The Job Collector

Please, do not adjust your monitors.

IMG_1590

Yes, I know it is Thursday and not Waffle Wednesday. But some weeks, one day of celebration is just not enough.

IMG_1598

Same protein waffle recipe as yesterday. But today topped with Lori’s buckwheat honey marshmallow fluff and almond butter mixed with syrup. 

IMG_1593

So much decadence for 9 in the morning. I almost couldn’t handle it. But then I got a grip on myself and gobbled it all up :)

Other wonderful eats from the day included a homemade shrimp burger. I remember seeing shrimp burgers on the menu of a burger place in Calgary. I desperately wanted to try it, but knew that when in Calgary, you eat the beef. Needless to say, the idea of a shrimp patty has been teasing my taste buds ever since.

IMG_1601

Started with a dozen large raw shrimp (bought frozen then defrosted). Cut up small then mixed in:

  • 1 tbsp bread crumbs (I used a smashed up rye cracker)
  • 1 tbsp egg whites
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise (Yes a whole tablespoon. Do it.)
  • Pinch dried garlic
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Pinch black pepper

It’s not a sticky mixture like beef or turkey burgers. Very wet and sloppy because shrimp is so, well, wet. I plopped it on my George Foreman grill, but you could also put it in a frying pan or the oven. Just make sure it’s at a low temp and as time to cook on one side so it doesn’t crumble when you try to flip it over.

IMG_1614

Makes one large patty. Eaten on an english muffin with spinach, red onion, ketchup and mustard.

IMG_1623

Ohmy. It was goooood. The mayo in the mix is what really made it tasty. I have a feeling my taste buds will be wanting this more often!

IMG_1618

On the side I had some of my microwave sweet potato chips. All you do is slice up a sweet tater real thin, spread it out on a plate, season, and nuke for a ludicrous amount of time. For these, I microwaved them for 10 minutes, flipping halfway through. Once cooled, they get crunchy like a chip!

 

While not eating today, I was also exercising. Almost done the first week of my new lifting split and I really like it! My body was completely hammered after a week off exercise. Major DOMS after my first couple days. Even from just doing sprints on the elliptical! Anyways, if you’re curious, here is what my Shoulder/Abs workout looked like today:

Warm-up: 5 minutes walking on the treadmill + 1 mile run

Straight sets:
Arnold press @ 10 lbs x 15
                         15 lbs x 10
                         20 lbs x 5
                         10 lbs x 10

Alternating sets (x3):
Cable lateral raise @ 2.5 lbs x 12
Cable horizontal woodchop @ 12.5 lbs x 12

Superset (x3):
Mountain climber x 60 sec
Plank ups x 10

Superset (x3):
Russian twist on bosu 6lbs x 30
Plank on bosu x 60 sec

Superset (x3):
Squat with front raise x 20 (holding swiss ball)
Prone jackknife x15

Cool-down: 1 mile run + 5 minutes walking

 

That opening press set killed my shoulders. It was all downhill from there ;) And in case you can’t tell, I hate doing crunches. Give me a plank any day!

 

Kind of ironic that I just started myself on a weight lifting focused workout routine, as I suspect I may now be doing a lot more running!

You see, I got a part-time job! At a running store!!

Even though I am a full-time personal trainer, I still don’t work the usual 8 hours a day. My client base is still increasing, but I am finding myself with a lot of down time. Especially on weekends. So I’ll be selling running shoes, clothing, gadgets and apparel to Toronto runners in my spare time. The extra money will be great and I’m really looking forward to meeting some more fitness-minded folk! They also do a run club and running clinics that I’ll probably start participating in as well. I’m pretty stoked about the employee discount. I’m desperate for a new pair of running shoes!

I’d just like to say, as for my full-time job of training, I am loving it. I’m to the point now where I’m starting to see results with my clients (one guy has already dropped 8% body fat with me!) and it is so rewarding. Not to mention, I’ve already had a few clients renew training packages with me, so it’s nice to know they like and respect me enough to want to keep working with me!

Now I am off to pack! I’m heading to Buffalo, NY for weekend with some friends. A special edition Fitness Friday post will be going up, but it will have to last you until I’m back on Sunday. Have a great weekend everyone! xo

Posted on September 2, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 36 Comments.

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am SO happy for you!!!

    Next time in TO , I’m gonna have to go find you!!!

  2. Congrats on the new job – maybe you can score some great running stuff!

    I wish I could hire you to get my body fat down LOL! I should probably just lay off the fluff and cupcakes….

    Shrimp cakes look divine!

