Daily Archives: October 5, 2010

Mumbo Jumbo + A Breakfast Oatcake Recipe

Wonderful comments on yesterday’s post, Blogging About Healthy Living – Is It Healthy? And thank you for indulging me in my observations and opinions :)

This post is going to be all over the place – much like me lately!

First things first, a recipe.

IMG_2722

Four times a week I roll out of bed at 5:15am to be on the streetcar by 5:45am and work by 6:30am. Essentially enough time to clear the sleep from my eyes, brush my teeth, put on mascara, and stuff my gym clothes into my bag.

I suppose I could get up earlier than this to have a proper sit-down breakfast. But seeing the number “4” on my alarm clock freaks me out.

Because of this, I’ve been eating breakfast literally on-the-go most days of the week. Usually during my 15 minute streetcar ride to the subway station. Breakfast needs to be quick, cold, and something I won’t spill on my lap.

My latest on-the-go breakfast creation was actually inspired by the traditional Scottish oatcakes I made for the second Project Food Blog challenge in this post.

I begin my mixing the following ingredients:

IMG_2701

  • 1/2 cup dry rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup soy protein powder (optional, can be replaced with flour)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (okay, I actually use way more than that)
  • 2 pinches baking soda (around 1 tsp)
  • 2 packets stevia (can use honey, brown sugar, mashed banana, etc)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (again, optional!)
  • fun add-ins! This batch has TJ’s flattened banana bits and mini chocolate chips
  • Little mix of warm liquid like water or milk

Mix it all up, adding the liquid just until everything is slightly soft and dissolved. Form mixinto little patties. Throw on a medium-heat greased frying pan and cook until brown and firm.

IMG_2707

Suddenly I’m left with three little oatcakes with good nutritionals that I can eat ALL of for breakfast!

IMG_2723

I make these the night before while I prep my coffee and lunch. Store in a little baggie to grab-n-go at 5am :)

The oatcakes also get a much better reception from my fellow streetcar passengers compared to creations such as these…

IMG_2661

That would be cottage cheese with nut butter, oats and dried fruit. This tupperware filled with mush generates a lot of weird and disgusted looks. Much worse however are the days I choose to bring boiled eggs. Not everyone appreciates it when I stink up the back car!

Secondly, I am currently without internet at home.

I’ve actually been without it since last Thursday and won’t be online again until this Friday. For someone who spends a HUGE chunk of their day on the world wide web, it’s proven to be a little difficult. A nice vacation from it all I guess, but it’s also causing me to fall way behind on important work commitments. Le boo.

This means I’ve been spending even more time leeching off free wifi in cafes.

IMG_2680

IMG_2667

Which is saying a lot, because I pretty much live at Starbucks between clients anyways. I live too far away to scoot home during the longer breaks, so I just haul my laptop around with me!

This also means that sometimes, I fall victim to the cafe food case.

IMG_2669

Yesterday, I had a Santa Fe Chicken Panini from Starbucks. It was pretty decent!! Expensive though.

Thirdly, the leftovers from my beer filled dinner party just keep giving.

IMG_2666

For lunch yesterday I ate a whack of leftover Chicken & Tofu in a Peanut & Beer Sauce. Seriously. This dish is bomb. Peanut butter and beer really do make everything better.

Today I also had two Guinness Stout Brownies for breakfast. But there is conveniently no photographic evidence that ever actually happened. We’re moving on ;)

Finally, I added tuna to the Pale Ale Cabbage Slaw to turn it into a main dish!

IMG_2668

I was left with two extra bags of pre-mixed slaw and ate a whole bag for lunch. Veggies stand no chance in my presence.

Fourthly (??) I feel like I should let you know that the party didn’t end after the dinner party on Saturday night. Friends, I was up until 5am. Not what you think though. Ohno, we kept it classy with art exhibitions!

IMG_2651
…in the street. Every year, Toronto hosts this event called “Nuit Blanche” from dusk till dawn. The whole city is taken over by pieces of mostly modern art. The streets were packed with people ALL night!

IMG_2648
Unfortunately, we didn’t see much. By staying out so late, we also ran out of steam and only stumbled across two pieces. The above van with holes and lights.

IMG_2655

And the screening of The Beatles movie Hard Days Night. Sloooowed down to run for 12 hours and accompanied by a string quartet playing veeerrrry slowly.

Ohyes, and there was that creepy dollhouse that is unfortunately not an exhibit but real life. Perhaps it’s better we just forget about that.

Fifthly, I received a very pretty package today.

IMG_2681

IMG_2684

Aahhh, even Deb knows I keep it classy ;)

IMG_2685

The “crack” being Trader Joes Sunflower Seed Butter. My favourite!!! Along with some Luna Chocolate Peppermint stick flavour that we also can’t get in Canada, and little bags of mysterious Japanese nuts. (yes, I know how that sounds)

IMG_2688

Okay, technically they’re Mini Broad Beans in a soy sauce-like flavouring. Verrrry good and the perfect little treat! THANK YOU for perking up my day Deb!!!!

Sixthly, this is really cool chocolate.

IMG_2695

I love Ritter Sport brand to begin with, but this kind has Cornflakes in it!

IMG_2700

Just a little crisp added to the soft milk chocolate. Definitely recommended.

Lastly (but definitely not leastly!)

Voting is still open for Project Food Blog! Are you sick of these prompts yet? This week’s challenge goes from 200 to 100 bloggers, with the final blogger getting $10,000. I feel so lucky to have made it this far, as the whole process has turned out to be pretty fun. Also a BIG THANK YOU to everyone who has supported and voted for me thus far. I’ve been playing with ideas of things I could do with that money, and I definitely want it to involve my readers and the greater good somehow! To keep me in the running, click here, sign up and give me a big ole’ heart! :)

Question of the Day: It’s time for Q&As!! If you have any questions you want me to address in a post, leave it in the comments or e-mail me at thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com I’ll be addressing all sorts of topics, silly, serious, personal, fitness related, food related, anything!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers