Things I Learned The Month I Let Go

I have a very serious chocolate addiction. I am looking into rehabilitation programs where they wean me off with carob.

IMG_1065

I have to start dressing better in public. Blog readers can be anywhere!! :P

The best way to see a city is through its grocery stores.

IMG_6557

Meditation is just not for me. Yet.

Mint is a fantastic addition to yogurt messes.

Happiness is not defined by situation or location. It’s a matter of opening your eyes and letting yourself be happy in the moment.

Green figs are superior to black figs.

Sometimes it’s best not to over-think things. I should have been to scared and nervous to attend a conference with 200 bloggers I don’t know very well. I should have been concerned about how I would get there and afford it all. Instead, I just went for it. I don’t regret a thing.

36809_457475009852_123151319852_6343764_2382559_n

Blogging has changed my life. I can’t even begin to imagine the life path I would be on now if it weren’t for this little piece of the internet.

For too long I’ve been focusing my energies on maintaining a significant weight loss. When instead I should have been trying to maintain a healthy mind and body. The two are very different and don’t always deem the same results. The latter is all I care about now.

Trader Joe’s Sunflower Seed Butter is CRACK. In terms of smooth nut/seed butter, I think it’s one of the best I’ve had!

Toronto would not be the same without some of the wonderful bloggers I’ve connected with here.

img_1099

I am never allowed to do karaoke ever again.

I need to cut myself more slack. The life changes I’ve experienced over these last several weeks aren’t exactly small potatoes.

Races are SO much more fun when you’re not one of the people running!

 img_1377 (1)

…and volunteering your time is always worth it :)

Bacon covered in chocolate is not all it’s cracked up to be.

img_1441

 

I am officially two months into my Toronto adventure and only now do I feel like I’m finally in the swing of things. I’ve got a feeling I still have a lot of learning to do ;) Starting with Tina’s 30 Days of Self Love in September. Go click!

 

Question of the Day: What did you learn in August?

Posted on August 31, 2010, in Lessons Learned and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I learned that you shouldn’t waste your time cleaning when you are moving out when you have an 8 page legal-size lease. You just aren’t going to get your deposit back, no matter what you do.

    I also learned that puppies make the world go ’round. And so does bacon and chocolate. But we already knew that.

  2. For too long I’ve been focusing my energies on maintaining a significant weight loss. When instead I should have been trying to maintain a healthy mind and body. The two are very different and don’t always deem the same results. The latter is all I care about now.

    HERE HERE!

    I learned that stressing does nothing. Take it one day, one moment, one project at a time and everything will work out.

    I love these posts. I always try to remember to do these but I forget.

  3. “Happiness is not defined by situation or location. It’s a matter of opening your eyes and letting yourself be happy in the moment.”

    Okay, I am really working on this one. I have a bad bad habit of letting my situation dictate my happiness, and that almost never works!

    I love this post. You are so cool:)

  4. Love this!! Reflection at its finest. :) I learned a lot from blogging and HLS as well.

  5. In August I learned that I really can lose weight, it just takes more time and effort than I previously believed. Even so, I still really enjoy it.

  6. Wonderful post, Susan- terrific.

    When I get my arse in gear, you will have more SUnflower happiness in your life. It’s sitting in my pantry- plus a few other surprises. :-)

    I love the photo of you in the grocery store- pure happiness!

    My August lesson: that I can have a diabolically bad (“bad”) vacation assault in terms of calories, but I can live to tell the tale. AND that a little fat and food-satisfaction can go a very long way.

  7. You can join me in carob rehab! I’ve been admitted for a week or two now, but I might get kicked out after my relapse today when I made chocolate chip cookies ;)

    Glad August was such a good month for you! :)

  8. In August I learned this, too, “Blogging has changed my life. I can’t even begin to imagine the life path I would be on now if it weren’t for this little piece of the internet.”

    Now i think you meant this in a positive way. I actaully have been confronted with an awful, dirty, disgusting underbelly side. I hate it. I have feared for my safety and wonder what will become of things. It’s been an eye opener. Before Aug, I said the same thing you did, in a good way. Now, I have friends, I have made and met them, wondering why I need to continue to expose myself…sorry this is turning dark…

    Moving on…
    YES TJs sunflower seed butter is the BEST nut butter ever. Espi for 3.99 a jar. I have never tried the Pb & Co. nut butters b/c 8 or 10 or 12 bucks for a jar of white choc wonderful aint happening, ever, in this house :)

  9. I’ve learned a lot of stuff this August. I hate flying, chocolate makes me really really happy, and that fear foods are meant to be eaten, ’cause they taste delicious :)
    I’ve also learned that Switzerland is beautiful, and that spending a month and a half in another country is amazing, and not terrifying as I thought

  10. I learned that I no longer need to be constantly weighing myself. I’ve ditched the scales apart from one monthy check. It feels really liberating not to be a slave to the scale. I’m learning to trust myself around food more. I do know how to balance my diet and maintain my weight loss!

