Bittersweet

Food.

IMG_7940

French toast with homemade soda bread.

IMG_7941

Lots of leftover eggy bits on the side. The best parts.

IMG_7946

Drenched in chemicals sugar-free syrup.

Pre-workout snack of champions.

IMG_7947

When your mom says there’s bacon on the counter for you – you eat it. Even if you’re on your way out the door to the gym. Sure, the salt leaves you thirsty for the duration of your workout, but the protein/fat combo are magic energy boosters*

*results may vary

IMG_7949

My last lunch with my dad. Our favourite restaurant was closed, so we opted for our second favourite.

IMG_7952

They are known for their crepes, and we were sitting inches from the action in the kitchen.

IMG_7950

But somehow, this Egyptian pizza caught my eye.

IMG_7955

I swear the crust was made out of crepe. Dee-lightful.

IMG_7957

When your Nana offers you homemade fudge, you don’t turn it down either.

IMG_7968

This girl needs protein after a light-on-protein lunch. Some may call it a mix of soy protein powder, hot chocolate mix, and almond milk. I call it chocolate protein mousse :)

IMG_7973

My last Maritime dinner with my mom. Appropriately, breaded haddock. I will miss the seafood here.

IMG_7971

Eating up the last of the veggies in the fridge, wondering how my mom gets the pan potatoes perfectly crisp.

 

Workout.

A light lifting workout. Don’t want to be sore for my travels tomorrow. Shout-out to Janetha who inspired me to do squats and lunges off a bosu ball. I suspect her balance is better than mine being a pro snowboarder and all. My childhood briefly flashed before my eyes mid-wobbly-squat.

 

Things.

IMG_7963

My Nana’s artwork of the Restigouche river “up home.”

IMG_7965

My set of keys. I am leaving the house and car behind, therefore no longer the owner of any key or keychain.

IMG_7961

My 87-year-old grandmother has been packing and re-packing for a trip to Newfoundland for two weeks.

IMG_7970

I pack for a trip across the country in two hours. Things are worsened by the fact that I am not returning, and won’t be reaching my final destination for another three weeks. A few tears and mental breakdowns later, I squeeze my zippers closed.

 

People.

IMG_7956

Dad. Cyclist. Peanut butter connoisseur. Smartest person I know.

IMG_7959

Daughter and Mother. Mom and Nana. Strong women. Heroes. Hilarious. Make a good roast.

 

It’s been a bittersweet day. I love every moment I have spent living at home over the past month, and I hope to boomerang back again some day.

But for now it’s time to think ahead. I’ve got a mountain adventure ahead of me.

Guest posts are lined up, with a few updates expected on my end from higher altitudes.

In the meantime – be safe! And don’t do anything I wouldn’t do! :P

See ya on the flip side!

xoxo

Posted on June 8, 2010, in Restaurants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR MOVE.
    Everything will turn out ALRIGHT, don’t worry :) Take care! Travel safe!

  2. I think you look a lot like your Dad!

    Good luck. Think positive and remember your goals. You are going to be a-okay, girl.

  3. Leaving home is always tough! You’re in for a wonderful adventure, though! I know you’ll have a wonderful time. :)

  4. Where are you moving?

    I understand how you feel. After going on our honeymoon, we moved from South Carolina to California, all the way across the country! It took quite a while to get there. I had to teach for a whole week in a new place by myself before my husband and any furniture arrived. I was a nervous wreck.

    Times like these will make you feel delightfully young and free while simultaneously terrified and vulnerable.

    I hope everything goes well for you. It took me a few months to adjust, but now I have a great group of friends and enjoy being here. I’m sure you’ll do the same.

    • I’m moving to Toronto! I thought living at home for a month before I moved would get me sick of the place and make it easier to leave :P But now I just miss it more!

  5. What a sweet post! Good luck and have fun.

  6. Have an amazing trip! If you find yourself in Vancouver, contact me!

  7. *wiping tear* Such a wonderful post, Susan. And a big adventure awaits!

  8. Such an exciting time! I can’t wait to hear of all the GREAT changes that are about to happen for you.

  9. I am excited for the journey you are about to embark on and will be sending lots of happy thoughts and prayers your way!
    Make some new memories and enjoy the ones you have made thus far. It’s gonna be amazing!!

  10. I’m so excited for you! Have a great time on your trip and be safe! Can’t wait to hear some updates.

    Nicole G

    PS. You make french toast look soo good – I may have to give it a shot this week.

  11. Have SO much fun! I can’t wait to read all about it!

  12. Great post Susan, loved it! Wishing you a safe journey and looking forward to reading all about your adventures!

  13. Good luck in your new adventure.

    Your gma packing and unpacking made me smile :) Just wait until we’re that age and we’ll be doing the same thing.

  14. Leaving is always bittersweet. But remember, you can always visit! GOOD LUCK with the move, have an unforgettable time in Alberta and see you in Toronto for poached eggs and wine :D

    xo
    K

  15. Enjoy your new adventure.

  16. Have a safe trip! Sounds like it will be fun!

  17. Awwwww! It is definitely hard to leave loved-ones behind!
    Good luck moving!! Starting somewhere new is always exciting!! I hope all your travels are safe!

  18. You are the spitting image of your parents! I can’t imagine what it would feel like to leave home. I’ve got a couple years more before I have to go, but still… that has to be so hard! But you’re going to have so much fun on your trip!

  19. ah, I love this post. so very sweet.

    and ALL of that food looks delicious!

    safe travels…

  20. Enjoy every single minute of your adventure!

    (Does anyone else think that the Egyptian pizza sounds a lot more like Greek pizza?)

  21. It’s going to be amazing. I am so excited for you.

    have a wonderful trip!

  22. aw, you did a great job soaking up the family time. hope you have a safe and fun trip!!!!

  23. I practically have a lump in my throat just reading this post. I’m excited about your adventure, but know that you will miss home. Please, please promise there are more posts to come? You are one that I’d definitely like to keep following –

    I already miss the little poodle!

  24. your dad is a PB connoseuir?!?! NICE!

    that soda bread french toast looks So good! that loaf is never ending and you KNOW it is oen of my favorite breads!! i can only imagine how good it would be with raisins in there!!!

    that egyptian pizza looks perfect on that thin crust or crepe (!) which would be even better!

  25. Awww the bittersweetness! You’ll have an amazing time – home is always there to come back to. Now, go be adventurous!

    And send me some soda bread french toast while you’re at it :)

  26. Christina Guthrie

    I am broken hearted that Susie is gone but very happy she can spend time in the Rockies. Archie is also very depressed. And just to give credit where credit is due Mark made the potatoes last night and is a master of soft on the inside crispy on the outside. (no pun intended)

  27. Awww, “bittersweet” is definitely the right word! Good luck with this wonderful adventure, Susan! :)

  28. Good luck Susan! I am behind in reading your posts so I need to go back and read!

  29. “My childhood briefly flashed before my eyes mid-wobbly-squat.” laughed out loud. and loved this post. cant wait til you get home.

  1. Pingback: On this day… | The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: The Tourist That Wasn’t | The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: A New Sense of Balance | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

