Daily Archives: September 15, 2010

The Best Day of the Week

It’s Wednesday!!

IMG_1970

What, you don’t get irrationally excited for hump day too? ;)

We all know that around these parts, it’s not just any old boring weekday. It’s…

Waffle Wednesday!

IMG_1960

I have two days worth of waffles for you today. First up is a batch of whole wheat protein waffles (recipe below) I made Saturday morning. This batch was particularly special as it came after my first outdoor run since my visit to Chicago a month ago. A nice and easy 40 minute jog along Lake Ontario. The weather was perfection and it was nice to work up a sweat in the fresh air again!

IMG_1963

Saturday was all about the dipping sauce – strawberry yogurt + sugar-free syrup + almond butter. Whisked together for a sweet and nutty topper. It was spectacular and perfectly filled that post-run belly.

I’ve got a new 6am client on Wednesdays which throws a bit of a wrench into my Wednesday waffling. However, both my morning clients cancelled today, which left me in my flannels until noon.

IMG_2154

Whipped up a batch of those whole wheat protein waffles with another stellar dipping sauce.

IMG_2162

Today’s was 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce, 1/4 cup sugar-free table syrup, 1 tbsp almond butter, pinch ground ginger, handful ground cinnamon. Mmmm… very fall-like. Will be even better when apples are in season and I can make my own apple sauce.

IMG_2168

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles

Makes one serving – 2 small waffles or one big one.

  • 1/4 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (less if using real milk)

Can also be used for pancakes, or what I like to refer to as “flat waffles.”

Of course, what’s breakfast without dessert??

IMG_2169

Tim Tam + Coffee. No Tim Tam Slam happening here. This was my last one and I wanted to savour it. Thankfully, I’ve discovered that you can buy the regular and caramel varieties of Tim Tams at Loblaws in Toronto :)

 

Updates!!

I spent my unexpected morning off doing some much needed blog updates.

To the Ways To Move page:

Chest/Triceps weight workout
Leg Killer Part II
Fat Blaster cardio + strength routine

To the Things To Eat page:

Tofu, Parsley & Quinoa Salad
Shrimp Burger
Spicy Black Bean Turkey Burgers
10 Minute Sweet Potato Chips

 

Clickclickaway! Feels good to finally get some new stuff up there.

And with that my friends, this girl is going to bed to study for her Nutrition & Wellness course. I am learning so much already. Expect a post on it very soon ;)

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite fast and healthy breakfast? With my new slew of early morning clients, I’ve taken to preparing breakfast the night before and eating it on the streetcar. Usually a mix of yogurt/cottage cheese, fruit, oats and nut butter. Although, I’ve got a leftover waffle sitting in the fridge right now all ready for reheating bright and early tomorrow ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers