Home and Homecooked!!

Happyhappy Friday friends!! It’s an even happier Friday around these parts – I’m at my mom’s!! I’m shacking up here till I move to Toronto at the end of the month. Happy days indeed :)

So! Wonderful feedback on my last post on tips for staying healthy in college. Here are some of the extra tips from the comments:

John
One tip is if you go with room and board you don’t have to eat everything the landlord puts in front of you. In my case she fed me like I was 2 people and soon I weighed that much!

Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
stay outta the cafeteria’s mega huge buffet lines..they scoop eggs and a side of bacon and toast on your breakfast plate that’s 1500 cals and that will set any one up for failiure. basically portion control and smart choices…PLANTS and VeggieSS!!!

peanutbutterfingers 
i know for me it was all about portion control at all-you-can-eat meal plan locations!

Jessica (electropositive)
As a thankfully graduated person, I do want to add one to the list: keep stress down! If you’re like me, stress = eats. Usually bad eats. I always wanted french fries and Coca-Cola when I was having a bad day, and if the day was bad enough I would top it off with going to town on whatever I had in the house when I got home. I would say stress was the #1 cause of my weight gain in college

Angharad
A good tip is to fore-go the late night burger joint and eat something when you get home. It doesn’t have to be carrot sticks, but it also doesn’t have to be half a pizza! You’ll save money as well as calories.

fightingwithfood
I would add finding a few dorm-mates or classmates that share your goals. Get chatting! Odds are, someone in class will want to join up for a gym session after class or lunch at a healthy restaurant. Having someone else around (that you see on a regular basis) will help hold you accountable

Really appreciated these extra tips! I never lived in a dorm, so I luckily didn’t have to rely on a microwave and cafeteria for sustenance.

Instead, I made ginormous bowls of hot cereal ;)

IMG_6605
I finished the cream of wheat! 

IMG_6604
Polished off the box today with some egg whites and dates cooked in. Topped with homemade maple pecan peanut butter.

IMG_6602
I must say, I`m now a cream of wheat convert. It’s fabulously creamy and the extra iron isn’t bad ;)

Spotted: poodle hiding treats in couch.

IMG_6607
I give Archie a treat after our walk everyday. Pretty sure I’ve found every single one hidden somewhere packing up. The most impressive one was found in the back of my closed sock drawer. How did he do that??

Spent the morning packing my car to the brim.

IMG_6611
Said goodbye to my favourite view…

IMG_6612
Then hit the road!

Arrived home to a loving household and dinner in the oven :)

IMG_6613
Mom made one of my favourites – roast chicken.

IMG_6616
Which I covered in homemade cranberry sauce post-picture.

IMG_6617
Oven fries. Smothered in ketchup (of course).

 IMG_6618

And the mandatory greens. Perfect meal! Thanks mommy! I’ll have to contribute to the meals while I’m here. My mom has an excellent kitchen for cooking in.

Now I’m cuddled up with the pooch, watching CBC with the fam (although technically the Fifth Estate just began. We know how to rock it on a Friday night!)

IMGP0789 

Archie won’t leave my side now that we’re home. My mom is jealous – muhahaha. Still have him on his new exercise regimen. Took him for a nice walk after dinner :)

Well that’s all from me tonight! Tomorrow, I’m heading back to my apartment with a convoy to pick up the bigger items. Then I’m officially out of the place. On to my new adventure!

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite homecooked meal? The roast chicken is one of my newer favourites since I was a vegetarian for so long. But my mom’s chili and lasagna is always in high demand!!

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Nothing like home cooking! Aren’t mom’s the best, no matter what they make? My mom’s homemade mac and cheese with tomato soup on the side is my favorite meal.

  2. I love the pic of Archie hiding the treats- my mom’s yorkie used to hide some of her kibble in the same spot. Pets are funny :D Enjoy the time with your mom!

  3. I love Cream of Wheat–it’s my favorite breakfast! My favorite homecooked meal are the turkey burgers we make. They are delicious!

  4. I love when my dad makes spaghetti or when my husband’s mom makes homemade yeast rolls and mashed potatoes. Never mind that she uses a whole stick of butter in the potatoes. They are so tasty!

  5. Too funny about Archie hiding the treats, my dog eats them immediately! I love my moms Chinese stirfries…she makes them better than anyone else!

  6. I can’t believe you fit all your stuff in your car! That is amazing :D

    Favorite home cooked meal… hmmmm. Probably mac and cheese (Alton Brown version).

  7. You never lived in a dorm?? Lucky you. It was dirty + loud + claustrophobic

    All of my meals are home-cooked! lol So I’d have to go with roasted veggies of some sort with a veggie burger

  8. mmm roast chicken is ALWASY good.

    I know this sounds weird, but my mom makes some mean egg rolls–so good. I always want those when I get to her house.

  9. my mom’s pasta sauce…always yummy never duplicated! :)
    I LOVED living in Toronto! Now I’m in the Seattle area and tell everyone: Seattle can’t be called a big city. It’s public transportation sucks! Of course, that always leads to stories about Toronto! :)
    Hope you found a nice place, that part I so do not miss!

  10. My parents cats always hide rubber bands in the couch cushions and do somersaults while they try to pull them back out! It’s pretty much the cutest thing ever

  11. that is so cute that archie is all sorts of attached to you now! love it! glad you made the journey in one piece :) and the roast chicken looks awesome. oh man, favorite home cooked meal? that is HARD! i suppose my mom’s stew and scones is a favorite. but there are several others. have a great weekend! MWAH

  12. thanks for the mention! And yes, I cannot believe you never lived in the dorms! I only was in it for 1 semester and it was the longest 4.5 mos of my life!

    Have a great weekend, Susan! And enjoy HOME!

  13. Favourite meal would probably be…either my Mom’s homemade macaroni and cheese or her stew. :)

  14. My mom’s broccoli bake is my fave! So great!!

    xo
    K

  15. My favorite homecooked meal is simply pasta and meatballs! I also loved baked ziti, okay anything with pasta made by my mom haha. Have a great weekend!

  16. welcome home! Love the photo of you and Archie :D

    My favourite homecooked meals are the same- roast chicken and my mom’s famour veggie lasagne. Also her a.m.a.z.i.n.g. brisket when I ate red meat. There’s just something special about mom’s cooking!

  17. Mmmm, chicken parmesan in the style of my mum, of course. She makes the BEST spaghetti sauce to go on it.
    Ugh, I’m up in a dorm right now surviving on microwave-generated meals … I CAN’T WAIT until the next few days are over and I’m back home with a kitchen!

  18. Anything my mum makes she is the best cook ever! Her cakes are just amazing, I am off to stay with her at the end of the month and I’m so excited Ireland here I come! x x

  19. So Archie’s moving to TO now? :-) Funny how he locked on to you in just 3 weeks. My mom’s best meals are lasagna and swedish meat balls. Never found either anywhere else that come close.

  20. My moms spaghetti! It’s not fancy, but it’s my all time favorite!

  1. Pingback: On this day… | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

