Daily Archives: May 1, 2010

Off and Running – New Goals!

Hap-p-p-y weekend people!! Or, if you’re like me, happy funemployment ;)

Today was quite possibly the best way to kick off the month of May. It was gorgeous!

IMG_6257

Was up at 6:30am with the sun streaming through the blinds. Wonder how many days of unemployment it will take until I’m no longer up at this time?

IMG_6261

I must say, I’ve done a spectacular job at cleaning out my freezer. This morning, I had a couple Nature’s Path Pomegranate waffles with fried eggs on top. Yolks on the verge…

IMG_6266

I’ve been asked how I fry my eggs without breaking the yolk (I always flip, never sunny-side up). My trick is that I grease the pan. Today I used butter. It was glorious.

IMG_6259

Avec some yogurt and Grape Nuts. This will be my last serving of yogurt for a while. I’ll explain why below!

After digestion, coffee and some extra munchables, I was off and running!

IMG_6280

It was 13 C by the time I made it out the door, and heating up quickly. I did something I haven’t done on a run in a while – I bared my shoulders!

Also wore sunscreen. Very important!!

IMG_6294

And don’t forget the little hole on the back of your Lululemon top. Or else you will end up with a random red dot on your back until November.

Or, so I hear.

With the warm-up and cool-down I was out there for about an hour. 5-ish miles? I haven’t run in almost two weeks because I hurt my foot walking last weekend. I wanted to give it more than enough time to heal before attempting to run, and it actually took days for the pain to go away! No pain running today. In fact, besides a head wind on the way back, it was near perfect.

IMG_6295

Seconds after a run. Don’t you ever say I only post pretty pictures of myself on here ;)

Although, I’m not sure if I could post a picture of myself first thing in the morning like Lori did. My hair takes on a life of it’s own in the twilight hours.

Post-run meal was a giant bowl of goodness.

IMG_6301

Stir-fry with chicken, tofu, bulgur and frozen veggies.

IMG_6304

What made it really out-of-this-world though was the addition of hummus, olives and feta. Stir-fries aren’t just for soy sauce.

IMG_6307

It was amazing. Plus, I used up a fraction of the grains in my cupboard!

Even though I had my morning run out of the way, I still owed the pooch an afternoon walk. It was getting even warmer, so a stroll in the sunshine sounded nice :)

We stumbled upon this spooky looking path, and my curiosity got the best of me.

IMG_6312

I mean, I was protected by a poodle, right?

IMG_6315

The river was high today and wrapped around a bunch of gnarly trees. Verrry spoooky.

And then we found a graveyard!!

IMG_6321

Random. I had no idea this trail existed, or that it had a graveyard.

IMG_6326

Archie was completely thrilled by the adventure. Pretty sure our long walks are the highlight of his day.

IMG_6330

Remember when I was complaining about the bare trees? Well it’s starting to get green!!

IMG_6332

IMG_6311

Hurrah! Summer is on the way!

Poor Archie didn’t quite make it home though. He started struggling on the last hill. I looked down at him and said “C’mon Archie! Dig deep!” But he started limping, so I was left carrying at 14 lb furball in my arms up the rest of the steep hill.

IMG_6335

He came home and wiped out at the bottom of the stairs in between all my shoes. I thought I’d finally done him in. I went out, worried about him the whole time, and came back to the usual enthusiastic tail wag and energy. We need to work on his stamina, but his recovery is pretty good!

Last but certainly not least, it’s time I mark the first of the month with a new set of goals. Let it be known that I am stealing the “themed goals” idea from Janetha ;)

Fitness
Strength train three times a week, with a focus in muscular power.
Run twice a week, increasing my mileage by 10% each week

Food
Stop buying dairy, eating it only when out or when it’s “a must”
Stay away from refined sugars, again eating only for special occasions

Blog
Add and organize content, new recipes, workouts, and revised pages and categories

Life
Improve my organization. Make lists, finish them, know what needs to be done, when.
Spend time with my family
Enjoy and soak up every single minute.

There is so much more I’d like to do, but I think it’s really important not to overwhelm myself this month! I’m hoping to be moved out of my apartment by next weekend, then live at my mom’s until I move to Toronto at the very end of the month. It’s going to be a weird transitional period for me. But it also has the potential to be a fabulous month ;)

As for my nutrition goals, I have been inspired by Sammie, who is doing an 8-week Operation Bootyfication as a fun way to help prep for her upcoming fitness competition. I am not fully participating, but I have been looking for an excuse to eliminate refined sugar and dairy from my diet for a loooong time, and it was the perfect little kick that I needed ;)

The reason why I want to try this out is because I want to see how it makes me feel. Everyone reacts to certain foods differently, and I have a sneaking suspicion that these two are dragging me down. Especially things like yogurt and cottage cheese, which I eat a lot of.

Okay, and marshmallow fluff too ;)

I still have some of this stuff on hand, so I’ll still be snacking my way through cheese strings. But the amount will be significantly decreasing, so it’s a move in the right direction. Of course, I’ll keep you updated on the results! (Fatty February by the way, is still in full swing!)

If you’re looking for another kick in the butt this month, Janetha is doing a Wakeup Call Challenge that you should check out! I’m a huuuuge advocate of early morning workouts, and it will be a fun way to give them a try :)

And with that, I’m (finally) done! Hope you all enjoyed your Saturday and have a fabulous Sunday!!

Question of the Day: What are your goals for May? You best be making some! ;)

Edited to add: I am such a space cadet. I forgot to mention that I changed my blog layout!! If you’re subscriber, I encourage you to click out and take a looksie. Let me know if there’s anything I can do to make the site more “readable” :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers