Daily Archives: October 4, 2010

Blogging About Healthy Living… Is It Healthy?

I have written and re-written this post several times now and I cannot for the life of me figure out how I want it to flow. That journalist in me is always asking “where’s the narrative??” and I just can’t find one today, so please bear with me.

Any frequent and regular readers of food and fitness blogs at this point are probably familiar with this article that appears in the recently released issue of Marie Claire. I encourage you to read it and gather an opinion of your own before I skew you with mine!

Back? Good :)

First and foremost I have to explain why I feel the need to insert my opinion on this. Usually I try to steer clear of any type of posts that may be repeated on similar blogs. But I can’t help it.

The article begins at the Healthy Living Summit.

36809_457475009852_123151319852_6343764_2382559_n

The same event I went to in Chicago back in August along with 199 other “healthy living bloggers.” The writer of this article was in attendance and for reasons unbeknownst to me, has decided to attack the six women who organized the conference. Six women whose blogs I’ve read (almost) every day for the past two years. Most of whom I’ve met in real life.

I’m not here to scream about how wonderful these women are and how unfair the article is. Even though, for a feature in a national magazine, it’s pretty rotten, subject matter aside.

I do however hope it makes a few people step back.

There are some people out there blogging about unhealthy habits. Sometimes the emotions written about on blogs can trigger negative emotions in others. I hope that anyone with disordered eating or exercise knows well enough not to read those blogs that are unhealthy for them. But we all know that isn’t the truth.

On the other side of things, it’s important to remember that people who take on a “diary” format are only featuring a snippet of their day. 24 hours can not be properly summed up in a neatly packaged blog post. Sometimes more food is consumed, rest days are boring so they’re not blogged about. Troubles at work, family issues, boyfriend drama, are typically kept off for privacy reasons. No one lives a perfect life, even if they seem like they blog about one.

Finally, even “big bloggers” like the six popular ones mentioned in the article still struggle with body and image issues. I am convinced there isn’t a woman out there who doesn’t occasionally scrutinize what she eats, frowns when she looks in the mirror, or wonder what other people are thinking about her body. Such a person just does not exist.

In order to consistently encourage healthy habits, a person would have to be perfectly healthy in every way. Even if you read blogs for inspiration or motivation, it’s important to remember that at the end of the day, we’re all striving for the same things.

Also, I reallyreally hope no one has received the wrong impression about my blog. I eat lots, exercise moderately, and am trying my darndest to be as “balanced” as possible. Sometimes I get it wrong, but I like to think I get it right sometimes too ;)

Remember that it’s important not to compare yourself to others! It’s engrained in every one of us to size up our abilities to those around us. But the only person you need to be concerned about is yourself. The only hobbies you need are those you love to do. And goshdarnit, if you are scared of canned pumpkin, then don’t feel like you need to eat it to be “healthy.” (okay, maybe that’s just my problem?)

Listen. I get it. We’re all crazy to be obsessed with food, fitness and good health. I get that there are extremes, and blogging about it is probably one of them. But things could be worse. Take it from the guy who owns this house I recently discovered in my neighbourhood.

Source

*Shudder* Creepy.

Question of the Day: What are your first (or second, third) impressions of the article? Do you think healthy living blogging is actually healthy?

Pssst… if you really want to see a “healthy” post – check out my beer filled Project Foodbuzz submission and vote for it HERE! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers