Daily Archives: July 14, 2010

Fabulousness + Rawlicious

Today was a day of fabulousness. <—Also fabulous is that “fabulousness” is a word according to my Windows Live Writer.

Anyways, here are all of the day’s fabulous events in order of occurrence:

1. Andy Schleck edged out Alberto Contador for the yellow jersey in Stage 9 today at the Tour de France.

2. I received three times the amount of money I was expecting for my tax return.

3. I got that job I interviewed for yesterday and reallyreally wanted (!!!!)

4. I celebrated all these fabulous things with a fabulous meal with fabulous bloggers tonight :)

 

Okay. I will stop using the word fabulous ;)

So about that job? I’ll be doing personal training in a Toronto-area gym starting next week! It really is the perfect gym and ideal situation for me and I could not be happier about it :D Of course, I won’t start making any money until I get clients, so that extra boost I got from the government today definitely helps!!

IMG_9562

For all the wonderful things that happened today, it was actually a pretty lazy morning and afternoon.

IMG_9564

Started with a Toronto-style bagel topped with butter + mixed berry jam.

IMG_9567

With a side of microwaved egg whites topped with laughing cow cheese. All on a Wall-E plate ;)

I had full intentions on going to the gym before lunch, so I thought a Run Glo Bar would be an appropriate pre-gym snack.

IMG_9569

I love the idea of a small nutrition bar meant specifically as pre-run fuel.

IMG_9571

Again, I liked how you could really taste the peanut butter, and it had dates! Those are always my go-to pre-run snack! I can totally see this being easily digested for energy before a run.

IMG_9575

Except, I didn’t end up going to the gym after eating this. I got caught up in the last 20k of today’s Tour de France, and then the Harry Potter book I’m reading started calling my name.

IMG_9579
I eventually had to break from all this laziness for lunch.

IMG_9582

I mixed some of my leftover white bean-pork-mushroom-pesto with chopped green pepper, red onion, zucchini, beets and feta. Holy delicious. I ate it cold like a salad and it was awesome!

I eventually did make it to the gym late this afternoon. Walked the 25 minutes there because I was too lazy (or impatient) to wait for the streetcar. I know this doesn’t make sense. Can you tell I was in a mood today?? :P

Went straight to the weight room and tortured myself thusly:

 

Exercise Load Reps Sets Target
Deadlift 65 lbs 12 3 Lower back, glutes, thighs
Forward lunge  40 lbs ea 20 3 Quads, glutes
Reverse fly  10 lbs ea 12 3 Upper back
Jump squats bodyweight 20 3 Quads, glutes
Dumbbell bench press  20 lbs ea 12 3 Chest
One arm dumbbell snatch  20 lbs 12 3 Shoulder, quads, glutes
Lateral raise w/ side lunge  5 lbs ea 12 3 Top/side shoulder, inner thighs, quads
Cable pushdown  45 lbs 12 3 Triceps
Single arm cable curl  10 lbs 12 3 Biceps
Prone jackknife  bodyweight 12 3 Abs
Stability ball leg curl bodyweight 12 3 Hamstrings, hips, calves

Colour coded to indicate straight or alternating sets! I really hated doing the jump squats between sets, so I know it was good for me :P I then proceeded to walk home in the humidity. I was starved by the time I got back!

IMG_9589
One thing I’ve noticed about Ontario is that the produce is cheaper than in New Brunswick. Cantaloupe is only 99 cents. 

IMG_9585
I’ve been eating excessive amounts of fruit now that it’s so hot out. That’s what summer is for I guess – it tastes so fresh and delicious!

I also snacked up on a little extra protein…

IMG_9598
Yes, protein desserts are still in my life. This is just a scoop of chocolate whey powder mixed with a tablespoon cocoa powder + stevia and a splash of water. Super rich and satisfying :)

I may have also been filling up on protein because of the blogger meet-up I had in store!!

IMG_9599
Angela got a recommendation for Rawlicious and we immediately had to try it!

IMG_9603
They have a mostly all raw-vegan menu and a super cute dining area!! We were in a room called the “Zen Den” hanging out on pillows and chatting away per usual.

IMG_9606

Jess, Angela, Laura, Kristin, Sarah, Me, Jessica, Jenn. Missing is Callie, she’s the photographer ;)

Rawlicious has a juicer on hand so I figured I might as well take advantage of it to continue the fight against this never-ending cold I have.

Veggie juice: celery, cucumber, parsley, carrot.

IMG_9604
Not bad actually. It tasted mostly of cucumber. I now know that juice is supposed to be drunk warm for whatever reasons, but seriously. Will a couple ice cubes really hurt?

We also ordered a Nacho Platter for the table: the classic trio of Guacamole, “Sour Cream” & Salsa, served with sliced green olives, green onions, hot banana peppers and a pile of Rawlicious Nacho Chips.

IMG_9613
Excuse the blurry picture, but I had to just say the raw tortilla chips were awesome! As was the “sour cream.” The consensus was that it was probably cashew based. I say it was based of deliciousness.

Everything on the menu sounded so unique and amazing. I finally ended up with a Taco Wrap: Seasoned Nut-Loaf, Guacamole, chopped Tomatoes, Red Onion, shredded Romaine, Salsa and Nut Cheese.

IMG_9618

Thumbs up!!! I asked for it without the guacamole (“allergic”) but otherwise everything on it tasted great! The nut-loaf was a little spicy and had a great crumbly texture. The nut cheese reminded me a little of hummus. I really enjoyed this, and for being a raw meal, it was pretty darn filling!!

When the waitress asked if we wanted to see the tea menu after the meal, I couldn’t help but take part.

IMG_9619

Knowing it was getting close to my bedtime, I chose one of the “non-caffeineted” ones, Rooibos Samarkhand: Rooibos, Cardamom, Cinnamon, Clove, Ginger, Calendula & Rose Petals.

IMG_9622

All served in a cute little mug to boot. Good for my sinuses!

There may have also been a little raw dessert action…

IMG_9620

Much better than my last raw dessert experience. Y’all know I’m a butter and sugar girl, but this raw brownie was definitely tasty! It was mostly coconut based, but my favourite part was the icing, which I think had something to do with coconut butter.

IMG_9624
Fun fact: Callie (right) and I are driving to Chicago together for the Healthy Living Summit!! Blogger road trip?? Yesplease :)

IMG_9627
I’m pumped that Sarah (left) and Angela (right) will also be at the Healthy Living Summit! Also, props to Jessica (mid-right) for suggesting the restaurant. It was a total win, and I have a feeling we’ll be going back to the “Zen Den” till we’ve tried everything on the menu!!

I should also thank Laura for her TTC tips (Toronto Transit Commission). Thankfully, I didn’t have to act crazier than the crazy people on the subway to stay safe on the way home. Another win!!

 

And with that, I bid you a goodnight!! *muah!*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers