Daily Archives: August 18, 2010

Chocolate Tooth

You know how some people classify themselves as having either a sweet or a salty tooth?

Well I have a chocolate tooth.

IMG_1013 
I love most sweets, and am typically down for a salty snack, but chocolate is my one and only.

IMG_1011

I’ve been waiting to pour hot oatmeal into this jar since the day I bought it. I specifically saved the near-empty jar for a treat upon my return from Chicago. Made better only by the addition of even more chocolate in the form of dark chocolate covered edamame from Trader Joe’s.

IMG_1019 
If you think this is enough to satisfy my raging chocolate tooth, you are unfortunately mistaken. I tear through any and all chocolate at an astonishing rate. I have a piece after every single meal (sometimes even after a chocolate breakfast!).

IMG_0807

There’s been an abnormal amount of chocolate in my house these past few days as a result of the stellar swag bag I received at the Healthy Living Summit. These Adora disks are calcium infused hunks of the good stuff. Texture is not quite up to snuff, but I’ll still take it!

IMG_0808

When I was a kid, my mom always used to separate my Halloween candy into three bags: chips, chocolate bars, and the rest of the candy. Guess which bag always emptied first?

IMG_1060

Adding healthy stuff is really not helping the cause either. As if I need another excuse to eat chocolate!

IMG_1065 
These Attune bars have priobiotic in them. When chatting with the Attune rep at the Healthy Living Summit, I told her we didn’t get them in Canada and she proceeded to give me a handful of free bars. I think my eyes glazed over.

IMG_1066

Of all the food pairings in world, I would have to say chocolate + coffee is my favourite. Yes, even more than banana + peanut butter, or even chocolate + peanut butter. My favourite time to eat chocolate is with my morning coffee. I take a nibble, then let the coffee melt it in my mouth. It’s a near religious experience.

IMG_1068

Angela totally got it right with this chocolate and coffee Glo Bar. Of the flavours I’ve tasted, this is so far my favourite.

As a side note, this ode to chocolate was in no way planned. When uploading my photos tonight, I realized that it’s the only food I deemed worthy to photograph over the past few days. Go figure!

I guess we all have a little Homer Simpson in us ;)

 

Question of the Day: What is that one food you eat over and over and never get sick of??

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers