Daily Archives: May 8, 2010

Out For Good

Raaawwwwrrr.

It’s been a long day!

Woke up pretty dazed and confused. After much humming and hawing, I eventually stumbled out the door for a run. Was expecting it to be chilly, but it turned into a sunny morning around Moncton’s (man-made) lake!

I’m officially on an unofficial training plan. Now that the weather is getting nicer, I want to rebuild my running base and introduce long runs. Right now that means running twice a week, increasing my mileage by 10% each week. This week is a 7-mile week, and today’s run was a 3-mile run.

Except, 5k’s are my least favourite distance. Ever. I don’t know what it is, but 3-milers are always horrid and I feel like death after. So I instead tried outdoor intervals a la JB. I did:

  • 1 minute walking
  • 1 minute jogging
  • 1 minute sprinting

x11 for a total of 33 minutes. Pheeew-ie! Intervals outdoors are way harder, but also way more fun! I love just running as hard as I can. My heart rate maxed out at 178bpm which is pretty high for me. I was hoping to hit the 180s, but I guess that’s what next time is for ;) Not sure if this was actually 3 miles either, and I’m too lazy to map it out.

Walked in the door a starvin’ marvin.

IMG_6622

Mark, my mother’s boyfriend/partner, cooked up an extra bit of steel-cut oats while I was out tearing up the neighbourhood.

IMG_6619 
I added a scoop of unflavoured whey powder, a palm-ful of quinoa, and a handful of blueberries and raspberries, letting it simmer for a while longer.

IMG_6625 
Topped with almond butter and maple syrup. Oatmeal is quite possibly the best post-run food ever. Seriously.

Shortly after Mark, my dad and I made the 100 mile drive back to my old apartment. We had a minivan and pickup truck to fill up with furniture that will be going to my family’s cottage in Nova Scotia. I also had to scrub down my empty apartment, which is quite possibly my least favourite chore of moving.

We didn’t eat lunch until almost 3pm. Best turkey and hummus Pita Pita pita of my life. I inhaled it. It didn’t stand a chance.

Unloading at my mom’s went smoothly, and I reheated some of her famed chili for dinner.

IMG_6627 
Made with buffalo meat.

IMG_6631 
And a random half orange on the side.

IMG_6633
You know, because scurvy is so prevalent these days ;)

I found four hidden dog bones while emptying my apartment today.

IMG_6635 
But at least Archie has been reunited with his begging companion. Rudy (left) is my next doggie victim. I’m putting him on a walking regimen stat ;)

Well, it’s been a short and sweet post! Tis the weekend, y’all don’t want to be inside reading blogs anyways ;)

I’m MEGA sore from a culmination of running like a maniac today, stiff legged deadlifts on Thursday, and moving the contents of my apartment. So the second I hit publish, I’m sprawling out on the couch with a magazine.

Oh, and my mom and I just picked out our mother’s day gift to my Nana ;)

IMG_6638 
See ya tomorrow and happy Mother’s Day to all my mommy readers out there!!! xoxo

 

Question of the Day: Are you doing anything for Mother’s Day? I think I may offer some free labour to my mom. Buying things is out – one needs a job to buy stuff ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers