How Do You Like Them Apples?

Listen. I’ve had enough.

I know y’all love your pumpkin. But my head is going to explode if I see one more pumpkin recipe.

I’m just being real yo!

Truth of the matter is, the mushy orange stuff makes me a little squeamish. I love me some cinnamon and nutmeg, but tasteless baby food from a can makes me gag a little. Just a little.

When it comes to fall flavours, I am all about the apples.

IMG_2800

I’ve been dreaming about homemade apple sauce ever since I made a batch around this time last year. When walking past a fruit stand on Saturday, I saw Ontario empire apples on sale for 99 cents a pound. I knew the time had come.

apples4

I bought four pounds for four bucks. Last year, I went McIntosh, and the empires reminded me of a slightly crispier and less grainy version of them.

IMG_2808

Cored and chopped the apples until my pot was overflowing. No bother peeling them. The peels are the best part!

IMG_2827

I tossed in a cup of water and let the pot simmer for around half an hour. Until I noticed the apples getting mushy. That’s when I added one tablespoon cinnamon and got to mashing.

IMG_2828

I like my applesauce chunky, so I didn’t bother blending. No sugar either, these puppies are sweet enough as is!

IMG_2832

Learn from my mistakes and do not taste the sauce immediately. You will burn your tongue.

Instead, I incorporated some of the warm sauce into supper!

IMG_2837

Yup. Waffles for supper :) The usual protein waffle batter:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • pinch cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger
  • 2 stevia packets
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

IMG_2842

Along with the apple sauce, I added molasses and maple syrup.

IMG_2841

My oh my. That is fall flavours at their best ;)

 

Okay. Confession time. I’m not 100% against all things pumpkin.

IMG_2793

I’ll make exceptions when chocolate is involved ;) Like my roommie’s pumpkin brownies!

 

Q&As

How do you find the time to write such creative posts and still live life (and work/volunteer so much)?  How do you balance everything in your life without ‘burnout’?

 

This is a great question, because sometimes my biggest “balancing act” is finding time to write The Great Balancing Act!

First things first, I started my blog during my last year of an undergraduate degree. I was doing school full-time, working two part-time jobs and one unpaid internship. Apparently, I didn’t think I had enough on my plate ;)

Since then, I’ve continued my blog through working wonky hours as a broadcast journalist and the mind-numbing hours of an 8-5 desk drone. These days my hours are all over the place. I’m at the gym by 6:30am every day to train clients. I have anywhere from 4-6 clients a day, but don’t usually wrap up until 7pm. Because I live so far away from the gym, popping home in between isn’t really an option. So I’m away from my house at least 12 hours a day. I also have a retail job in a running store that will sometimes keep me working until 10pm, and of course every Saturday and Sunday. 7 days a week, 12+ hours a day. And yup, I do volunteering on top of that!

My number one trick recently has been bringing my laptop with me to work so when I get an hour or two of spare time, I can scoot to the nearest Starbucks to work on my blog. Blogging time (usually takes an hour) often gets pencilled into my day so it never gets put to the back burner. I often pre-write posts, which is the biggest benefit to not doing a “daily diary” type blog. For example, my Fitness Friday posts are rarely actually written on Friday, which gives me Friday off from writing!

Right now, I think what is keeping me from burning out is knowing that this is what I came to Toronto to do. In my old life back in Fredericton, my desk job was my only commitment over the course of the day. It was kind of soul crushing. Now I thrive off the zillion projects I have on the go and actually find energy in participating in so much!

With that said, I do carve out downtime as well. I make sure there is one day a week where I can stay in my pajamas until 3pm doing absolutely nothing. It’s what works for me to “recharge.”

Finally, blogging is how I prefer to spend my time! Writing is second nature to me and has never felt like work. On days I don’t feel like blogging, I don’t. But that doesn’t happen often because I always want to blog. Even after all this time! Some people watch TV or or play video games with whatever spare time they have. I blog :)

 

Question of the Day: What are your feelings on pumpkin? It’s like buying canned mashed potatoes.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. Love pumpkin! Love apples too :)

  2. Love the apple photos! I totally leave the skin on too – that’s where all the nutrients live! At the moment I can’t get enough of pumpkin, but apples are my second fall love and when I notice my hands starting to turn orange, they’ll be next up!

  3. i am working on this whole finding time for blogging thing. life gets crazy, but i have a theory you just make time for things you love, ya know?

    pumpkin is getting a bit cray cray ’round town, but i’m not complaining. love you lady – have a fabulous tuesday!!!

  4. I’m with you on the pumpkin. When I see too many blogs writing about the same damn stuff I start to skim and skip posts. Originality please! :)

  5. As much as I love squash, I don’t like pumpkin unless it’s in a baked good like bread or a muffin. I can’t STAND pumpkin pie! BLECH!!! But again, any other squash?! LOVE! Weird…

  6. I’m with you on the pumpkin – way too much pumpkin online these days! I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin or squash, so maybe I’m biased!

  7. I’m more an apple person than pumpkin! Maybe that’s why I don’t fit to well on fall season … and I wrote a post about it! If you want to read it drop by…. hope to make you smile!
    By the way, chocolate always help!

  8. Not a huge fan of pumpkin, but bring on the apples baby!

  9. I love pumpkin – but sometimes I’m wary of canned goods (even though I eat them – mainly canned beans). This apple sauce makes me drool. Heather of Dietitian on the Run posted about making homemade pumpkin mash…http://dietitianontherun.com/2010/10/06/how-to-make-your-own-canned-pumpkin/

  10. I love that blogging is such an outlet for you and that you enjoy it because I don’t know what I’d do without your blog! I’ve been juggling law school, social life, mental health, physical health, and family in the last few months and I gotta say it is tough! While I don’t have time to comment as much as I’d like (which I really miss doing because since I don’t have my own blog, it’s my way to feel part of the community) I certainly make time to read. My new iTouch that I got before school started has been my blog-reading machine on the go =)

    I totally feel you about pumpkin. I love Fall but do not like pumpkin and I feel wrong saying that sometimes. I do love apples though. Both me and my family (separately) went apple picking recently and since I’m the only one who actually eats apples, we have a lot more than we need in the house. I really want to try making applesauce – you make it look so simple and delish! Thanks for the great recipe.

    Nicole G

  11. I don’t mind pumpkin but prefer other squashes like butternut much more, that pumpkin brownie looks delish though!

    Hey any advice on picking up clients I’m finding it petty stressful and very tough!

    xx xx

  12. I’m *meh* about pumpkin. I don’t hate it, but I’d never voluntarily buy it to cook in something. Now apples, I’m with you all the way on that. They’re my favourite fruit and definitely with the skins on when making sauce!

  13. I am all about pumpkin! I was a hoarder, too – so I had pumpkin all year round.

  14. Bahaha, I love the beginning of this post! I am a pumpkin lover, but I do love my apples too! That applesauce looks awesome!

    Love the q&a answer- very good advice, and we all know is working- your posts are always so creative!

    xo
    Kris

  15. I agree with you about pumpkin 100%! I don’t care much for the flavour, and the texture of the canned stuff gives me the heebie-jeebies.

    I’m making that apple sauce tonight or tomorrow, I bought a 1/2 pint of honey crisps on the weekend and I would love to make sauce with them!

  16. I love pumpkin and its pumpkin week at my blog, so take that! You can come and mock the recipes I post, I don’t even care. ;)

    I lvoe applesauce too though. Hate apples on their own. Same with pumpkin – I love it pureed, but solid chunks, I’ll pass. All other winter quashes though….LOVE in all forms.

    • I was actually eying your pumpkin butter earlier today… the end product looked quite tasty actually. It’s taking it out of a can I just don’t think I can bear :P Agree with you on squashes though, the rest of them I LOVE!

  17. ooh, nice apple sauce. me likey!

  18. I’m a fan of the canned pumpkin, I have to admit. I’m not obsessed with it though. And I definitely don’t eat it every day.

    Interesting to read about your blogging time management. I wish I could post more, but 2-3 posts a week is literally all I have time for.

  19. I love canned pumpkin! I always have…even before the internet ;)

  20. “Canned mashed potatoes” is absolutely a dead-on description for pumpkin. LOL
    I’m not a fan, personally. I like REAL, FRESH pumpkin….but that tends to be time consuming. And the canned stuff is the texture of baby food.
    And I’m a texture eater…so it basically makes me gag. :)
    Bring on the apple recipes! I never get tired of apple :)

  21. Since I am “all about the pumpkin”, can I send out a request for that brownie recipe? But I’ve got love for the apples too – that sauce looks bangin!

  22. Your post is so timely! I just went apple-picking on Sunday and have about 25 lbs of apples to use! I might just have to try making my own apple sauce, yours looks delicious! Oh and I’m with you on the pumpkin- I tried to like it, but I just can’t bring myself to enjoy canned pumpkin.

  23. Your post is so timely! I just went apple-picking on Sunday and have about 25 lbs of apples to use! I might just have to try making my own apple sauce, yours looks delicious! Oh and I’m with you on the pumpkin- I tried to like it, but I just can’t bring myself to enjoy canned pumpkin.

  24. Can we get the pumpkin brownie recipe? Pretty please?

  25. haha even im getting sick pf pumpkin and I LOVE it!

  26. Those waffles look fab, Susan! Def including those in my seasonal recipes collection :D
    Girl I don’t know how you do it with that schedule! Muchos kudos to you sister friend.

    I have to say- I’m a pumpkin fan. Growing up just 20 minutes from the Libby’s farm, it’s always been a pantry staple (yes even before blogging! ;) )

  27. Damn, that applesauce looks great! I went apple-picking two weekends ago and still haven’t made much of a dent in the 10kg bag…I think applesauce-making needs to happen.

    I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of pumpkin, but I agree, it is kind of like buying mashed sweet potatos in a can! One of these days I’ll buy a pumpkin and scoop it out – the real deal!

  28. I love pumpkin in anything. I don’t mind the pumpkin explosion on blogs! I also only like buying canned pumpkin because I hate scooping out fresh pumpkins. Unless I’m getting ready to carve them that is! :) I also like making applesauce too. In fact I make it just like yours! :) There is one thing that tops pumpkins and apples for me and that is cranberries! I love making cranberry sauce! :)

  29. Thanks so much for answering my question! I am the type of person that waits for everything to be perfect before I start, so I tend to put things off that I am very excited about. Your amazing posts keep me inspired to try new things and not wait for the ‘perfect’ time.

    ps~I totally feel you on the pumpkin thing. I kind of like pumpkin flavor, but my husband (and main food eater in the house) can’t stand it, so I can’t really justify trying too many pumpkin recipes :(

  30. Love the applesauce recipe Susan as I prefer mine unsweetened and chunky…throw in a couple of waffles, and I’d be one happy girt. Love that you have a pajama day at least once a week – we all need to do that more often.

    Pumpkin? Huge fan. :)

  31. Yapplesauce needs to happen with that delicious, fresh applesauce!

  32. Mmm that applesauce looks awesome! I have a bunch of apples left from when I went apple picking before, which I don’t think are too great for eating anymore, so maybe I should consider making some applesauce ;)

  33. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Hey I just came across your blog from HEAB…I love it!

    I have to agree with you that the plethora of pumpkin recipes are a bit overwhelming, but I have to admit that I am in the middle of writing a pumpkin recipe :) Grain-free pumpkin bread! Yum!

    I love that applesauce, though! A couple years ago, I went to a friend’s organic apple farm to help pick apples. She gave me three HUGE bags of them to take home! I made apple juice, and applesauce. I love homemade applesauce. So much tastier than store bought, yet still super easy to make!

  34. Hahaha! There is a lot of pumpkin going around, I’m guilty of that myself ;-) But I do love apples too, thanks for reminding me, I need to make some apple stuff this Fall too :)

  35. I was directed here from HEAB and am definitely going to follow your instructions on making applesauce – yum.

    I’ve never actually tried canned pumpkin before. I grew up on fresh and always make fresh after halloween since I’ve been on my own too. I agree that the canned looks “not so appetizing.” Kind of like canned asparagus or beets – I just can’t bring myself to try it!

  1. Pingback: The Food That Doesn’t Make The Blog | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: waffle house « Peanut Butter and Jenny

  3. Pingback: She’s Here | Heather Eats Almond Butter

  4. Pingback: Applesauce Oaties | Heather Eats Almond Butter

  5. Pingback: Welcoming Fall.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

