New ‘Do + New-To-Me Recipes

Peek-a-boo!

IMG_2264

I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend!! Mine has been pretty low-key. Exactly what I needed after a couple hectic weeks.

Instead of hitting the streets of Toronto Friday night, I opted to lay in bed and read in my flannels. I’m currently hooked on this:

Between reading blogs and fitness/nutrition literature, I’ve reintroduced myself to adult fiction (there were a few years of only young adult fiction :P ). I’ve gone through about six books since June. At this rate, I’ll blow through The Lovely Bones in just a couple more days. Highly recommended!

The plan was to go for a run as soon as I woke up Saturday morning. But my body did that “awww hell nah” thing. So I opted to wake up slowly with a big ole’ bowl of oats.

IMG_2213

Mmmm… It’s not often I have hot oatmeal anymore!

IMG_2216

Topped with Lori’s pear cranberry jam + peanut butter. I let it digest for a couple hours and then hit the road running. I still wasn’t feeling very motivated, but seeing as I was out of coffee, I told myself I could stop for some on my way home.

IMG_2223

Having a Starbucks at the end of my running route could be dangerous! I’m trying to get into the habit of running on the weekends. Saturday I covered 4.5 miles in 45 minutes (I’m a solid 10-min pacer no matter what) along the lakefront trail. Unfortunately I was troubled with all kinds of pains. Knee pain during the run, hip pain lasting all day after the run. I need new running shoes!!! But I’m holding out until I get my new employee discount at the running store ;)

I came home and put a bag of frozen corn on my hip, then incorporated it into lunch.

IMG_2228

Corn & Cheddar Omelette. Mixed up a couple whole eggs with egg whites, milk and corn kernels. Then added old cheddar and Frank’s hot sauce for the filling. Awesome combo!

Saturday’s main event was a brand new haircut!!

IMG_2255

I feel so narcissistic for posting this :P I’d been tweeting about it though so I wanted to show the results! Nothing major in terms of length or style. But my last haircut cost me $12 and was so bad I didn’t like wearing my hair down. This new one was done by a legit big-city stylist thanks to my big sis <3 He kept calling my bangs a “fringe” and even showed me how to style it wavy without blow-drying. Most hairdressers insist I wear it straight!

On the way home I passed this scene:

IMG_2231
I try to act all blasé about seeing TV and movie sets in Toronto. I mean, I probably come across one once every few weeks now. But the curious person in me absolutely loves it. It looked like they were filming a winter scene. Some dude was shovelling snow on the street and all extras were in winter coats. Of course, the Toronto International Film Festival has also been going on!

Seeing as Sunday promised to be a busy day, I opted to do my weekly food preparations Saturday night. First up: Janetha’s Spinach Turkey Muffins.

IMG_2234

  • 20 oz lean ground turkey breast
  • 3 cups fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 package knorr vegetable soup mix
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed
  • cumin, thyme, salt & pepper to taste (eyeballed it all)

Mix it all up and scoop into a muffin pan. I used a pound of turkey and adjusted the measurements a little. Also, I omitted the flax and added a pinch of dried garlic flakes.

IMG_2237
Baked at 350F for 45 minutes. They came out perfectly!

IMG_2248
Not pictured is all the ketchup that accompanied these babies. Ketchup is a must. 

IMG_2250

The veggie soup mix really gave these meat muffins a little extra sumthin’. Thanks for the awesome recipe JG!

Next up is Irish Brown Soda Bread. I found this recipe through Madeline who loves quick breads as much as I do ;)
 IMG_2240

From My Recipes

Yield: 1 loaf (about 1 3/4 lb.)

Ingredients

  • 1  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 2  tablespoons  sugar
  • 1  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1  teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  cold butter or margarine
  • 2  cups  whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4  cup  regular or quick-cooking rolled oats
  • 1 1/2  cups  plain nonfat yogurt
  • Milk

Preparation

1. In a bowl, mix all-purpose flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. With a pastry blender or 2 knives, cut in butter until mixture forms fine crumbs. Stir in whole-wheat flour and oats.

2. Add yogurt; stir gently. If mixture is too dry to hold together, stir in milk, 1 teaspoon at a time, just until dough holds together; it should not be sticky.

