Favourite Food Pairings

Well, we are at the hump. A little more frightening than usual, because I only have 8 days of work left! Jeez louise. I’m trying really hard to finish up all my ongoing projects so I don’t leave a bunch of half-finished stuff for the girl coming back to the position (I was filling in for her as a communications officer for 4 months). So much to do! I’m also kinda bummed I won’t get to be involved in some of the fun future projects. There’s never a shortage of things to do at the university!

So as I alluded to in my last post, I decided to try out a different gym this morning. I’m quite lucky here as my gym membership allows me access to four different locations in town, and on top of that, I can use the facilities at the university I work at.

I am very attached to my campus gym. It was inside those walls that I fell in love with exercise during my undergrad. It’s a little bare-bones, but full of memories nonetheless. I got there right when they opened at 6:30am, and immediately noticed some of the same regulars from when I was a student!!

Went in planning on doing an upper-body workout, but felt like doing some squats (what??) once I got there. Here’s how it went down:

Warm-up on treadmill:

Minutes Speed – MPH Incline
0-3 3.5 0
3-4 5.5 0
4-5 6.0 0
5-6 6.5 0
6-7 7.0 0
7-8 5.5 1
8-9 6.0 1
9-10 6.5 1
10-11 7.0 1
11-12 5.5 2
12-13 6.0 2
13-14 6.5 2
14-15 7.0 2
15-16 5.5 3
16-17 6.0 3
17-18 6.5 3
18-19 7.0 3
19-20 3.5 0

I pretty much made up the weightlifting as I went along. I started with a compound move that works my whole body, opting for a lighter weight to warm-up my muscles a little more. Then I did alternating sets between lower-body and upper-body moves. The justification behind this was to get my heart rate up working my legs, because it goes down during the arm moves. Here we go!

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Area
One arm dumbbell snatch  20 lbs 10 3 Legs, Shoulders
Alternating Sets:        
Step-up  40 lbs 10 3 Quads, Glutes, Hamstrings, Calves
Barbell bench press  45 lbs 10 3 Chest
Alternating Sets:        
Stiff leg deadlift 50 lbs 10 3 Hamstrings, Glutes, Lower back
Wide-grip lat pulldown  50 lbs 10 3 Back
Alternating Sets:        
Sumo squat 55 lbs 10 3 Quads, Glutes
Dumbbell shoulder press  15 lbs (ea) 10 3 Shoulders
Alternating Sets:        
Cable bicep curl  25 lbs 10 3 Biceps
Cable pushdown  25 lbs 10 3 Triceps

I finished of with one set each of plank, roll-up, side knee drops, bicycle crunches.

Awesome, awesome workout! When I was thinking about going to the gym to lift weights last night, I was feeling really uninspired (and lazy) about it. But then I had the idea to go to a different gym. The thought of something new immediately energized me and I was looking forward to this. Sometimes a change of scenery is all it takes!

I don’t have a picture of breakfast, but it made me realize kiwi needs to be added to my banned foods list along with pineapple. I had some with yogurt this morning, and abdominal distress immediately followed. Something that happens often with kiwis. While my reaction isn’t as bad as pineapple, I don’t believe kiwi is tasty enough to endure a couple hours pain. Also, it makes my mouth feel kinda itchy??

Moving on! Here’s a picture:

IMG_5915
Leftovers. Salmon and quinoa to be exact. 

Paired with one of the best pairings there is.

IMG_5908

Carrots + salsa. Better than carrots and hummus, or carrots and almond butter.

Afternoon snack was another killer combo!

IMG_5916 
Orange + almond butter. Spread a little AB on each slice. Y-u-m.

Dinner!

IMG_5919 
A monstrous omelet. Rawr.

IMG_5925
Stuffed with turkey, hummus, feta, olives, spinach, tomatoes, among other things. Hummus + eggs = another winning combo!

After dinner, I finally took my antsy poodle for a walk. The skies cleared up and it was even warm!

IMG_5928

Archie is actually really good at walking right beside me. Sometimes he gets hold of a “scent” so I humour him while I pees for the 105th time.

IMG_5930 
“Scent” in quotation marks, because I don’t think he has much of a sense of smell. Of course, this coming from a girl who grew up with a basset hound.

IMG_5931

Heyyy, what’s up.

I think it’s time the trees start growing leaves already…

 

IMG_5932

Getting impatient for summer to arrive!

We were out for about an hour, and both crashed when we came home (after a few downward dogs, of course). My legs are beat after these past few days of exercise.

Now I’m just nibbling on some more no-bake protein cookies.

IMG_5940

Made with an extra tbsp of protein powder tonight, but otherwise the same. I sense a new snack obsession!!

I’ve also got a new batch of homemade protein bars setting in the fridge – chocolate banana peanut butter! Will share tomorrow :)

 

Question of the Day: What are your favourite food pairings? I really want to know! This is something I think about a lot. Some of my faves are:

  • dates + cashew butter
  • butternut squash + peanut butter
  • salmon + maple
  • chickpeas + cumin
  • tofu + eggs
  • turkey + hummus

Oh, and you’re not allowed to say banana and peanut butter, chocolate and peanut butter or PB&J! Haha.

See ya tomorrow for Waffle Wednesday! xoxo

Posted on April 20, 2010, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 47 Comments.

  1. Carrots and salsa! Brilliant! I can’t believe I never thought of that. I am going to the grocer now to buy some!

    Thank you thank you thank you! :)

  2. My favorite was Pace picante sauce mixed with shredded cheddar and monterey jack cheese. With this I needed salty bite size doritos corn chips. Not much would be left over. Any wonder I need to lose weight :-)

    Now my favourite would be apples+sardines and peanuts+dried apricots. I can be weird :-)

  3. I was about to say peanut butter and chocolate as soon as I read that and I saw your rules…what about apple and pb is that allowed??

  4. carrots & salsa!! One of my favourites! :)
    I also like cottage cheese+ peaches (or nectarines). Cottage cheese + any fruit, really…

    Sour cream + meat and potatoes. :)
    HAM + CHEESE ;)

  5. Do you eat the kiwi skin? I peel that off. I really like kiwis.

    Great pairings:

    agree on the cashew butter and dates!

    – chocolate chips/butter snap pretzels
    – oats and eggs (custard style)
    – BBQ chicken and feta cheese
    – pears and cinnamon
    – hot sauce and blue cheese dressing (especially on wings) :D

  6. Hmm fave food combos? Cookies and hot cocoa? That’s kinda weak. Lemme see…When I was little I used to like dipping pretzels in Coca Cola and wrapping fruit roll-ups around pretzels. Guess its that sweet/salty/savory combo.

    Nicole G

  7. We seem to have the same digestive issues with fruit. Pineapple and kiwi both give me the worst stomach pains! :( Green peppers also do the same to me if they are uncooked.

    • Funny, green peppers are okay with me, but raw broccoli and cauliflower really do a number on me… I think we need to be the subject of some study! :P

  8. Ah don’t worry ., you’ll get LOTS of summer in TO no doubt, cause it gets stiiiicky there and hot! ;)

  9. Popcorn + Tabasco
    Saltines + Salsa
    Mustard+Onion+Sourdough Bread
    Avocado + Anything :)

  10. Ah, your kiwi experience doesn’t sound too fun :? I actually just did a presentation on inflammatory fruits and kiwi is a whopping 34 on the inflammation factor scale (http://www.nutritiondata.com/facts/fruits-and-fruit-juices/1934/2)

    Favorite food pairings: Sweet Potato + Black Beans, Pineapple + Cashews, Chocolate + Nut Butter, Anything + Nut Butter…

    • Ooooh, good to know!! This is why I talk about this stuff on the blog, because there’s always a smartypants out there who has some great insight :) Thank you Danielle!

  11. sweet potato and peanut butter, peanut butter and pickles, peanut butter and pretzles (okay, pb and anything salty), eggs and beans, apples and cheddar cheese…

  12. Ha PB&J was my first thought! But I also love turkey and avocado, sweet or regular potatoes with ketchup, salmon and dill, eggs/veggies/sriracha, pretzels and regular or white chocolate…and apple pie with ice cream ;-)

  13. That omelet looks so good! Favorite food pairings.. that’s a hard one, there are just so many. I’d have to say
    – Peanut Butter & Chocolate
    – Nut Butter & Oatmeal
    – Squash & Hummus
    – Chips & Cheese
    Oh I feel like I could go on & on..

  14. I saw your tweet on passing your personal training exam. Congratulations! That is great news.

  15. Darn I was gonna state the obvious chocolate and pb.

    Tuna and real american cheese.

  16. Bread & Butter
    Tortilla chips & Salsa
    Sweet potato & chili!
    Hummus & Pita chips
    Peanut/Almond butter & banana
    Oats & Maple
    Apples & Cinnamon
    Tea & home made cookie!

    SOOOO many! They’re all so good…

    xo
    K

  17. - nut butter & honey
    – kalamata olives & feta
    – mushrooms & garlic & basil
    – eggs & asparagus

  18. Greek yogurt + lemon or lime curd
    rice+beans+feta cheese
    rice cakes + pb
    plain yogurt + frozen raspberries
    Haagan Daz coffee ice cream + Magic Shell

  19. That omelette looks immense!! As if you only have 8 days left! You must be getting that giddy feeling in your tummy?!

    Hmm food pairings…
    almond butter and banana
    roasted root vegetables and balsamic vinegar
    cheese and pineapple
    french fries and chocolate milkshake (seriously!)

  20. I need to try oranges and almond butter- I never eat oranges because I am too lazy to peel them. Hehe…wish I was kidding. Glad it finally stopped raining!

    Hmm, food pairings.

    – chicken and cranberry
    – pesto and cream cheese/cottage cheese
    – eggs and ketchup
    – cheddar cheese and strawberry jam
    – hummus and BBQ sauce
    – muffins and milk (mashed together!)

  21. bnut squash AND PB?!?!? that is a KILLER combo!!
    i LOVE hummus + brussel sprouts
    hot sauce on ANYTHING savory!
    PB+oats
    AB+ sweet taters!

  22. diet coke + pretzels.

    carrots + salsa.

    pickles rolled in ham + cheese.

    olive oil + garlic.

    chocolate + peanut butter.

    booyah.

  23. hehe… i thought that was carrots and ketchup when I saw the picture. Ick!

    None of my food pairings are healthy. Okay, not true. I have a new snack that I’m digging. All Bran Garlic and Herb crackers (1 serving is 18 crackers for 120 cals… not bad!) with low fat string cheese. I LOVE these crackers. I also love crackers with turkey and oj to drink. That’s my all time favorite snack but I hardly ever eat it… too hard for me to stop and the oj has so many calories…

  24. okay, okay, so i think i ended up commenting on 4 of the 5 new posts. i cant help it. i loved the basset hound comment~ randy’s sniffer is always fully engaged!

    sorry about the kiwi news. i love kiwis! but they hurt my tongue.

    favorite pairings.. peanut butter+my mom’s jam, hummus+mustard (for dressing), chips+guacamole, chili + cornbread.

    LOVE YOU LOTS! sorry i took so long to read. i wanted to save the posts for a time where i could devote my full attention :)

  25. I love this post! My favorite pairings are:

    chicken and red grapes
    angel food cake & fresh strawberries
    whole wheat wrap & hummus

    I could go on and on!

  26. it is pretty amazing how just a change of location and scenery can make a workout seem completely new! I love getting guest passes to different gyms in town just to do that!

  27. Wait a minute, did you say you felt like doing squats or am I imagining things? *faint* That’s awesome…I always curse and grumble when my trainer makes me do them! My favorite pairings? Cashew butter and a spoon, I mean bananas!

  28. Wow, those are some pairings I never would have thought of! Very interesting. I’m gonna have to get some carrots and salsa :-)

  29. I love doing workouts like that, switching between upper and lower. That interval workout looks great too. I might have to steal both of those sometime.

  30. cottage cheese + Jam
    Eggs + ketchup
    Peanut butter + ANYTHING (esp fruit!!)
    Oats + frozen berries
    Greek yogurt + kashi go lean
    wraps + hummus

    NICE workout!! i Love DB snatches! they get my heart racing!

    cant wait to see the recipe for those protein bars!

  31. Fave combo ever – sweet potato + cayenne/cinnamon + PB… sooo delicious

    Also love beans + salsa + avocado + cheese, makes anything taste good!

  32. Great workout! It’s funny how a tiny little change can give you so much more motivation! Adding in an extra set or changing around the exercise always makes me so excited!

  33. Chickpeas+avocado
    chocolate+coconut

  34. Yesss ma’am carrots and salsa. had some today. :)

    and btw- your monster omelet looks incredibly delicious. and properly cooked. guess what tomorrow is in my skills class? egg day! i’m gonna killll on those poached. i seriously have to recap my skills classes on the blog. just so hard to condense!

    my other fave food combos:
    tahini+honey
    pb+honey
    raw almonds+honey
    tahini+maple syrup
    cucumber+hummus
    yeaaah typical, but so good!

  35. Hey! You pro’lly have some kind of Oral Allergy Syndrome, like I do!

    Here’s a link to some info on it:

    http://www.allergynursing.com/questions3/oas.php

    I can’t eat honeydew, cantaloupe, grapes, sometimes kiwi, pineapple, mango, buckwheat, or honey without my mouth itching. Oh, add tomatoes to that mix. There are others but I usually forget until I accidentally eat them plain. ;-) When I eat them WITH something (dressing/spread or in a baked goodie, whatnot) they tend not to bother me.

    Just interesting, thought I’d share! :-)

  36. LOVE THIS! I actually have a post drafted up with my favorite food pairings, but I’m too lazy to finish it. So I’ll share some here ;)

    The biggest food pairing “requirement” I have is a weird thing with eggs and oranges. Or any citrus. If I have an egg, I MUST have an orange or orange juice, or it just won’t feel right!

  1. Pingback: A Wonderful Waffle Wednesday « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: A Waffle Wednesday Giveaway!! | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

