Sweet Endings

Happy happy weekend friends!!

My weekend is off to a good start! It actually began last night when I saw my first ever 3D movie with my dad and little step-sister. I know, I’m like a bazillion years behind the times. I normally don’t go to movies because they are so frickin’ uncomfortable. But the theatres here are larger, thus nice cushy seats. Shrek was pretty entertaining – the fat Puss in Boots stole my heart ;)

After the movie I finally watched Lost!!! Wow. So many hours of my life have gone into watching that show…

Moving on!

In case you have not yet noticed, I’m sort of off the oatmeal. I ate hot cereal every single day for a month while trying to clear out my pantry before moving. I haven’t really re-established my taste for it.

IMG_7325

 
Yup, lately I’m all about the breakfasts I grew up on – eggs, toast, pancakes, freezer waffles and… french toast!

IMG_7328

Syrup is a must for many of these items. In these cases, I prefer table syrup over maple syrup. Both of which are quite sugary for the morning.

IMG_7327 
So I rely on sugar-free syrup. I am not a splenda addict, or Diet Coke guzzler, but I do love my sucralose syrup. We all have our weak spots, and at 10 calories a tablespoon, this stuff is mine.

IMG_7331

 
Besides, the the light syrup allows for more egg-drenched bread to be consumed, and in my books, that’s good :)

Wait, did I say I watch my sugar in the morning? I take that back. I forgot about breakfast dessert.

IMG_7334

 
Finding this in my mother’s fridge was like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

IMG_7335

 
I have been on a huge milk chocolate kick lately, and I would say this stuff is la creme de la creme.

IMG_7336

 
Hello lover.

My morning was spent puttering around. I didn’t get to the gym until noon, so I popped a couple giant medjools to keep my lunch hunger at bay.

IMG_7338

 
I know a lot of people don’t do fats before working out, as it can cause digestive and abdominal distress during intense activity. That thankfully does not happen to me, and peanut butter is always my go-to snack before exercise.

My legs are still sore from the full-body workout I did on Wednesday. So I kept today to an upper-body workout. I haven’t been getting as sore upstairs as I used to, so I switched it up to high weights, low reps, extra sets. I went up at least a good 5 lbs for all my weights then completed 6 reps and 4 sets of each exercise. Because I was doing such heavy weights, I kept it to straight sets and rested for about a minute between each set. I also threw some cardio spurts in there to keep my heart rate up and keep it fun :)

20 minutes high intensity intervals on the treadmill

Length Level
1 minute 8
2 minutes 10
1 minute 17
2 minutes 10
1 minute 17
1 minute 30 seconds 10
1 minute 17
1 minute 10
1 minute 17
30 seconds 10
1 minute 17
1 minute 10
1 minute 17
1 minute 30 seconds 10
1 minute 17
2 minutes 10

Strength:
Romanian deadlift to row 
Reverse fly
Incline dumbbell fly 
Reverse push up

Cardio:
5 minutes on the rowing machine

Strength:
Dumbbell shoulder press 
Cable pushdown 
Barbell curl 

Cardio:
10 minutes on stairmaster

 

I didn’t do any abs, but if you want some suggestions for ab moves, here are all the ones I got in yesterday’s comments:

All awesome. I did decline bench sit-ups a couple weeks ago and it hurt to laugh for a few days!

Came home from the gym to yet another ginormous salad.

IMG_7340

 
Highlights being massaged kale, leftover roast chicken, shredded cheddar and leftover cider vinegar/oil dressing.

IMG_7341

For my fellow big salad eaters – it is important to own the size of your salad. When people come up to you, googly eyed by the sheer enormity of your bowl, do not flinch. Be it boss, mother or step-brother (not that I’m speaking from experience here) do not be scared to say “yeah, and I’m going to eat it ALL.” They are just amazed by how many veggies you can consume in one sitting, and do not know how to properly express this jealousy ;)

Mommy dearest whipped up her famous spaghetti sauce this evening using buffalo meat.

IMG_7347

 
My mom and I plumped up our noodles with spaghetti squash. We also cooked a garlic bread for the kids, and I enjoyed a special cheese-free piece for myself :)

Such a fantastic dinner needed a fantastic dessert though. The household was slightly bitter that Rudy (aka the gut-weiler) ate a whole box of Lindt special dark chocolates today. Not to mention, tomorrow is Mark’s birthday. Dessert needed to be extra special.

IMG_7349

 
I finally, finally, made Heather’s famous Maple Nut Oaties!

I followed her recipe and directions to a tee:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup toasted rolled oats.  I just toast them in the toaster oven set on 350° for a few minutes.  Watch them as they burn easily.
  • 1/2 cup nut butter almond butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup or agave nectar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup chocolate/carob chips or dried fruit (One really good combo is cashew butter with dried pineapple.  Yum!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 to 1/2 tsp salt (omit if using salted nut butter)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 325°.
  • Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  • Scoop cookie dough by TBSP (I actually use a melon ball scooper) onto parchment lined or greased cookie sheet.
  • Bake 10-12 minutes.
  • Let cool for a minute or so, and then I just pick them up and form into balls before placing on the cooling rack.

IMG_7350

 
I was weary of toasting the oats in the toaster oven after The Great Fire.

IMG_7352

 
Thankfully, my mother’s kitchen is still intact. I let the dough chill just as instructed, then enlisted the help of my little step-brother to form the oaties.

IMG_7357

 
He didn’t care for getting his hands dirty. When I told him getting messy is the best part, he replied “No, eating them is the best part.” Touché.

IMG_7362

 
They smelled heavenly (ie maple-y) coming out of the oven. We all wanted to gobble them up right away, but good things come to those who wait.

IMG_7365

I can totally see why these are famous on the interwebs. SO good! The best part though, is the stellar ingredients. I really can’t feel guilty for one of these guys when I know each is made out of few and quality ingredients. HEAB also claims they’re calorie dense, but I got 23 little balls, at 112 calories a pop. It’s all about the small serving sizes. I just dare you to stop at one ;)

 

Well friends, it is much past my bedtime (whatever that is these days). I just finished watching Sherlock Holmes with the fam and would definitely recommend it. That Robert Downey Jr. is just so damn charismatic. Tomorrow is shaping up to be a busy day with a long run, a short hike and who knows what else! See ya then!! xoxo

 

Question of the Day: Is there one special treat you always request on your birthday? Or, a specific treat you really want to request this coming birthday? I’m different every year, and I think this coming birthday I’d really like to go out to an old-school diner for greasy fish n’ chips and a giant slice of chocolate pie ;)

Posted on May 29, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. French toast is my favorite breakfast! As a kid I’d always order it!! I haven’t gotten it in ages because the calories are so high. I splurge once in awhile.

    • Make it at home! Here, I used two and a half pieces of bread for 165 calories, 2 whole eggs for 140 calories, a splash of almond milk for 10 calories and some cinnamon and vanilla extract. Without the syrup, it’s only 315 cals :)

  2. Your nut oaties look fabulous! I always want cake in my birthday – lately vegan cakes!

  3. I truly look forward to your posts! You always outdo yourself! Thank you!

  4. Duuudee Susan, oaties are my absolute favorite. i eat them like i would a cookie, but it’s true, every single ingredient i put in my oatmeal as well. like its the best tasting granola bar i’ve ever had. in cookie shape. and i usually have one, but i’ve been known to go back for one or two more in one sitting. SO good.

    and i love your salad in this post. i swear i think i ruined myself when i spoke up in my first few weeks here at school in my product knowledge class about eating raw kale, and talking about massaged kale. people who are my friends now, but had no idea who i was then STILL give me crap about me talking about massaged kale. oh well, if i’m gonna be known for something, it might as well be my consumption of veg! (massaging veggies might not have been the most appropriate way to introduce myself to the culinary school world though.) hehe.

    back to oaties i think what makes the cookie is the coconut (it adds a certain amount of moistness/texture to the cookie) and the salt. mmm.

    • Yesyes! The salt totally brings them to a whole other level of deliciousness. I love the salty-sweet combo, and even just a pinch in a cookie batch makes them soooo much better :)

  5. dude, i am all about the SF syrup! and i am a dunker, like you :) heather’s oaties are DANGEROUS! i made them for my trip to jamaica and i think i ate half the batch WHILE making them. yum yum. you know, i dont like 3D movies! i prefer the 2D. everyone keeps asking me what dessert i want for my bday next week.. and i am not even sure. all i want is vanilla ice cream! i dont know if 27 candles will fit in there.. it would melt ;) have a great weekend! XO

  6. I always want Ann’s (my boyfriend’s mom) Texas Cake with Mocha Frosting! All home made and always to die for! Your pictures on this post are really really good! I’m working on my pictures, what kind of camera do you use?

    • Thank you! I use a Cannon Rebel xsi. I learned how to use it by watching videos on You Tube! I need to start playing around with it more though, there is just so much you can do with that camera :)

  7. Mhm, lindt chocolate. This summer, when I’ll be in Zurich, I’ll stuff my face every day with Lindt :D
    this year, I wanted a strawberry cake my mom makes, with yummy custard and sweet strawberries and cream, but I didn’t get it :/

  8. I love going to my favorite restaurant, Crazy burger, on my birthday! This year I think I’ll request that, and a big hunk of their vegan key lime pie!!

    xo
    K

  9. I use SF syrup too. The real ones will get me into a sugar high!

    I don’t usually request for anything sweet on my b-day. I’m a huge savory girl. But my b-day is also during a school day, and I don’t tell any of my friends my b-day…so it’s usually pretty quiet with no treats!

  10. Ice cream cake!!!

    I haven’t had oats in 6 weeks until this morning. I had some of the steel cut coaches oats and they really ddin’t do anything for me. I’m diggin the egg white pancakes.

  11. Oh my gosh, so excited to see the HEAB screen shot. I feel famous. :)

    I have no shame in my huge salad bowls either. Come on people – show off those veggies with pride. Agreed Susan!

    So glad you and your family enjoyed the Oaties. I must downsize as last time I figured it up, mine were coming in at about 200 calories each. Yikes.

    Confession: I LOVE Walden Farms splenda sweetened syrup. ZERO calories.

  12. damn salad haters. haha i have a few of those at work but i’m pretty sure they’re just jeal. i own it all the time woo hoo :)

    i am feeling that deadlift into the row! i gotta remember that for the next time i’m gymin it.

    have a good weekend girl :) :)

  13. The funny thing about salads is how all the greens squish down and you really aren’t eating as huge a bowl as it looks.

    I am requesting my grandfather’s special cake for my birthday this year (only made a Christmas time normally). Only I want it in cupcake form.

    I make special request for the whole weekend around my birthday time because I believe it should be a several day event :D

  14. YES to owning your salads. Be proud. I get comments all the time about the sheer volume of some of my meals…took me a while to not be embaressed, but hey. My body, my appetite. They are just jealous of my wicked fiber-happy meals. Um, your brothers comment cracked me up- he knows what’s up! They look so good. I keep meaning to buy maple syrup to make all the things I see- I use sugar free syrup too and it doesn’t fare too well in baking/recipes.

  15. I love birthdays in my family because my mom doesnt cook very much during the week because she works full time and is getting her masters degree, but on birthdays and celebrations we get to request our favorite dishes. My favorites are always grilled chicken, cheesy potatoes, pineapple bread pudding, and one of her amazing salads. Then on birthdays we ALWAYS order a cake from a certain cake shop in town and it is AMAZING… Vanilla Cake with an Almond Flavored Frosting!! YUMMY!! :)

  16. I know what you mean about the oats; I just don’t want them lately. I mainly eat yogurt with fruit and cereal. But I had your protein pancakes this morning, and they were delicious! My favorite dessert… would probably have to be ice cream with all the toppings. :] But if we’re talking baked goods… then peach cobbler! (with ice cream… haha)

  17. lost HAS sucked so many hours of my life, but it was so worth it. even if i still could not explain to you what happened on that show.

  18. The Cheesecake Factory has become our birthday celebration treat. Good stuff!

  19. I always ask for Tiramisu for my birthday! Or hot fudge brownie ala mode!

  1. Pingback: Hometown Runner | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