3. Turn dough onto a lightly floured board and knead gently 5 times to make a ball. Set on a lightly greased baking sheet. Pat into a 7-inch circle. With a floured knife, cut a large X on top of loaf.

4. Bake in a 375° oven until well browned, about 40 minutes. Cool on a rack. Serve warm or cool.

IMG_2245
As far as I can tell, the only difference between brown soda bread and the regular variety is that it’s partially whole wheat with a little sugar and oatmeal added.

IMG_2253

Uh-mazing. Because it’s a soda bread, it has a taste reminiscent of biscuits or scones. The crusty exterior is the best part though. Ohmy.

IMG_2273

I had a piece immediately out of the oven slathered in butter. It’s the one rule to making your own bread at home.

I was stoked to have more of the bread for breakfast this morning. But I couldn’t decide what to top my toast with…

IMG_2279

On one side of the ring we have more of Lori’s cranberry pear jam.

IMG_2275 

On the other side was butter + vegemite.

IMG_2277

The bread was even more amazing toasted because it’s so crumbly. Both toppings were winners!

IMG_2282
Of course, what’s a Sunday morning without a little bacon and eggs ;)

From breakfast I went on to a free Vinyasa Yoga class at Lululemon which was amazing per usual. Then it was off to my first shift at my new job! I’m still personal training full-time, but now I’m working in a specialty running store 2-3 shifts a week as well. A little extra money, a way to meet people, and something to keep me out of trouble. I already learned so much about running gaits and how running shoes are constructed. Expect a post on it once I finish my training!

And with that, I am off to prepare my meals for my 15 hour work day tomorrow. Yes. You read that right. I’m looney tunes.

 

!!Don’t forget Project Food Blog voting opens on Monday! Click here if you would like to vote for me. You can check out my contestant profile here. Or read my first challenge entry: Ready, Set, Blog! I’ll be annoying you about this daily – thank you for any and all support!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite thing to eat on toast? Mine is soft poached eggs. Although I supposed it’s something I dip my toast into ;)

Posted on September 19, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 42 Comments.

  1. I love the new haircut! Very stylish!

  2. Your hair looks fantastic! Janetha’s little turkey muffin things are cute as a button too – must try them! PLUS you’ve reminded me about the sourdough starter I have in the fridge….inspiration in this post Susan!!

  3. Out of curiosity, in your hot oats..do you use 1/3 of a cup or 1/2?
    Your hair is ADORABLE, by the way! :)

  4. My favorite is scrambled eggs and spinach. mmmmm. And the hair looks GREAT!!!

  5. I lovingly refer to these as ‘meat muffins.’ Sounds crude, but we know they are the recipe for perfection! I think anything is better in muffin form.

  6. Your haircut looks fantastic! I’m so glad you finally made that bread! I love toast topped with peanut butter and honey

  7. That soda bread looks awesome! Will have to try that sometime soon.
    My favorite toast topper has got to be good ol’ pb with banana! Nothing like gooey, melty peanut butter with some sweet banana to get you going in the morning!
    P.S. I’m coming home again in month!

  8. Love the “ah hell nah”. Too funny. I also tend to be a ten minute miler. Great recipes and great hair.

  9. LOVE the hair Susan!! You look lovely! :)

  10. New cut looks wonderful! :) So beautiful.

    Also, I’m marking those turkey muffins to try soon.

  11. I recently picked back up “The Lovely Bones”. Right after I started it, 7 months ago, my brother was deployed to Afghanistan. I cried every time I read the book. Now that he’s home safe, I’m free to read it. It is so good! I’m about 2/3 of the way through and can’t wait to see how it ends!

  12. Vegemite on toast is a definite favourite of mine. Also cream cheese and raspberry jam.

    Your hair is gorgeous :)

  13. Awww, you look so lovely! The haircut totally suits you.

  14. “A little extra money, a way to meet people, and something to keep me out of trouble. I”
    The money, ok I get that.
    A way to meet people?! you are like chatty cathy, social suzy, i hardly think you need a job to help you meet people :) but hey, whatever works! Seriously i envision you in person as the warmest, friendliest most outgoing person!
    trouble- I prefer getting into it than keeping out of it :)

    your new haircut ROCKS!!! Omg you look sooo polished, sassy, lovely, perfectly awesome!

    vegemite. I have smelled that stuff before. You EAT it?! lol.

    Love madeline and all her breads!

    • Haha, well I’m glad I come across that way! In real life I’m a lot more awkward. I get nervous around people I don’t know and either babble about the stupidest things or just stay quiet and try to avoid eye contact :P

  15. Amazing book and the movie really does it justice.
    BTW you hair looks fabulous and you should be on the movie set :-)

  16. I made that bread after seeing it on Madelines blog too, its gorgeous, I had a big slice of it with poached eggs the other day and it tasted amazing. Love your haircut, it reminds me how much my hair needs cut!

  17. I made turkey meatloaf a couple nights ago and warned the pic is BEFORE ketchup ;) I love ketchup!!

    PB & Jelly on my toast mmm….or just butter. Dang, i’d just take some toast at this point.

  18. Your hair looks so gorg! I’m sure you’ve answered this before but is red your natural hair color? I harbor a secret jealously for red-haired folk ; )

    Yum bread! I’ve been thinking about making my own for a while. I need to take the plunge – it doesn’t look that hard!

    • No, but I do have underlying red tints in it, so it can look red depending on how much sun I get or the lighting. Some of the colour is a faded dark brown that has strangely turned into a lighter reddish shade. My older sister though has goooorgeous natural bright red hair!

  19. I loved The Lovely Bones. I’ve read it twice!

    Your hair looks SO good! You are going to have to email me the stylist, I desperately need a cut :)

    I’m with you- soft poached eggs on toast! Second would be almond butter. Yum!

    xo
    Kris

  20. Love the new ‘do. You look great with wavy hair.

  21. Those muffins look so good, I must try them :) and sometimes a Friday evening in bed with a good book (Lovely Bones is such a great book!) is all you need to gain some extra energy for the upcoming week.

    Your new haircut is very cute, it suits you very well!

  22. those turkey muffins look PERFECT!! i have a whole package of lean turkey dethawing and I thikn I may go this route!!!

    oh and I love your hair, never feel narcisstic posting your pic on your own blog! it looks beautiful!

  23. Beautiful haircut!! I wish I knew how to get mine wavy like that – it looks great.

    Haha I love that you iced your hip with frozen corn and then used it to make lunch.

    • The hair dresser took big sections of the wet hair, twisted them around his finger, and pinned them to my head. Then he blow-dryed it using a diffuser and put some de-frizz stuff in there. Although, he said scrunching it and air drying works just as well :)

  24. LOVE the new haircut! Suits you perfectly!

    My favourite topping to toast? Umm…coconut butter…

  25. i luv toast with kaya and butter,..;-)

  26. Love the new haircut. I will be up for any information you learn from the running store gig. Tell me though, you working in a gym and all….what are runners wearing for shorts these days? I run solo pretty much always and don’t necessarily see or take notice of other runners clothing. I am still wearing the same spandex type running shorts that are so old. I have a pair of running shorts but hate them because I just get chafed up when I wear them. What is in for running fashions my friend?

  27. Those turkey muffins are a great idea- I’ll have to experiment with them! Your hair looks great…why do stylists tell you to wear it straight??

    I eat TJ’s peanut butter+flax seeds on my toast about 5 mornings a week. I’m a little obsessed. ;)

  28. Peanut or almond butter and jam preferably raspberry ooooooooo I want a slice now! Oh by the way your hair looks soooooooo pretty x x x x

  29. the new hair looks great! chic and natural and effortless looking :)

  30. i am digging the new locks. you look great! and i am glad you are happy with it, that is what matters most. mmm.. turkey muffins! glad you made and enjoyed. ummm.. i saw your tweet about vegemite sandwich.. i kinda gagged! haha, but maybe i should give it another shot, 8 years later. XOXO

  31. The hair looks faaaaaaaaaaaabulous. Loving the freshness and the curls!
    And that bread… mmmm. I’d probably have that loaf done in a matter of a couple days. Totally bookmarking.

  32. oh, i love seeing vegemite on your posts. my heart smiles!

  33. your new haircut is ADORABLE! tres chic, my love :)

  1. Pingback: A Vegan Recipe + A Very Non-Vegan Favourite | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Voices in my Head « The Student Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

