The Food Photography Society

I’ve been hanging out with bloggers again…

IMG_1094

If this keeps up, I’m going to start thinking taking pictures of your food is normal :P

It came to our attention that Callie had both never been to Fresh before and is moving out of town soon.
 IMG_1114

Fresh is a popular Toronto vegan/vegetarian restaurant that also specializes in juices. Tonight, we hit up the Bloor location. First time in The Annex neighbourhood – very cool!

IMG_1090

 
Fresh is always busy and does not accept reservations. We ended up waiting an hour for a table – twice the amount of time we were told – so when we were finally seated they brought us free sweet potato fries!

IMG_1088
BlogTO, my Toronto restaurant resource, rated these the best sweet potato fries in the city. I thought they were just good. A little on the soggy and floppy side.

IMG_1092IMG_1095

Besides eating, one thing us bloggers know how to do well is talk. Gabgabgab about everything from spin classes to embarrassing tales of clumsiness.

I showed up starving per usual, eating a whack of sweet potato fries and a nibble of Callie’s Avocado White Bean Dosa. Kinda like a crepe!

IMG_1098

I’ve so far tried the wraps, bowls and salads at Fresh, leaving only their burger left to try. My tummy growled in approval at the thought of the Deluxe Burger:

image 
IMG_1101
I luuuurve Fresh’s vegan mayo. I tried to make vegan mayo on my own once and it was downright disgusting. The Fresh stuff is creamy and delicious.

IMG_1104
The coleslaw was pretty good too. Lots of cabbage with a nice oil dressing. 

IMG_1108 
The burger was giant. Shortly after snapping this photo, the top bun fell off.

IMG_1106

So far I think the wrap has been my favourite Fresh menu item, but the burger was a valiant effort on their part. I ended up getting full halfway through, so I just ditched the bun and ate the patty.

IMG_1111

Where’s the beef??

Happy bellies all around!

IMG_1099

A snippet of our fantastic Toronto blogger crew: Kristin, Morgan, me, Callie, Angela, Miranda. Quote of the night came from the poor girl next to us who had to snap this photo with a million different cameras: “Are you guys in a photography society or something??” Baaaahaha. Nah, I’m just a very lucky girl who happens to be surrounded by wonderful ladies who share all my passions :)

Speaking of passions, before I sign off I have to scream about this one thing from the mountaintops. It’s called the

CLIF MOJO PEANUT BUTTER PRETZEL BAR!!!!

IMG_1084
Bought at Trader Joe’s out of curiosity at the lowlow price of one dollar.

IMG_1082

Dare I say the best bar I’ve ever had?? I do. I dare say it. Y’all, it had real pretzels and peanut butter chips. It was the perfect mix of chewy, crispy, sweet and salty. The nutritionals are spot on for when I’m feeling snacky. Plus, it is even tastier than those darned Nature Valley Sweet & Salty bars I used to be obsessed with back in the day.

IMG_1085
I chased it down with a Diet Coke. Just keepin’ it real ;)

See ya tomorrow for Fitness Friday! Tomorrow we’re talking weight lifting sets, what they are and how to use them properly. I’ll also be adding new routines to my Workouts page within the next few days – I’ll keep you posted!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite kind of burger? I love bison burgers. Topped with ketchup, mustard, relish and a pickle :)

Posted on August 20, 2010, in Restaurants, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. OMG <– I never say omg…

    but… OMG that bar looks AWESOME. I love pretzels… that's it… I need to find this immediately. :)

  2. I’m going to Vegas next month and our flight is out of Bellingham…where there is a TJs. My friends had better be willing to take me on the way home or I suspect I’ll be crossing the border alone! :)

  3. I love blogs meet-ups! So fun. Let’s see…I think salmon burgers are my favorite, but I like a good veggie burger or beef burger when the mood strikes. I don’t eat any kind of burgers too often though…I should fix that.

  4. Fresh looks amazing! What a fun meet up – gorgeous group of ladies! Looking forward to your Fitness Friday, as per usual!

  5. Looks like you had a great time! I love Fresh, it’s my favorite restaurant. I don’t go there as often as I’d like though. I am going on Saturday, so I’m looking forward to that.

    You were right by Greg’s Ice Cream! We still need to make an ice cream date. :)

  6. It was so great seeing you! Fun night for sure.
    Now we need to go to Morocco :D

    Can I just say I am so glad someone else is keepin’ it real with a diet coke? I have one, every so often, and NEVER put it on the blog for fear of the wrath of the bloggies… come on, a girl can’t be perfect! And it is SO refreshing. :P

    I love bison burgers as well! But the lamb burger at my fave burger restaurant at home, Crazy Burger, is to dieeee for.

    xo
    Kris

  7. Bison burgers are seriously good!

  8. Blarg! Wish I could’ve been there but half marathon training called and I got the opportunity to run with a friend with a Running Room group! I promise not to keep flaking at blogger meet ups!!! I LOVE FRESH!!!!

  9. I love any burger with mushrooms :) And bbq sauce!!

  10. I’ve never been to a blogger meet-up and it gives me the sadz. :(

    I’m obsessed with Morningstar Chipotle Black Bean Burgers – there is straight up full kernals of corn and whole beans in the mix! LOVE!

  11. mmm that burger looks so good!! i am loving the healthy restaurants in toronto!! :)

    can’t wait for fitness friday!!

  12. Looks like so much fun! I LOVE that mojo bar – it’s pretty much a combination of all that’s good in the world.

  13. Love it! You forget how funny you look when you’re all snapping away don’t you?! Other people must be so confused…
    That place looks really awesome. So fun that you all are becoming real life friends too :)

    Looking forward to the weights post! You know I love your how-to’s!

  14. WOWWWWWWWWWW that burger looks absolutely mouth watering delish! im doggy panting over here for it!

    my fave burger has lots of onions, lettuce, tomaters, and pickles. YUM

  15. I love spicy bean burgers more than beef burgers now, I think they have so much more flavour! I like them in a seeded pitta with salad, melted cheese, ketchup and lots of raw red onion. Yum! Looking forward to fitness friday!

  16. There is a pb&j version of those Cliff Mojo bars that makes me curse gluten every time I see it. I miss it soooo much!

    I love burgers! Bison or beef…I always get mine bunless. Blue cheese and bacon is good. Mushroom and swiss is amazing. I really like cole slaw and white cheddar though. No matter what I require tons of pickles. Also a mix of ketchup and horseradish to dip it in. :)

  17. I am totally a “lurker” – but I have write my first comment to tell you how much I LOVE your workouts! I have always been a crazy cardio girl, and just recently decided to start lifting. I have printed off several of your full body workouts and I can already tell a difference! Thank you so much for the information – it’s extremely helpful for a weight lifting newbie like me!

  18. Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun.

    Dinner looks delicious, worth the crazy wait!

    I’m so glad they don’t sell Mojo bars in Canada, they’re much easier to resist that way!

  19. I love black bean burgers and the occasional turkey burger. I’ve tried to make black bean burgers at home, though, and they always fall apart!

    Also I love any sort of bar with pretzels. There’s one Kashi variety I’ve been trying to track down for a while now. I’m afraid they may have stopped making it.

  20. I just can’t believe how much your life has changed from last year. You are getting out so much more (or at least showing that part on the blog) and being surrounded by people!

    Burger? Peppcorn crusted topped with blue cheese. Oh yes.

    • You are so right Lori!!! I had absolutely no one in my old city, and now I’m suddenly surrounded by fabulous people. Words can’t describe how much happier I am here. It’s nice to be out living and experiencing again :D

  21. I miss Fresh desperately! I always try and stop by whenever I’m in Toronto. Like you, I’ve tried pretty much everything, but their wraps continue to be my favorite.
    Hmm best burger? I am a huge fan of grilled portabello mushroom burgers and walnut lentil burgers are also amazing, and because I’m carb obsessed- really good buns are mandatory!

  22. bloggie meetups are SO fun!! glad you’ve been having such a great time :)

    seriously that mojo bar reminds me of what pretzel m&ms would taste like!

  23. My latest favourite best burger is the chicken / rye bread burger I made earlier this week :)

  24. i am pretty jealous that you have so many blogging friends to eat with and hang with! i wish i could join all of you.

    my favorite burger has to have blue cheese. yum.

    hope you have a lovely weekend! xoxoxoxoxo

  25. One of these days I’ll live in a city where I’m not the only blogger :) Chicago here I come? haha. LOVE Fuddrucker’s veggie burgers with relish, tomato, pico (yes, I realize tomato and pico are almost the same thing but I want them BOTH!), and honey mustard…sooo worth every greasy delicious bite!

    • I’ve never heard of those veggie burgers before!! And no worries, relish and pickles are essentially the same thing, but I need both of them as well!

  26. Its gotta be a bean or lentil kinda burger for me, lots of salad and some hummus and sun dried tomato sauce ooooooooo yummy! x x

  27. I just had one of those mojo bars this week and I agree. It’s pretty darn amazing!

  1. Pingback: Markets and Bars | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Family Feasts | The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: The World’s Best Veggie Burger. Ever. | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

