Odds, Bits, Ends and Bites

Ohwow, there is some good venting happening over on my last post. So happy I opened up the floor to let you guys get some of your marketing pet peeves off your chest! Elizabeth mentioned food companies telling women they can “indulge” without the “guilt.” Ohyes, that makes my blood boil! We should never-ever feel guilty about the food we eat. We eat it, and move on!

Speaking of which, I’m moving on ;) Har har.

IMG_6120

I “slept in” this morning because I had plans on going to spin class after work.

IMG_6125

But I still had to work hard this morning at clearing out the four kinds of hot cereal in my cupboard.

IMG_6126

Today’s poison was cream of wheat cooked with 1/2 cup egg whites and topped with PB&J. That’s only 1/3 cup of the dry stuff. It cooks up HUGE. Me likey.

Then I put my new $20 outfit on! I hate getting dressed in the morning, but today it was fun :) I wore pink!!

IMG_6133 IMG_6135

Having spent most of my working life in coffee shops, I’ve always complained about not being able to dress up for work. Well now I have to, and I can’t stand it! Sometimes I manage to sneak yoga pants in, or today’s comfy/casual new shirt :)

IMG_6138

Dressed it up with the new $2.99 necklace. All my necklaces are big and chunky, needed something a little more simple and classic. The pants are a little big around the hips, but hey, they were $12 ;)

Today I attempted to do the impossible – exercise after work. People are always so impressed that I get up at 5am to workout. But honestly, I am more impressed by people who can put in a full work day then drag themselves to the gym. All before dinner!! For me, with each minute that passes, there is another reason for me not to work out. So jumping out of bed and doing it first thing gives me absolutely no opportunity to put it off.

I was worried about this. I knew my chance of success was low. As per usual, I shared my concerns on Twitter.

image

This worked pretty well. I didn’t want to have to tell them tomorrow that I didn’t go.

image

This is usually a pretty good technique for me. I feel like I need to follow through with a workout after that sugary snack.

IMG_6147

I raced home to let the dog out and got into my spin outfit asap. Once I’m in my workout clothes, the chances of me getting there are pretty high. Especially when I’m wearing cycling shorts, as the padding is really awkward to hang out in.

And I made it!! Albeit, my glutes are furious with me right now, but they’ll just have to deal ;) It was a regular spin class, not one of the Les Mills RPM ones, so it was nice to change it up that way. Lots of sitting sprints to some decent music.

Of course, I was ravenous when I walked in the door. Don’t ask me why, but in my hungry state I thought it would be a good idea to cook every vegetable in my fridge.

IMG_6150 IMG_6152

The left side is roasted broccoli, butternut squash, sweet potato and brussels sprouts in garam masala spice.

 IMG_6157

The right side is sauteed onions, mushrooms, zucchini and tofu in butter, garlic, salt and pepper. Topped with a healthy dose of parmesan cheese.

IMG_6158

So. Many. Vegetables. I will have leftovers for days :)

Finally, after many taste tests, I’ve decided to share the recipe for my newest homemade protein bar.

IMG_6142

Homemade Apple Oatbran Protein Bars

  • 2 cups oatbran (I like Quaker best)
  • 1 cup unflavoured soy protein powder
  • 4 packets stevia
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 4 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 packaged cups of applesauce (I think they’re 1/3 cup each)
  • 1/4 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup raisins

Mix all the ingredients, minus the water, together. Add water only as needed (it takes a while for the protein powder to dissolve, so mix it for a while first). Flatten in a 9×9 pan and bake at 350F for 15 minutes.

image

The texture of these bars is just what I’ve been going for! Dense and crumbly. I thank the soy protein powder for that. However, they’re still a touch on the bland side. Likely because the protein powder is unflavoured and oatbran is well, bland. But definitely a step in the right direction!

Now if you don’t mind, I have to do my taxes. I have put them off to the last possible minute. Whoops.

 

Question of the Day: When do you work out? When would you prefer to work out? My energy is highest mid-morning after a hearty breakfast and mug of coffee. Even when I’m not working out – it’s when I’m most productive.

Posted on April 27, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. oh my goodness girl-amazing BARS!! yumm!!!
    i def like to workout FIRST THING in the am!! i def am productive towards to beginning of the day tooo!

  2. I love your huge bowl of veggie deliciousness! :)

    I workout most often after work, but on mornings after a good night’s sleep I love to get up and get it over with. I also love to have some time to myself before rushing off to work.

  3. that’s a log of veg girl, love it.

    and yes, that is some serious hot cereal! it does cook up huge! does it fill your tummy up good im guessing??

    I like to work out at night–just feels better to me. although, morning WORKS better if that makes sense? if only work could start at like 10 am!

  4. Those bars look good! I have some strawberry soy powder, wonder how that would be??

    Those veggies – I see pureeing them with some broth and having roasted veggie soup. I don’t know if you have our cold and nasty weather, but soup would hit the spot about now.

    I exercise in the morning. I never used to, but now I love doing it and having it finished for the day.

  5. I work out after work, and have no problem getting there most days. I keep telling myself I’ll switch to mornings, but I’m barely coordinated enough to bathe in the morning, let alone lift weights.
    Maybe some day I’ll get ballsy and try it.
    I think I’d PREFER to work out over my lunchbreak — even if it was only 1/2 my workout and finish after work. But we only get 1/2 hour for lunch…even with the gym 3 blocks away, that’s too tight of a crunch to do anything.
    Can’t wait to try the bars…they look delish!

  6. Your outfit is adorable! You look great in pink!

    I prefer to workout JUST before lunch, which is usually when I try to do it if I can. I love being able to come back and eat :)

  7. I prefer to work out in the morning…IF it’s the weekend. I just don’t want to get up at 5. That’s too early. I actually don’t have a motivation problem after work, so that’s usually when I go.

    What is the RPM music like? I went to a BTS class called Group Ride (supposedly very similar to RPM), and I couldn’t take the cheesy pop made into techno beats.

    • It’s usually remixed stuff, but nothing too irritating or poppy (not like, Britney Spears). Nothing I’d put on my iPod on my own but well suited for what we’re doing, so it’s motivating. The hill climbs are usually rock tunes ;)

  8. I did the same thing today…I Tweeted about not wanting to do my run, so then it was like, I have to. I’m sort of the same way you are…I seriously HATE getting up early to work out, but I think I hate going after work even more. I do both, but I prefer it when I’m in an AM routine. That’s why my favorite time to work out is on the weekend when I can take my time getting up, eating breakfast, and then working out as long as I want without worrying about eating dinner super late or getting to work on time (ha!).

  9. You look great! I work out anywhere from morning at 7am to after work at 7pm. I’ll probably never get up mat 5 am to workout. Think I’d rather work out at 11pm then do that. But you got to do what works right?!

  10. So. Many. Veggies. I hate that I can’t dress up because even being able to wear yoga pants gets old after awhile… I have to work out around 6am otherwise it isn’t going to happen. I’d definitely prefer to go around 10am, but that’s when I have to be at work!

  11. I also used to have having to wear a uniform for college beauty class, but now i work in a shop and can wear whatever i want, i’m stuck at what to wear and want a uniform back! haha crazy! :) I really must get round to making some protein bars, but i only have whey protein powder!

  12. Thank you so much for sharing that protein bar recipe! I’m definitely going to be trying those out this weekend.

    As for when I prefer to work out, I’m definitely better off when I work out mid-morning. I work split-shifts at work, so that leaves me the perfect opportunity to hit the gym when it’s the least crowded. It also happens to be when my energy is at its peak, so double win!

  13. Cute outfit!! :)
    I prefer to work out first thing in the morning, actually! I find if I hold it off, it gets harder and harder to motivate myself throughout the day. ;)

  14. I am also most productive mid-morning after a good sized breakfast… but I usually don’t work out then! I like to start the day with a workout, or in the late afternoon after I have had time to relax/digest food after school. But if I’m going to school AND working? No go, I never have any energy!

    xo
    K

  15. Yep, definitely perfer working out in the morning. Like 9am or 10am. :)
    That breakfast looks awesome btw, I’ve never had cream of wheat :x And the bars, yum :)

  16. I’m de-lurking because those protein bars look absolutely perfect to me… I am so going to try that. :)

    Total morning workout person — all I want to do after work is get home ASAP!

    <3 <3

  17. I’m an evening workout person. I like to eat dinner and then workout about an hour and half later. Then I have a shower, then a snack and go to bed. Sometimes I take classes at the gym at 6:30 pm, this means dealing dinner til 8 at which time I’m a grumpy beast! :) If I could I would do morning workouts but I am queen of the snooze button. I have been known to literally get out of bed 15 minutes before I’m supposed to be at work. I’m working on that though!

  18. That color pink looks fabulous on you!
    Sometimes a plate of veggies just sounds wondeful. Couldn’t agree more.
    I’m def a morning exerciser. Love how it makes me feel the rest of the day!

  19. Umm that mound of veg looks incredible!

    Weekend runs are my favourite thing in the world, because I get to do them exactly when I want to – mid morning! Or at least, about 1.5 to two hours after I have breakfast!

    I love waking up, having tea/coffee and a biiiiig bowl of oatmeal, letting the whole lot digest lazily and THEN going outside. So much better than when I’m tired after work or first thing in the a.m.

  20. Yay, I am glad I am not the only one that has a problem with this! DOWN WITH FOOD GUILT BOOOO
    Also, I personally have to get my exercise done in the morning; when I first get out of bed, I can trick my brain into going along with the idea because it’s not fully coherent yet, but the longer I wait the more my mind goes, “Nooo I am awake and want to do other things NOOOO EXERCISE IS BORING I NEED STIMULI BLERGHHHH”

    • Yup, I’m totally a zombie when I get up in the morning. I don’t think I really realize what I’m getting myself into until I get to the bright, air-conditioned gym and am just like “oh crap” :P

  21. I feel exactly the same way about morning workouts that you do. Every time I sleep in and tell myself – I’ll run tonight, I NEVER do. I have all day to think of a reason to get out of it – something always comes up, I never feel like it, I’m tired/hungry, it’s raining, etc. Plus by the time I get home, eat dinner and clean up, it’s around 8pm and I still have to make/pack the next day’s eats and plan the next days workout – and my bedtime is 10 – though it would be later if I wasn’t waking up at 5am to workout :)

  22. I am exactly the same way. I do like to work out in the morning, but whenever I miss it, I tell myself I will do it later and then never do! I haven’t had cream of wheat in forever! It reminds me of my childhood though.

  23. That dinner looks amazing. Tuesdays seem to be the day that I decide to cook every possible vegetable I can find…best night of the week (why don’t I do it more often?!) Those protein bars look great- I think I am going to cave and buy some soy powder. The results with baking are so much better than whey.

    I am seriously impressed by people that can workout after a day of work. I go to the gym first thing and think it energises me for the day- I doubt I would have the same motivation/stamina after a long day working. Though having a sweat session to let off steam is appealing…hmmm…I should try it sometime.

  24. you look ADORABLE! i love that color!

    and yes for mountains of veggies! after the past couple days, that is EXACTLY what i need in my life! and i always work out after work. ideally, i would love to work out at 11am everyday, but thats not possible. for some reason, my body hates working out in the morning, and i never get a *great* workout in. plus, i like me some lazy breakfasts.

    happy day susan!

  25. New outfits are the best! Love the pink top!

  26. I think you look beautiful in that outfit!!

    I am an early workout person. If I don’t get it done before the day begins it often doesn’t get done!

  27. I am trying working out in the morning so I know I have it done already and the gym isn’t too crowded, but if I had 50 hours in a day I would much rather work out after work.

  28. good for you on the post-work workout! i am a laze around AM girl, and cannot seem to get my butt in gear for morning workouts. after work or not at all for me! also, i tend to go to bed fairly late and know what would happen if i got home at six PM. eat. eat and eat! at least when i have dinner at 8, i can space out the rest of the night much better :)

  29. I workout all sorts of times of the day but I like it best in the morning. That looks like a uber fantastic breaky! x x

  30. Awww – loved this new outfit, Susan!
    You look great :)
    Delicious veggies… YAY!
    Have a great night!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  31. I do both. Working out in the a.m. and p.m. I can understand where people are coming from on both ends as I feel totally wide awake on a Monday morning after my a.m. workout. Then the rest of the week I work out immediately after work – which is conveniently in the same building as I work all day long. So walking past the gym without going in doesn’t exactly make me feel guilty per-say, it just motivates me, you know? I don’t know what I prefer. I hate going to bed so early to awake up for an a.m. workout (and it’s difficult to wake up some mornings as I’m NOT a morning person!), but at the same time – some days I really just want to go home and relax instead of going to the gym.

  32. That protein bar does look like it has great texture! My homemade bars tend to be on the crumbly side, looking forward to your future recipe revisions!

  33. i love how much 1/3 cup oats/bran cooks up too! so voluminous! good job on getting to the spin class. i am one of those after work worker outers and i SO wish i could get up at 5 AM for a workout! i am going to work on that because i need to change things up with my body and i read that changing your workout time can help.

    the bars look awesome. and bland is OK in my book because you can always add the bar to yogurt or smear some PB on it :)

    F taxes!!

  34. Yeah I much prefer working out in the morning but I can’t here because everyday I start in the kitchen at 6:30, and the gym doesn’t open until 7. But I don’t mind working out at night usually like 6, or 8, but its the afternoon that kills me. I hateeee going in the middle of the day.

    Great looking protein bars Susan!

  1. Pingback: The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