    • Yayyy for ditching the scale!! It can be helpful to track weight loss, but once you’re at goal all you need to do is go by how you feel in your body. Great work :)

  11. In August, I learned…
    that the happiest day of my life was not my wedding, but the day AFTER the wedding. [though the wedding was definitely top 3!]

    that eating intuitively and maintaining my weight isn’t that hard… as long as I listen to what my body is saying :)

    that I have a long journey ahead of me towards my future career… but I am even more excited than ever to venture onto it.

    xo
    Kris

  12. If having a chocolate addiction is wrong then I don’t ever want to be right!!

    I think the main thing I’ve learned this month, or at least it finally *clicked* is that eating healthy and working out makes me feel good and I should be doing it for myself and my health and not for weight loss. Somehow, this realizating has made it make sense and it’s become effortless, whereas when my main focus was weightloss it was always such a chore. I’m not sure if that even makes sense, but that was my main realization.

  13. Aw, thanks for the link girl!!! It means so much.

    Also I agree that blogging has changed my life for the better. The community and support have really helped me come alive. You are part of that support I cherish. Have a wonderful day!!

  14. I love reading your posts on the firsts on months:)
    In August I learned to become more organized in my thoughts and actions. And that if I act the way I want to feel, it will most likely follow suit:)

  15. I love your learning posts too! Blogging has changed me so much as well, and I can’t imagine my life with out it. (I too, have met some FABULOUS ladies, yourself included of course!)

    I learned in August that it’s not worth stressing over things that are out of your control. I worried for so long about my job situation, but finally decided that I should just trust God and what is meant to happen will happen. And it did! :)

  16. “Happiness is not defined by situation or location. It’s a matter of opening your eyes and letting yourself be happy in the moment.”
    HARD to do but so so true. :)

  17. I just love this post! <3

    I'm not exaggerating when I say that I learned more in the month of August than in any other month of my life. Crazy, right?! I learned mostly about what I want out of life…I mean, what I really *really* want. And now? Now I just have to go get it. EEK! Here's to September :)

  18. I learned that I can accomplish anything. I wasn’t sure I could finish Hood to Coast but I did, and I didn’t walk at all. That was a huge thing for me!

  19. I love this! Blogging has changed my life, too, even though I don’t do much of it anymore.

    I’ll have to try the TJ’s sunflower seed butter. That will be a first for me!

  20. I learned that even though I could be better with money and even though it’s probably going to be tight for awhile, you can’t take it with you and there’s no use stressing about it.

    LOVED this post!

  21. Anne @ a daily slice

    What a fun post!! I need to get my hands on some new nut butters. I’ve branched out a little, but there’s a whole world waiting to be explored :)

  22. It’s probably a good thing that you don’t have TJ’s closer to where you live because that sunflower seed butter isn’t the only nut butter crack they’ve got- they’re all so good!!

  23. you have had a great month! glad i was on the sidelines to see it all play out. august.. i learned that marriage is awesome but it is also going to be something to work at.

  24. I learned that I’m better at meeting new people then I thought I was :)

  25. I spy with my little eye a raspberry Attune Bar!! Yum!

    “When instead I should have been trying to maintain a healthy mind and body. The two are very different and don’t always deem the same results. The latter is all I care about now.”

    I love this statement. You are so correct in that the 2 are very different. I have kind of come to that conclusion myself and have stopped officially trying to take off the last 10 pounds that I have been fussing about for the last 2 years.

    I learned that just because you lock something up, doesn’t mean someone won’t take it.

  26. 1. I have yet to try a fig, but I really need to!
    2. TJ’s Sunflower butter is freaking amazing!!!
    3. You look fantastic and I abolutely LOVE your blog!

    Jen

    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  27. I have learned a lot about new ingredients that I never used before. I also learned about nutrition info to maintain a healthier diet (i.e. how much protein, sodium, carbs, is right for me) But, I think the most remarkable accomplishment for me in the month of August was learning how to spell ‘reminisce’ for once and for all. That’s a tricky one, right?

  28. wow awesome post! you have done so much in august! ahh taht pic was SO taken in TJ’s! hehe I spied that red basket ;)

    I LOVE green figs! i had them in isreal once and they were like pure candy crack! so so good!!! the sunflower butter is awesome, but i acutally got sick of it halfway through, it got a little too sweet for me! but it is def delicious! I have learned that I have EXTREME discipline when it comes to food and fitness since training for my fitness comp!

  29. wonderful sentiments my dear susan…just lovely.

    i learned that no matter what, you just get through it. tomorrow is always a new day and you just need to keep on fighting :)

  1. Pingback: September already! | StarLoz™ | Balancing Pleasure & Health EVERYDAY in Sydney, Australia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

