Daily Archives: April 26, 2010

Muscle Monday

Awesome feedback on my Confessions post! Y’all made me feel a lot more normal for many of my confessions :) I am now offering free personal training services to someone who can hang up my clothes and do my dishes. Takers? No?

As I confessed yesterday, I’m growing weary of these early morning workouts. Today may have been the last one. Gonna try out the after-work-workout thing tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Here’s what my full-body workout looked like today:

Warm-up: 20 minutes on the elliptical

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Muscle
Front squat push press 40 lbs 8-12 3 Legs, shoulders
Superset:        
Wide-grip lat pulldown  50 lbs 8-12 3 Back
Bulgarian split squat  15 lbs 8-12 3 Quads, glutes, inner thighs, calves
Superset:        
Barbell bench press  50 lbs 8-12 3 Chest
Good morning  50 lbs 8-12 3 Hamstrings, glutes, lower back
Superset:        
Dumbbell shoulder press  15 lbs ea 8-12 3 Shoulder
Reverse lunge with forward reach  10 lbs ea 8-12 3 Quads, calves, back
Superset:        
Barbell bicep curl  25 lbs 8-12 3 Biceps
Skull crusher  25 lbs 8-12 3 Triceps
Plie squat  20 lbs 8-12 3 Quads, glutes, inner thighs

Finished off with a set each of roll-up, reverse crunch, side knee drops, bicycle crunches.

Good times :) I could have spent all morning playing around in the weight area if time allowed.

Today was my last Monday at my job. Boo :(

IMG_6088

Been coming home at lunch to let the pup out. But also to secretly watch The View.

IMG_6091 
It also allows me to assemble salads of epic proportions.

IMG_6084 
Salad highlights include pickled beets, pickles, basil feta and chicken breast cooked and seasoned to perfection. The best part of course was the salad dressing: hummus + pickle juice. Seriously, pickle juice makes the best dressing.

I baked five chicken breasts last night in preparation for the week. SO easy. Threw them on a pan, watched TV for a while, then took them out, chopped them up, and tossed in the freezer. Badabing. No sketchy sodium in my chicken breasts thankyouverymuch.

IMG_6094
Of course, it also equals an excess of chicken consumption when I’m cramped for time. Consider this lunch, pitafied.

Where I rushed off to after supper is top secret.

IMG_6099 
But it may have involved a cute girl with a camera ;)

IMG_6100Hi Melanie!!!!

After that business I went to the mall. This is bolded because I haven’t been shopping since I bought Lululemon pants in February. And before then, since Christmas. I actually went there to get tax stuff, but the sales lured me in. Picked up a new pair of pants, long-sleeved shirt and pretty necklace ALL for $20. Score. I’ll take a picture when I wear them all to work tomorrow :) I’m getting rid of all my “chubby” and raggedy clothing. Unfortunately, this doesn’t leave much left behind.

Then I came back home and amped up.

IMG_6101
With a Muscle Brownieeeeeee. 

Raaaaawwrrrrr.

IMG_6104 

IMG_6103 IMG_6108

I’ve been living alone for too long.

IMG_6110
You can read the long ingredient list in further detail here

IMG_6112

Waaaiit a second. The front of the package says 20g protein, and this says 10g protein. WAIT a second!! Gah!! Foiled. There is two servings in a package. This is a GIANT pet peeve of mine. I thought I was getting a huge beefcake brownie for 170 calories. Apparently, it has the caloric density of a beefcake too.

IMG_6115 
At least I don’t feel so gypped for paying $3 for this anymore, since I am getting two servings out of it.

IMG_6118 
I ate the piece on top, and… um… it was delicious. The texture was spot on. Kinda fudgy, not the least bit dry or tasteless.

And I think I feel my biceps tingling ;)

Well that’s all from me! Archie just rose from the dead and is looking at me with those puppy dog eyes. Unfortunately we can’t walk. I injured myself walking this weekend. Ugh. Don’t even get me started…

Hope everyone had a great Monday!

IMG_6092 Hugs and kisses ;)

 

Question of the Day: What are some of your biggest marketing pet peeves? I have many! Currently my biggest one is this commercial where a pretty woman is running in a little tank-top and no bra. Any woman out there knows running without support it impossible, and painful. Jeez. :P

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers