Daily Archives: April 29, 2010

The Last Lunch

My mother texted me today to tell me she will be back from Florida on Sunday and that she misses me.

IMG_6229 
I sent a message back, saying I missed her too, but she’s not getting her dog back.

Actually, after tomorrow I start the process of getting rid of my belongings and bringing what’s left to my mom’s place about 90 minutes from here. I’d like to spend as much of May there as possible before I move to Toronto June 1st. So she’s lucky. She’ll get her dog back after all ;)

Ce matin, j’ai mangé le petit déjeuner dans une jarre de beurre de cajoux.

IMG_6196

Wait. That doesn’t sound right.

IMG_6197

There we go :)

IMG_6201 
Cream of wheat + egg whites + maple syrup + raisins + cinnamon + cashew butter. Getting through the many jars of nut butter in my fridge. I may be eating cream of wheat for a while though!!

Even though tomorrow is my last day at work, we all went out for a celebratory lunch today because my boss is out of town tomorrow.

My boss gave me full reign over the location. He told me this two weeks ago, and it took me two weeks to decide. This was serious business people!! I wanted to choose a spot that was relatively healthy, inexpensive (since he was paying) but had regular food everyone would enjoy.

Then I realized the one thing everyone loves is breakfast. Who doesn’t love breakfast at any time of day? So the group of us went to a local-ish place called Chez Cora that specializes in brunch-like fare.

Recycled photos. There is a time and place to take pictures of your food. This was neither.

IMG_3165

But this is my favourite dish there, so I already have photos on hand! Piece of toast with a perfectly poached egg (someday I will do that!). And cottage cheese dumped on top of the fruit (minus the kiwi today, since I am now off it).

Afterwards, my boss took us to a place called Johnnie Java. A counter and espresso machine tucked in the back of a specialized import store. They roast their own beans there and supposedly have the best coffee in town. I got an espresso macchiato, and it was pretty darn good! Went down smoooooth. They also sell green beans there, so it’s my goal to try roasting my own (using Lori’s popcorn method) before I get rid of my popcorn maker. So, like, this weekend :)

The rest of my afternoon was spent sobbing over leaving my job.

Joking.

Kind of ;)

Lunch was light, and even with my afternoon snack I was still starving for dinner! Threw together what is quickly becoming a staple around here.

IMG_6212
Giant junk salad

IMG_6217 
There are many reasons why I keep resorting to these. Besides being super quick and healthy, it’s also HUGE and takes a while to devour eat.

IMG_6218 
Highlights included pickled beets, chicken, cottage cheese, feta and olives. Only dressing was fresh lemon juice. Amazing.

And…um…in case you’re wondering, I am still eating protein powder batter every night.

IMG_6226

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 1/2 scoops chocolate protein powder, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, water. With sprinkles and chocolate chips. Tastes like chocolate icing. It makes me happy.

My eats are going to be repetitive, boring and random over the next little bit. Instead of apologizing, I’ll instead reassure you that they will get exciting again soon. I already have a dessert list of things to feed my step-siblings in Moncton, then a list of fun things to make in Toronto. One of my new roomies (hi Megan!) is a fellow foodie, so I suspect we’ll be having tons of fun in the kitchen :)

And with that, I’m going to wrap up this post with a little April Goals wrap-up.

Continue the spirit of the sleep challenge, aiming to get 7-8 hours of sleep a night. I got around 7-7.5 every night, which is all I can ask for. My body functions best on 7.5 now. Anything over that is just a distant memory…

Get rid of as many of my belongings as possible. Totally didn’t do this. But this is what I’m dedicating all next week to.

Get my bike on the road. Pffft!! It was SO cold ALL month. Any other Maritimers out there agree that we had sucky weather this month? Cold, cloudy or rainy most of the time :(

Pass my personal training exam. Check!! I passed my written exam :) My practical is next Wednesday. Eep!

Chill the eff out. No stress here. Now that I’m funemployed, I have nothing but time to focus on all my obligations. We will just ignore the fact that I no longer have a steady paycheck coming in….mmmkay?

Hope you all have a great Friday!! Mine will be spent working my last day at the university, hopefully eating lunch with the old man, attempting another evening workout, then coming back here for Flashback Friday! See ya then!!

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite restaurant and what’s your favourite dish to get there? My favourite restaurant is Calactus, a vegetarian/vegan restaurant in Moncton, featured here, here, here, and here. But my favourite dish there is the Big Marc Burger, blogged about here. Hands down, the best veggie burger ever!!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers