Daily Archives: June 5, 2010

Good Sweat, Good Eats

Happy weekend!!

This is what I look like right now as I type this post, listening to a Lou Reed concert on TV.

IMG_7796

Mom grabbed the camera from me as I started writing up this post. See that? That right there?? That’s my blogging game face y’all. Just keepin’ it real.

I’m glad you all enjoyed my most embarrassing post ever. And thank you for sharing your most ludicrous hair styles as well. Made me feel much better about my own style faux-pas :)

Breakfast this morning was a no-brainer. I had homemade Whole Grain Maple Oatmeal Scones to eat!

IMG_7745

Toasted with a little buttah for good measure. For my fat/protein I boiled a couple eggs.

IMG_7747

Who needs orange juice when you can have a juicy orange?? ;)

IMG_7749

This was a spectacular breakfast. Another combination I used to have all the time when I was younger. I need more biscuits and scones in my life!!

IMG_7743

However, my mother and I both agree there is a smidge too much baking soda in the scones, and next time I will decrease it to 1/2 tsp from 3/4 tsp.

IMG_7752

Only thing that could have made this breakfast better? Freshly ground Haitian coffee with the Saturday paper. *Insert giant “aahhhh” here*

Hit up the co-ed gym today for a weightlifting session because they have better equipment there (don’t get me started on the dinky stuff they carry at women’s-only gyms). I specifically planned to do this on a Saturday so I wouldn’t have to pay for parking. Like I said before, there’s a method to my madness! Muhaha.

Started off with 15 minutes on the adaptive motion trainer. Got my stride a little better on it today and ended up with a tough and sweaty warm-up! Unfortunately, the real work had barely started ;) Did the usual full-body workout alternating between upper-body and lower-body so I could blast through it without having to rest too much. Plus, well, it’s more fun this way!

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Front squat push press  3 10 30 lbs Quads, Glutes, Shoulders

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Barbell bench press  3 10 45 lbs Chest, Front Shoulder
Sumo squat  3 10 65 lbs Quadriceps, Glutes

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
One-arm dumbbell row 3 10 25 lbs Whole back
Good morning  3 10 55 lbs Hamstrings, Glutes

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Dumbbell one arm lateral raise 3 10 8 lbs Top/Front Shoulder, Top of back
Bulgarian split squat  3 10 15 lbs Quadriceps, Glutes

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Kickback  3 10 10 lbs Triceps
Cable hip adduction 3 10 15 lbs Inner thigh

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Incline curl  3 10 10 lbs Biceps
Seated calf raise 3 10 50 lbs Calves

 

Exercise Sets Reps Load Muscle Group
Cable horizontal woodchop  3 10 25 lbs Obliques
Captain’s chair 3 10 bw Abs

 

Phew! Whole thing took me 1 hour and 20 minutes. It was a stellar workout though, and every muscle in my body was worked! You can cut the warm-up in half, or cut out some of the isolation moves at the end to make it shorter (triceps, biceps, adductor, calf and abs). Of course, I’m unemployed, so I have nothing better to do than waste my morning at the gym ;)

IMG_7753

I tend to crave melty cheese on pita bread after weight lifting. Today’s melty pita featured swiss, pepperoni and mustard, with red pepper, onion and romaine.

IMG_7759

Late morning workouts are the greatest, because I get to come home and refuel with a wonderful lunch :)

And, erm, a wonderful dessert.

IMG_7760

I only had three, but it took me almost five minutes to eat while I let the chocolate melt in my mouth. Mmmmm…

I took over dinner prep tonight. We all agreed we wanted hamburger of some sort, and after throwing around a few ideas, the thought of Meatloaf Pizza popped into my head. Perfection!!

Started with:

  • 3 tbsp pizza sauce (I use the Eden Organic pizza/pasta stuff)
  • 1/3 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 tbsp basil
  • 1/2 tbsp oregano
  • a pinch each of salt and pepper

IMG_7767

Then comes the fun part, add one pound of lean ground meat and mix it up with your hands.

IMG_7768

Tonight I used buffalo meat, but last time I used turkey and both tasted just as well!

IMG_7771

Flatten onto a sprayed pizza pan and cover with more pizza sauce.

IMG_7774

Add any toppings you like!

IMG_7775

We kept it classic tonight with bell peppers, onions and mushrooms. The original recipe calls for one cup of shredded cheese, I used about 3/4 cup and it was still lots. Mozzarella of course!

IMG_7779

Then bake in a 400F oven for 15-20 minutes on the bottom rack.

IMG_7781

It was ready after about 19 minutes in my mom’s oven. Just as the veggies were getting tender in the steamer!

IMG_7784

Why have crust when you can just have more meat and vegetables?

IMG_7780

IMG_7789

My plate!!

IMG_7791

Mark gave it another one of his famous “gold stars.” However, I was informed the best rating is in fact a “platinum star” and that is reserved for chocolate goods only.

IMG_7794

I overheard my mom and Mark planning on ways to get me to skip over Toronto and come back here to be their live-in homemaker. I cut a deal with my mom that I’d go hone my culinary skills in Toronto, then come back and accept the position ;)

The poodle however, is still coming with me.

IMG_7765

How am I going to leave this face!? Even more, how does he sleep like that??

Remember this photo?

Silly poodle.

 

Okee dokie, I am outta here. Time to take this blogging game face and go stick it in a book. I’ll be back tomorrow to talk about what the experts are saying about pre-workout nutrition. See ya then!

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite kind of pizza? Since it’s my own question I’m going to cheat and say cheesy garlic fingers dipped in donair sauce ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers