A Random Waffle Wednesday

Happy Waffle Wednesday!!

IMG_0717

This week’s waffle is brought to you by blueberries.

IMG_0720

The usual protein waffle recipe made with a quarter cup each of whole wheat flour, unflavoured soy protein powder and egg whites, teaspoon each of baking powder, cinnamon and vanilla, and a half cup of almond milk.

IMG_0724

Topped with a mixed berry yogurt whisked with almond butter, fresh blueberries and a drizzle of syrup for good measure. Nom to the nom.

Lookie what I got today!!

IMG_0728

Seeing this for the first time was so cool. Caitlin’s blog was the first food blog I ever read. I’ve been following her since 2008. I always knew she had that spark in her, and I am so happy she has become successful doing something so positive (to see what it’s about, check out Operation Beautiful here). Dude, she’s an author! Of a book!

Even cooler, I’m in the book :)

IMG_0732

I submitted a blurb on overcoming gym anxiety and I’m stoked it made the cut into the final product. There are tons of bloggers I recognize in there. Really says a lot about how wonderful this blogging community is :) Oh, and you can read the full-length story on how I overcame my gym fears here.

Just a few years later, the girl who used to get panic attacks stepping into a gym now works at one. Can you believe it? In fact, the gym is probably one of my favourite places to be. I even hang out there to work out once I’m all done training. Here’s the fun full-body weightlifting sesh I tackled today:

Warm-up: 15 minutes on this elliptical:

Precor Elliptical Machine

A Precor CrossRamp. I don’t normally use this machine as I find the range of motion is weird for my legs. The little ramp in the front moves up and down, while guiding your feet along the same plane. It definitely challenged my leg muscles, but I just couldn’t get a high heart rate on it because the motion wasn’t natural for me. It’s important to experiment and find ellipticals that work for you!

After the warm-up, I grabbed a 20 lb kettlebell and did 3 sets of 20 kettlebell swings.

I felt comfortable doing this because I’ve done a kettlebell class before. I definitely recommend getting instruction from a pro before attempting these, as it’s suuuuper easy to injure yourself! On the bright side, it’s an awesome move ;)

Then 3 alternating sets:
Cable twisting standing chest press (12 reps)
Squat to cable row (12 reps)

Followed by 3 straight sets of 20 tactical lunges with a 20lb kettlebell. For this one, you pass the kettlebell between hands under your knee as you lunge forward, you can watch a video on it here.

Then 3 more alternating sets:
Barbell upright row (12 reps)
Dumbbell straight leg deadlift (12 reps)

Circuit done 3 times through:
Skull crusher (8 reps)
Plank on a bench (60 sec)
Barbell curl (8 reps)
Jump squats (20 reps)

 

60 minutes on the dot! This one had my heart pumping throughout. Usually I lower the weight on the isolation moves, but today I upped it to really hammer those muscles ;)

 

Finally, it’s been a while since I did some of the blogger questionnaires out there. Thankfully, Crystal nominated me for this award and I couldn’t resist but participate!

  Versatile_Blogger_Award[1]

 

Here are the rules:

  • Thank the person who gave you the award.
  • Share seven things about yourself.
  • Nominate fifteen newly discovered blogs.
  • Let your nominees know about the award.

*Ahem* Thank you Crystal for giving me this award!!!

Okay, the 7 things

1. My middle name is Elizabeth.

2. I re-read each Harry Potter book with each new book release, meaning I’ve read them 30 times.

3. I was born with a black eye.

4. If I could choose, my last meal would be my Nana’s egg sandwiches and potato salad.

5. My heart almost physically aches every time I see a dog.

6. I love the smell of second hand cigarette smoke.

7. My feet went down a shoe size when I lost 30 lbs.

 

Okay, so I honest to goodness do not have the time to go through 15 blogs, but I really love passing these things on. Instead, I tag the first 15 people who commented on my last post:

darryn (brio.gusto)

John

Emily

Laura

Katie

Lolzthatswim(andRun)

Angharad

kbwood

Tina

Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish

Kristin (Cook, Bake and Nibble)

greensandjeans

Morgan @ Life After Bagels

runningaroundnormal

Renee

 

And I don’t have time to let y’all know you got the award! Soo, uhhh, I hope you read this! :P

 

You may be wondering why I don’t have time… well I’m leaving for Chicago tomorrow!! Okay, technically Kitchener, then driving to Chicago all day Friday. But it’s after 11pm and I leave at 10am tomorrow and I haven’t started any preparations whatsoever. Oh yeah, and I still have work to do for my real job! Aahhh, leaving things until the last minute, story of my life ;)

Can’t say I’ll be back with an update tomorrow, but I’ll try my darndest on Friday to get something up. I’m still contemplating how to blog about the Healthy Living Summit, seeing as 199 other bloggers will be covering all the same stuff. All I can say is that I’ll try to reflect it through my unique perspective as best I can ;)

 

See ya from Amerrrica!!! xo

Posted on August 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. see I knew I commented on your last post for a reason bahahaha it was all for this award :)

    I have a request for you and Callie, that you practice some cool songs on the 58 hour drive to Chicago and then you wow us with them on Saturday night

    On a more serious note – I just read your entry in the operation beautiful book and it was so heart felt and intimate to read

  2. From somone not going to HLS, I appreciate any attempt to be different. It’s going to get boring and sad real fast for those of us who aren’t there (of course, it’s my half marathon, so I guess I have my own stuff going on, ha).

  3. I will make your pancakes soon! I promise! haha!

  4. Have a great time at HLS, Susan! I’m sorry I missed you in Toronto…but we barely had a day there! T___T

    I’m gonna look out for your story in the OB book…mine is in there too, but I have yet to get one.

  5. love the facts! my middle name that my parents gave me before i legally changed my entire name was elizabeth. had i had that as a 1st name i may never have changed my name but who knows. my chosen middle name is Harmony. Much better for me i think :)

    i am so jealz that you’re going to HLS. And kicking myself that i didnt make it happen for myself!

  6. Thanks for the award! Hope you have a great time in Chicago, very jealous of all the fun you guys will be having! x

  7. Hey Susan, i have a question! I love aerobics and although i know it’s a good workout, my thighs seem to be bulking up rather than slimming down. I think it’s the combination of lunges etc, which are building muscle, not burning fat. Should i switch to running HIITs instead for my cardio and do aerobics for my toning up? Thanks!

    • Hey Kerry! When you say aerobics, do you mean aerobics classes? There is nothing wrong with putting muscle on your legs, the problem is that there is still a layer of fat over top of them. I agree with the HIIT and running, and you can lay off on the lower body work for a while. Just remember that weak glute and thigh muscles can lead to things like knee and ankle injuries in the future – be proud of those muscles girl!

  8. Aren’t blueberries the best? They make everything better :)

  9. Have a blast this weekend! Wish I could be there!!

  10. I’m excited to read as much HLS stuff as I can. I hate to be missing out and I really hope that they do another next year because I WILL be there.

    Harry Potter 30 times? That is a LOT! They are good books though. I actually want to re-read them myself. :) And I’ll try to participate in an upcoming post. Those things are always fun…and give you something to write about. LOL

  11. Mmmm, waffles. I have been craving waffles (and pancakes) and we still haven’t opened our wedding presents to see if we got a waffle maker! Ahhh…. we’re buying one with our wedding $$ if not. This has gone on too long ;)

    So cool that you’re in the book!!

    Thanks for the tag, that will be fun to write :D

    HAVE FUN this weekend, can’t wait to see you after for dessert so you can tell me all about it!!

    xo
    Kris

  12. Christina @ Food.Fitness.Fun.

    Ahh! Have fun in Chicago, it’s one of my favourite cities! Can’t wait to hear all about it. If you’re looking for FroYo while you’re there give Berry Chill a try and cupcakes are amazing at Molly’s!

  13. You all are going to have such a blast at HLS! I wish I could come just to meet fabulous people like you!!

  14. Thanks for the award Susan. Small conselation prize for us not winning 6/49 last night :-( We only hit 1 number so I guess they weren’t your lucky numbers after all……or you had to buy the ticket :-)

  15. Have fun at the HLS this weekend! I can’t wait to read about it =)

    Also, fun fact – I also love the smell of second hand smoke. I never really smoked myself (just an occassional cig socially) but I spent so much time in my aunt’s house where their entire family smoked as I was growing up that I like the smell. Odd

    Nicole G

  16. Haha, yeah no pressure- whose recaps will win?? ;) I kid, I kid, we’ll all read each others’ and be supportive- right??

  17. loook at you getting all in the book!!!! that’s SO exciting :)

    have fun at the HLS girl! can’t wait to hear all about it :) :)

  18. HAVE SO MUCH FUN AT HLS!!!!!!

  19. That’s so cool you made it in the book! Congrats :)

    You love the smell of cigarette smoke?? Well, props for honesty haha. I like weird smells too…like gasoline and permenant marker. Don’t judge ;)

    Have fun in Chicago at the HLS!

  20. ughh i wish i was going to the HLS!! if only this were last year it would be in boston and I wouldnt have to travel anywhere!!!

    anyways, amazing workout! those kettle bell swings ROCK they always get my heart pumping!!

    when I look at pics of my dog, i always shed a tear :( (he passed 2 years ago)

  21. Yay kettlebell exercises! I’ve yet to find a place in Vancouver. There seems to be one that offers it, but for like $30 a session…yikes!

    HAVE FUN AT HLS! Can’t wait to hear about your adventures.

    and THANKS for the award! ;)

    xox

  22. Have an awesome time in Chitown! I can’t wait to read your take on it :D

  23. have fun in my city!! too bad I can’t come to the HLS, but enjoy chicago! if you have extra time, send me an e-mail. I’d love to have lunch or something!

  24. haaay, i just got operation beautiful too! it put a big smile on my face. :)
    and now i’m going to hunt for your entry. i get way too excited everytime i see a familiar blogger in the book.

    have fun in chicago!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

