The Best Day of the Week

It’s Wednesday!!

IMG_1970

What, you don’t get irrationally excited for hump day too? ;)

We all know that around these parts, it’s not just any old boring weekday. It’s…

Waffle Wednesday!

IMG_1960

I have two days worth of waffles for you today. First up is a batch of whole wheat protein waffles (recipe below) I made Saturday morning. This batch was particularly special as it came after my first outdoor run since my visit to Chicago a month ago. A nice and easy 40 minute jog along Lake Ontario. The weather was perfection and it was nice to work up a sweat in the fresh air again!

IMG_1963

Saturday was all about the dipping sauce – strawberry yogurt + sugar-free syrup + almond butter. Whisked together for a sweet and nutty topper. It was spectacular and perfectly filled that post-run belly.

I’ve got a new 6am client on Wednesdays which throws a bit of a wrench into my Wednesday waffling. However, both my morning clients cancelled today, which left me in my flannels until noon.

IMG_2154

Whipped up a batch of those whole wheat protein waffles with another stellar dipping sauce.

IMG_2162

Today’s was 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce, 1/4 cup sugar-free table syrup, 1 tbsp almond butter, pinch ground ginger, handful ground cinnamon. Mmmm… very fall-like. Will be even better when apples are in season and I can make my own apple sauce.

IMG_2168

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles

Makes one serving – 2 small waffles or one big one.

  • 1/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (less if using real milk)

Can also be used for pancakes, or what I like to refer to as “flat waffles.”

Of course, what’s breakfast without dessert??

IMG_2169

Tim Tam + Coffee. No Tim Tam Slam happening here. This was my last one and I wanted to savour it. Thankfully, I’ve discovered that you can buy the regular and caramel varieties of Tim Tams at Loblaws in Toronto :)

 

Updates!!

I spent my unexpected morning off doing some much needed blog updates.

To the Ways To Move page:

Chest/Triceps weight workout
Leg Killer Part II
Fat Blaster cardio + strength routine

To the Things To Eat page:

Tofu, Parsley & Quinoa Salad
Shrimp Burger
Spicy Black Bean Turkey Burgers
10 Minute Sweet Potato Chips

 

Clickclickaway! Feels good to finally get some new stuff up there.

And with that my friends, this girl is going to bed to study for her Nutrition & Wellness course. I am learning so much already. Expect a post on it very soon ;)

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite fast and healthy breakfast? With my new slew of early morning clients, I’ve taken to preparing breakfast the night before and eating it on the streetcar. Usually a mix of yogurt/cottage cheese, fruit, oats and nut butter. Although, I’ve got a leftover waffle sitting in the fridge right now all ready for reheating bright and early tomorrow ;)

Posted on September 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Have you thought about making up a big batch of protein waffles and freezing some for quick brekkies??

    I love cream of wheat for fast breakfast – or the 1-minute muffin. Can’t get any faster than that LOL!

    • Will see how fast/messy the leftover waffle is tomorrow. I only have 30 minutes from the time I wake up to the time I’m outside waiting for the streetcar. So it’s got to go FAST ;)

  2. Mmmmm – looks good! I’m reading your post before bed time, but it makes me plan my breakfast already :0

    And yay for jammies until noon!

  3. oh YUM, today’s dipping sauce sounds SO good… ah, I miss Tim Tams… my mom used to bring them home from Australia… we are both gluten free :)

    for fast breakfast, I like overnight oats… or the one minute muffin or egg :)

  4. I usually have oatmeal, Greek yogurt, or Ezikiel toast. Fast, fast, fast is my morning motto.

    I think I’m going to experiment with adding protein powder to my waffles from here on out. (Just got a waffle maker!!!) Hopefully it will increase their staying power in my tummy.

  5. YUM! I love your waffle photos. Lately I’ve been lucky enough to have heaps of time to prep breakfast in the morning, but when I start work this is probably going to change! I plan to keep a bunch of breakfasty foods at work, but I’m thinking I’ll probably opt for vanilla pumpkin oats, or a green monster in the car (while it’s still reasonably warm outside!)

  6. I need to get a waffle maker!!!

  7. I always make my oatmeal the night before, then just reheat in the micro and add protein powder! Quick, easy, and delicious!

  8. “What is your favourite fast and healthy breakfast?”–that would be super hot, super sweet coffee. Not healthy, but fast. I am NOT a breakfast person, never have been. Crazy but true :)

  9. My favorite fast breakfast is making pancakes and freezing them and then popping them in the toaster

  10. such healthy waffles
    breakfast for me is steaminghot cup of cofee and plain crackers

  11. I love smoothies but today he weather has really turned and my smoothie made me chilled so I may be going back to my old porridge faithful x x

  12. For a fast breakie I really like yoghurt mixed with fresh fruit and some granola. No cooking involved and very tasty!

  13. Yum, love the looks of that dipping sauce. I need to try that next Wednesday!!

    For quick and easy lunches, nothing beats a smoothie. Throw some fruit in the blender with some protein powder and almond milk and boom- bfast on the go. Yogurt/granola is also great!

    xo
    Kris

  14. My go-to breakfast for the past few months has been cottage cheese + fruit, so far it’s the best at keeping me full.

    last winter I went through a breakfast sandwich phase though, I would cook my egg up the night before and prepare it and keep it in the fridge until morning, then I would eat it cold or sometimes toast the bread and assemble in the am. It all depended.

  15. Oh my, the applesauce/nut butta/spices dip is a genius idea.

    I’m a big fan of almond butter + banana or apple slices on toast as a really quick breakfast. No time to make oats during the work week :(

  16. I eat the same thing for breakfast everyday! 2 toast (my homemade bread), one with almond or p.butter the other jam. Love it.

  17. Man so annoying when clients cancel! Hopefully it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you. At least you got your waffles:D
    I’d been studying for my sports nutrition exam too, and finally took the exam a couple weeks ago and passed! All of the info is SO interesting!!

  18. gorgeous waffles! and who would eat a pancake when they could have a waffle? the texture is just a zillion times better. those timtams look DANGEROUS.. but delicious. i think candy from other countries always tastes better for some reason. like the candy in london? oh man. my fave.

    love the updates, and yep my glutes are already sore! i am sure my hams will be by the day’s end. loved the workout, it was fun and exciting and i never got bored. you designed a winner :)

    my favorite QUICK healthy breakfast is yogurt with granola. or a protein shake.

    love ya lady!

  19. Guess what I bought yesterday and thought of you? WAFFLES! haha!

    Breakfasts change with the seasons. It’s almost cold enough for oats… They can be quick if you make a bunch at the beginning of the week.

  20. Love the waffles! I’ve been craving to make “real” waffles for the longest time. Sooo much better than frozen.

  21. Your waffle post reminds me that I still haven’t bought a waffle maker!

  22. sounds awesome..i try doing the slam with Milo..never tried with coffee!!

  1. Pingback: Early Riser | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Gadzooks! | LIFT weights. SAVOR food. LOVE life.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

