Daily Archives: September 2, 2010

The Job Collector

Please, do not adjust your monitors.

IMG_1590

Yes, I know it is Thursday and not Waffle Wednesday. But some weeks, one day of celebration is just not enough.

IMG_1598

Same protein waffle recipe as yesterday. But today topped with Lori’s buckwheat honey marshmallow fluff and almond butter mixed with syrup. 

IMG_1593

So much decadence for 9 in the morning. I almost couldn’t handle it. But then I got a grip on myself and gobbled it all up :)

Other wonderful eats from the day included a homemade shrimp burger. I remember seeing shrimp burgers on the menu of a burger place in Calgary. I desperately wanted to try it, but knew that when in Calgary, you eat the beef. Needless to say, the idea of a shrimp patty has been teasing my taste buds ever since.

IMG_1601

Started with a dozen large raw shrimp (bought frozen then defrosted). Cut up small then mixed in:

  • 1 tbsp bread crumbs (I used a smashed up rye cracker)
  • 1 tbsp egg whites
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise (Yes a whole tablespoon. Do it.)
  • Pinch dried garlic
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Pinch black pepper

It’s not a sticky mixture like beef or turkey burgers. Very wet and sloppy because shrimp is so, well, wet. I plopped it on my George Foreman grill, but you could also put it in a frying pan or the oven. Just make sure it’s at a low temp and as time to cook on one side so it doesn’t crumble when you try to flip it over.

IMG_1614

Makes one large patty. Eaten on an english muffin with spinach, red onion, ketchup and mustard.

IMG_1623

Ohmy. It was goooood. The mayo in the mix is what really made it tasty. I have a feeling my taste buds will be wanting this more often!

IMG_1618

On the side I had some of my microwave sweet potato chips. All you do is slice up a sweet tater real thin, spread it out on a plate, season, and nuke for a ludicrous amount of time. For these, I microwaved them for 10 minutes, flipping halfway through. Once cooled, they get crunchy like a chip!

 

While not eating today, I was also exercising. Almost done the first week of my new lifting split and I really like it! My body was completely hammered after a week off exercise. Major DOMS after my first couple days. Even from just doing sprints on the elliptical! Anyways, if you’re curious, here is what my Shoulder/Abs workout looked like today:

Warm-up: 5 minutes walking on the treadmill + 1 mile run

Straight sets:
Arnold press @ 10 lbs x 15
                         15 lbs x 10
                         20 lbs x 5
                         10 lbs x 10

Alternating sets (x3):
Cable lateral raise @ 2.5 lbs x 12
Cable horizontal woodchop @ 12.5 lbs x 12

Superset (x3):
Mountain climber x 60 sec
Plank ups x 10

Superset (x3):
Russian twist on bosu 6lbs x 30
Plank on bosu x 60 sec

Superset (x3):
Squat with front raise x 20 (holding swiss ball)
Prone jackknife x15

Cool-down: 1 mile run + 5 minutes walking

 

That opening press set killed my shoulders. It was all downhill from there ;) And in case you can’t tell, I hate doing crunches. Give me a plank any day!

 

Kind of ironic that I just started myself on a weight lifting focused workout routine, as I suspect I may now be doing a lot more running!

You see, I got a part-time job! At a running store!!

Even though I am a full-time personal trainer, I still don’t work the usual 8 hours a day. My client base is still increasing, but I am finding myself with a lot of down time. Especially on weekends. So I’ll be selling running shoes, clothing, gadgets and apparel to Toronto runners in my spare time. The extra money will be great and I’m really looking forward to meeting some more fitness-minded folk! They also do a run club and running clinics that I’ll probably start participating in as well. I’m pretty stoked about the employee discount. I’m desperate for a new pair of running shoes!

I’d just like to say, as for my full-time job of training, I am loving it. I’m to the point now where I’m starting to see results with my clients (one guy has already dropped 8% body fat with me!) and it is so rewarding. Not to mention, I’ve already had a few clients renew training packages with me, so it’s nice to know they like and respect me enough to want to keep working with me!

Now I am off to pack! I’m heading to Buffalo, NY for weekend with some friends. A special edition Fitness Friday post will be going up, but it will have to last you until I’m back on Sunday. Have a great weekend everyone! xo

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers