Kombucha vs. Beer

Some great suggestions on how to save moulah at the grocery store in my last post! Ironic, because I definitely spent a lot of money on food today. But let’s start at the beginning…

IMG_9746

Ever have those mornings when you just can’t decide what to put on your toast?

IMG_9754

One piece was smothered with Peanut Butter & Co Dark Chocolate Dreams + Marshmallow Fluff.

IMG_9756

The other piece had a slice of bacon and a fried egg.

IMG_9758
Sweet + savoury, gotta love it!

IMG_9750

 
Plus some fresh figs for good measure. These are definitely ripe, but still bland. I’m thinking they’re just sub-par figs? Anyone in Italy wanna send me some? :P

Kept the theme of fresh fruit going for my mid-morning snackage.

IMG_9761

Cottage cheese, almond butter, cinnamon, maple syrup, blueberries. Amazing combo.

No workout today, I like to give my body a break every 3-4 days. I still went to the gym though – but for work!! How weird is that? I love it. I’m training my first client on Monday and I’m pumped. Also, I got a call today for a second interview at Starbucks! Pretty excited for that too, as I genuinely love hawking lattes for people. If all goes well, work shouldn’t feel like too much work ;)

I’d gotten a few recommendations to check out the restaurant Kale, so I decided to hit it up for lunch while I was in the ‘hood.

IMG_9762

 
Kale is a vegan & organic buffet where you pay by the weight of your plate.

IMG_9768

When I first walked in, I was a little disappointed by the lack of choice. Usually these types of places have sooooo much to choose from.

IMG_9763

I tried to go small with my servings, but my plate still came to $12!

IMG_9764

 
Let’s see… there was a cabbage salad, dill and avocado salad (didn’t realize the avocado until I sat down, risked it and didn’t die… yay!)

IMG_9765

sweet potato stew… 

IMG_9766

shephard’s pie made with lentils…

IMG_9767

 
…soba noodle salad and curried tofu. I’d say my favourite thing on the plate was the above pasta salad. I really liked the parsley in it. I was disappointed with the shephard’s pie, which is too bad because it had so much potential! I probably won’t be going back based on the price for what you get, luckily there are tons of other great places nearby :)

Including a store dedicated solely to organization.

IMG_9769

 
I couldn’t help but walk in. It’s full of plastic bins and shelving, little trinkets and gadgets, it was fascinating. I walked out with a closet organizer I convinced myself I needed. Remind me never to go back in this store :P

IMG_9772

 
By the time I made it home, I was hot, sweaty, and in need of refreshment. I pulled out the kombucha I had chilling in the fridge. For those of you that don’t know, kombucha is fermented tea. That means it’s regular tea that has sat fermenting with a hunk of of yeast and bacteria in it. Averie has been making it at home and the whole process fascinates me.

IMG_9775

I’m all for a little healthy bacteria in my life, but this stuff scares me. I thought the peach flavour would mask any grossness (a proper word according to my Windows Live Writer), but it kind of tasted like vinegar. Expensive peach-flavoured vinegar. I think I will stick to my yogurt and fermented soy :)

By this time, my vegan lunch three hours prior had left me hungry again, and the kombucha left me still thirsty. There are only two remedies in circumstances such as these.

Beer + Burgers.

IMG_9779

Let it be known that I only ordered a 12oz draught of PBR, but ended up drinking two. My friends each ordered their own pitcher and the waitress said she couldn’t serve one table that much liquor at once!! Baahahaha. This is what happens when you get a group of Maritime journalists together.

IMG_9783

Chris + Nick on the left are visiting from Fredericton. That’s my roommie Billy on the right, aka “Marshal” ;)

IMG_9784

Me and Meg! She’s my other roommie/soon-to-be biking partner.

Don’t worry about all this beer you are seeing though, I balanced it out by going bun-less ;)

IMG_9781
Beef burger on bib lettuce with beets, chipotle ketchup, French’s mustard and pickles. W Burger Bar is one of those restaurants where you choose your patty, bun, and then toppings for no additional cost. Thumbs up!!!

The Maritime journalists continued on, while I hopped on the streetcar home. I had tofu to attend to.

IMG_9788
The main ingredient for the dish I’m bringing to a blogger potluck picnic tomorrow. You’ll have to wait and see what it is!

Now, if you don’t mind, I have to go pick the tofu out of my hair :P

Posted on July 18, 2010, in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. So weird I was just looking at your blogpost and I was like I recognize fellow STU students! haha. I guess I never realized that you are from NB. I went to STU and my husband is from Saint John!

  2. I LOVE that runny yolk.

    You nervous for Monday? That’s so exciting! Right on the road to changing peoples lives! and starbucks–you’re a latte natural–you got it in the bag.

    oh, and I can’t do kombuca. Blech.

  3. The figs are beautiful to look at, even if they are bland! :)

    And btw your brand of Kombucha looks so much more normal than the stuff I drank. Mine had the mushroom bloom thing floating around inside. Usually, I throw drinks out when they look like that! lol

    Hope you have a lovely Sunday!

  4. Man! I love Kombucha! I like the ginger flavors best. You do have to acquire the taste for it. I didn’t like it my first time.

  5. mmm slurp! (I remember Donal Duck uses this word, does it really mean something? hehe).
    Your breakfast looks delicious, but it’s strange to see you eat an egg in the morning! I love blueberries, but here if you want to buy them it’s so expensive as they were made with gold! We have a little plant, but it still doesn’t do fruits, so sad.
    But when I went for a walking tour I found in the wood a particular art of raspberry, it is sticky and like gummy. It taste really good. I ‘ll do a post later and put some pctures. :)
    Have a nice Sunday
    lalla

  6. Congrats on training your first client! That is so exciting! What are you going to have him/her do?

    • Nothing overly exciting. I’m getting most of the “gym newbies” so I’ll be putting together a lot of basic looking programs. It’s fun though, I love the idea of introducing someone to strength training!!

  7. You are inspiring me to change up my shephard’s pie recipe for one with lentil instead of meat.

  8. Hmmmm… Kombucha. No thanks. That’s on my list of things I have absolutely no desire to try.

    Yippee for the first client! I am sure they will love you :D

  9. That was a $12 salad?! Yikes. Sounds good, but that’s pretty steep!
    Can’t wait to hear how your first session goes. The workouts you pose on here rock – so I’m sure you will rock your session, too :) Remember that your client is probably a little nervous, too :)

  10. Dang, $12 is kind of a lot for that plate!

    I’m resisting the kombucha. Never had any desire to try it, and even though I’m of the “I’ll give anything a go once” mentality, I’m avoiding spending a couple bucks on a bottle of something I have a feeling I’ll take one teeny swig of and then toss.

  11. I love marshmallow fluff SO much – I have an unopened container in my cupboard that I’m afraid to open, because I know I’m going to eat it way too fast! I’m still not completely into kombucha either, but you can never go wrong with beer ;)

  12. Bahaha I love how you followed up kombucha and vegan food with beer and beef burgers. You’re a true foodie. :)

    I’ve never tried kombucha either! And to be honest I didn’t know what it actually was until reading this post…

  13. aka marshall!

    i miss kombucha. i cannot find it anywhere :(

    i am looooving your posts. the recap of the year on TGBA made me grin real big. glad to have been there for it all.

    love you.

  14. I truly and deeply feel sorry for people who have tried kombucha out of a bottle and then used that experience to judge ALL KOMBUCHA with. KOMBUCHA OUT OF A BOTTLE TASTES LIKE ASS.

    Imagine if someone offered you a flat, natural lite with a cigarette butt in the bottom of it and said to you: “This is Beer!” Good stuff hugh? Would you even think of drinking beer again? Gawd no.

    Kombucha is just slightly more difficult to make than iced tea. If you can master the art of iced tea making, I promise that you can master kombucha.

    You can get a starter scoby on eBay for about $6. You can also make it using a bottle of UNPASTEURIZED and UNFLAVORED k-tea out of the bottle instead of using a scoby. It costs about $1.50 – $2.00 to make per gallon. I know, that price is way to cheap for many people. Many only drink it as a yuppie “status trip” to impress their friends with. Whenever I see one of those bottles of kombucha tea, I think to myself; someone actually paid several dollars for that bottle of garbage water. Just get bottle of King Cobra Malt liquor, throw a few cigarette butts in there, leave on the shelf for a few days — strain and enjoy ;)

    Did I mention that a good home brewed bottle of kombucha tastes almost like good BEER? Nothing at all like apple cider vinegar, put more like a tangy pale ale. Strongly carbonated with a head and taste that is very similar to beer. It’s so good that you really are missing out if you don’t try it. Pretty much anyone who enjoys good beer will fall in love with home brewed kombucha.

    Good luck and happy brewing ;)

  1. Pingback: It’s Burger Season « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

