

IMG_2872

They had a cafeteria style set-up where you pick what you want then call your number when it’s ready.

IMG_2874

Mom and I both went for the special of rice and lentils with your choice of a meat, vegetable and bread.

IMG_2875

For meat, I went with the goat curry…

IMG_2878
I’ve never had goat before, it was interesting! I think I prefer lamb, it was a little too meat-y for me (if that makes sense).

The lentils

IMG_2880 
Probably my favourite dish on the tray, perfectly spiced.

The spiced vegetables

IMG_2881 
Ohwow, these were definitely spiced! Almost too spicy for me. Although, the eggplant pieces were my favourite.

The rice…

IMG_2884

Really liked the long grain rice with peas. This one had a wonderful spice in it too that I couldn’t quite put my finger on. Took the edge off the more harshly spiced dishes.

Finally, the roti…

IMG_2882

Yum! Just like a thinner pita bread with a little crisp. This was my “healthy” choice for the meal ;)

My mom!!!!

IMG_2883

I caught her mid naan bite :P She said she really enjoyed her food as well. We were both excited to try goat for the first time.

After lunch, we wandered around Little India in the rain a bit more to walk off the heavy meal…

IMG_2887

Right now my mom is catching up on sleep from her early flight. We’ve got some local sausages in the fridge for dinner and I’m pumped to spend the rest of the week with her!

 

Off to write tomorrow’s Fitness Friday post. Today’s was a little sneak peak, as I’m starting Part 1 of a series on running shoes. See ya tomorrow!

 

Question of the Day: What kind of sneakers do you run or exercise in? I now take this sneaker business very seriously!

Posted on October 14, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. I like the shoes. But I’m pretty partial to purple. :) I wear Brooks Ravenna. LOVE them!

  2. I am SUPER particular about my running shoes, I feel ya! I found the perfect pair [Asics Gel Kayano] and have been wearing them for the past five years. I don’t know what I would do if they discontinued them!

    Never been to little India, but I LOVE Indian food- looks like it would be worth checking out! :)

    Have fun with your mom!!

    xoxo
    Kris

  3. Those shoes look awesome!

    I currentlyhave some Asics but I’m due for a new pair.. I do love my current shoes but I’m looking at all of my options right now.

  4. Aww yay for a nice visit! I run in Nikes and I’ve always felt like I wasn’t a “real” runner because of it (well, that and my uber slow times) but I really like them!

    • I know, some runners scoff at Nikes because they’re fairly new to the running shoe game as opposed to specializing in running shoes only (like Asics, Saucony or Mizuno). BUT Nike has made serious improvements to their running line over the past few years. So you can scoff right back ;) I’ll be going over shoe brands in my running shoe series!

  5. I have Reebok sneakers. I’m ashamed to admit however that they are ridiculously old. I’m talking like 8 years. I bought them freshman year of HIGH SCHOOL for running I had to do with my soccer team. Granted until about sophomore year of college I rarely used them, I’ve been using them fairly regularly since then – especially in the past year and a half. I’m actually hoping to get a new pair this weekend because I need to stop putting it off. I haven’t had any injuries or serious aches and pains YET so I’m hoping I stay lucky.

    Nicole G

  6. OMG.. looking at that Indian karela brings back memories of when I tried it for the first time… http://eatspinrunrepeat.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/recap-try-something-new-tuesday-17/… definitely not a pleasant experience!

    Your new shoes on the other hand, look amazing! Sounds like you gave them a good wearing in this morning. I’m in need of new Asics at the moment and am crazy jealous of your staff discount!

  7. Love that we both posted about our running shoes today! :) I just got a pair of Mizuno Wave Riders – I have narrow feet, high arch underpronate so after reading reviews and trying on a lot of shoes, I think (crossing fingers) that I’ve found the right pair to get me through my first half marathon this December 5th. Your Nikes are really cute!

  8. Sometimes Indian spice is too spicy for me! :) Glad it was a good experience, and you got to try something new. Considering it’s 15 minutes from where you are, you should be visiting more!

    I don’t have a pair of shoes I run in regularly. I bought a pair of Brooks b/c I’m overpronated, but I only really wear them to go hiking.

  9. Thanks to the fitting at your company and the agreement by a trusted back-up company, I rock it like a hurricane with Saucony Hurricanes! I’m on my third pair and love them! I’m actually in need of some new ones soon, no worries, I’ll come bug you when I do! Just need to save the cash and possibly next month I can get some to kick of the winter running season!

    Which trail do you use on the lakeshore?!

    • Yesyes, come see me when you need new shoes!! I’ll make you run all over the store analyzing your gait ;) Leslieville Spit has been my stomping grounds lately, but I ventured down to the Beach last weekend and really like that trail too. Slightly more entertaining ;)

  10. OHMYGOSHILOVETHOSESHOES!

  11. OHMYGOSHILOVETHOSESHOES! i know you are not supposed to buy running shoes based on looks.. (I know this because Marshall bought me Puma running shoes that he thought looked good and I ended upw ith $1500 of physical therapy) but those shoes.. I would buy because they look so dope! Ha. Okay, I would make sure they were right for my foot, THEN buy them based on looks. They are RAD.

    YAY for your mom arriving! That rice looks delicious. Goat, wow, I have never tried it! I am so glad you are getting some family time in! Isn’t your sis arriving, too?

    I have Asics.

    Love ya!

    • I know, I kept looking down at my feet while running today and smiling because they’re so pretty ;) Nike in general makes pretty stylish running shoes! And yup, big sis arrives tomorrow!!! :D

  12. those kicks are awesome. I always look like a dork with my workout sneakers. They aren’t very trendy and they are actually from the kids dept because I’m so teeny (hey, they are half the price, might as well!).
    I think I must have been indian in a past life because I’m obsessed with indian food and bollywood and yoga etc…
    Its so cool to see your mom, you resemble her in the best ways!

  13. I am very pick with my running shoes, I have been a long time fan of New Balance!

  14. aww ou and your mom are SO cute!! what a great buffet! goat? never tried it that is something else on my list I must try! was it gamey tasting?? I cannot STAND duck and nto a HUGE fan of lamb so if it tastes like either of those its probably not for me! I alsio heard alligator was tasty! haha

    love the sneaks, yes I have an employee discount at some local athletic stores too it ROCKS! I am sure you have the lululemon one right?? if not you MUST take advantage!!

    • I would compare the goat to rabbit maybe? I dunno, definitely not beef or chicken :P You might not like it. And you get a discount at Lululemon?? I only get one at the Running Room, which is the company I work for. LOTS of athletic gear to choose from there though.

  15. I have been running in the asics 2100 series forever! They are perfect for my foot and I can’t imagine switching to something else. I NEVER get blisters.

    Ah, I love indian food. Hi mama balancing act!!

  16. I LOVE your new runners!! VERY pretty… I wear New Balance and love them… no problems (I don’t think…) in my attempt to get back to running…

    roti… YUM… all of this looks SO good – except maybe the goat? you’re a bit more adventurous than me… your mom is cute!!

  17. Wow .. your mom is really hot !!! Not hard to tell where you got your good looks from … ;0)…

  18. For some reason, the word sneakers cracks me up. I wear Asics, have for years. They fit perfectly. Too bad they all are lame looking.

  19. Love your shoes. I am a New Balance fan.

  20. I have no arches and severely overpronate, so I am usually stuck with the (generally) pretty ugly shoes. The last running shoes I got were Sacounys, and I really like them! Ever since high school I have been going to running stores to get my shoes, and I greatly appreciate the people like you who work there. Running is so so much better and more fun when you aren’t in pain the whole time!

  21. Awesome new kicks! I swear by Nike Air Pegasus.

  22. I’ve never had Indian food, except Naan bread. I’m really nervous of trying it, but all of my friends keep saying they are going to get me to try it. :)

  23. love the air peg trail review! basically you and i have similar feet/strides it sounds like. i dont know if i pron or supinate, i think im neutral but as YOU told me, i am a heel striker thus the toe poppage. love my vomeros but it get rainy and nasty here in the winter and i go outside wlaking or running yr round and the gore tex of the trail runners sounds lovely. i think i will get those!

    goat. omg i cant imagine. There are wild goats in aruba and we spend so much time there. good to know that you probably wont eat goat any time soon based on the review :)

    love that you are having time w/ your mom!!!!

  24. Your shoes are very cute! I also get new running shoes every 7-8 months, usually. In fact, it’s getting to be that time and I have no idea what to get now. Usually I get Asics, however, I tried Saucony this last time. Definitely not purchasing Saucony again. I’ll probably end up with another pair of Asics. Hey, why mess with a good thing?
    ~Allison
    Fit&Fab Living

  25. Asics 2100 series, love them!

  26. I LOOOOOVVVVEEEE those purple shoes, and really for no other reason than that they’re purple, but I’m glad you got some new ones for your early morning / super freezing / you are very brave runs

  27. Hope you have a great time with your mum!

    I love reading about big cities where you have little India’s, chinatowns, greek parts of town. Our capital is way too smal for stuff like that, nevermind the other cities!

  28. Fun times with Mom! You’d have a hard time extracting me from Little India!

  29. I’m really behind commenting, but these are the shoes that I have worn and LOVED since I started running again. I have last year’s version (26) that’s black and pink and just put in my order for the new ones! I wore them for every run last winter (in Northern Ontario with like 3 feet of snow) and my feet were never cold or wet! They’re perfect!

    My heart will always belong to Nike. An UBER expensive pair of Asics Gel Kinsei gave me the worst shin splints I’ve ever had.

    • Yay!!! I’m contemplating getting the non-trail version of the air pegasus as well. I want a regular running shoe on top of my (awesome) trail runners, and they’re the only ones that feel *right* on my foot now!

  1. Pingback: Things I Learned The Month That Wasn’t | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Ask a Trainer: If the shoe fits, Wear It! – Friends for Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