  3. Congratulations again!!! That is awesome. I always love going to the Running Room and I’m sure working there will be so much fun! Have a fabulous time in Buffalo! :)

  4. wow!!! That sounds like such a fun job/jobs. :-)

  5. The most important question: Do you get an employee discount?! :)

  6. Sounds like you’re a kickin’ personal trainer! It must be so rewarding to see people make progress. Your running store job sounds like fun too! I’d be you get a discount on some great stuff.

  7. YAY!!! Congrats on the job!! Is this the one you interviewed with today??

    And your waffle sounds heavenly. What a great way to start the day.

  8. Congrats on the job! A running store?! That means you get discounts, yes? :)

  9. So many comments. First, I’ve been reading! Just not commenting because law school just started so I’ve been pressed for time – thank goodness I can access my google reader on my itouch. Second, I need to defriend you on facebook – I find out all the surprise new before the post goes up ;) (just kidding of course! CONGRATS on the new job – I’d like to already put my request in for some tips on buying the correct running shoes. thanks) And third, I’m starring this post for sure because most of the exercises are things I can actually do at home with my free weights. So thanks for that too!

    Nicole G

    PS Enjoy Buffalo!

  10. I am so happy for you that training is going so well!! Makes me lean toward getting my certification again. How rewarding that your clients are making progress and coming back!

    And I am so stoked about your method of cooking sweet potato chips in the microwave. I have never thought of that, but how handy! Will definitely be stealing this idea from you:)

  11. That’s awesome! The best part of my job now is DEFINITELY the employee discount and the fact that I get to talk about cycling and running all day

  12. That waffle looks delicious!!!

    Congrats on the part time job! That’s exciting news! I’m sure you’ll meet some cool people and maybe even some new clients.

    A shrimp burger. That’s a first. Seriously I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of those.

  13. Oooh, congrats on the new job! you are one busy lady!

    Enjoy Buffalo!
    xox

  14. I love the idea of home made shrimp burgers, mmm!

  15. .. and I was too fast with my typing, but I also wanted to say CONGRATS ON THE JOB! :)

  16. Congratulations on your new job, that sounds fantastic. Hope you enjoy it! x

  17. That water… that shrimp patty… yum, yum, yum!

    YAY for the new job, congrats!!

    Hope to see you after your trip :D

    xo
    Kris

  18. Congrats on the new job! That’s super exciting :D

    And those shrimp burgers look tasty! I came across a recipe a while back for shrimp burgers but never got around to making them, I might have to now!

  19. Congrats on the new job!! So excited for you!
    Have a great time in Buffalo :)

  20. Shrimp burgers – so creative and yummy! And congrats on the new job. I love specialty running stores – always seem to have a great experience. :)

  21. Have an incredible time in Buffalo – so fun! And congratulations again on the job – always feels good to bring in some extra cash…and running shoes ;)

  22. oh my god those shrimp burgers are GENIUS!!!!!!!!!!!! i want to make one like RIGHT THIS MINUTE. hahaha when someone says the word “shrimp” i come a runnin

    congrats on the new job! and it’s also awesome because it’ll probably help you build your client base!

  23. ahh I feel the same way! with the hours that I work-yes its fulk time but I still have loads of down time! i would love to have a PT job!!

    i didn’t adjust my monitor but I did drool if thats okay?
    i LOOOOOVE arnold presses!!

  24. susan! you are in luck! IT IS NATIONAL WAFFLE WEEK.

    anyway, CONGRATS on landing the job! it sounds like that is right up your alley. i love the many jobs you have had and have. it makes you well rounded :)

    love ya! have a great weekend!

  25. Woohoo! Susan, that is great. I’ve come to find (working two jobs myself) they are more fun when they involve something you like doing. I work part-time as the front desk attendant at my boathouse. So much better than retail!

    If I could have waffles like yours, every morning would be a waffle morning! I’ve never thought of putting Fluff on a wuffle but I’m going to have to give it a try now :)

  26. Anne @ a daily slice

    That shrimp pattie looks delightful :) I am super jealous of your new gig–I’m dying to work at Lululemon, but there’s NO way I’d have time!!

  27. I saw you over on Janetha’s and toally glad I stopped by because the shrimp burger is too cool! I have a bag of shrimpies just waiting to be used

  28. congrats on the job!!!

    have a fab long weekend!!!!

    xoxo

  29. You’ll love your new job – I just finised a 10K clinic there is it was an awesome experience. The people are just lovely.

  30. Oh my goodness, those waffle pictures! I WANT!

    Congrats on the running store job!!

  31. I like the part where you put the chile flakes in the bowl with the shrimp. :D

    Looks great. I love fish burgers in general and although I admit I’ve never made shrimp burgers there is no doubt in my mind that this would be right up my alley.

  32. congrats on the job love! but more so, congratulations on that KILLER recipe for making sweet potato chips. those are most definitely in my future :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

