A Little Blog-spiration

Whyyyy is the weekend over already?? It went by so quickly! I only have two weeks left at my job. Then I’m on my own till I head to Toronto! I actually plan on moving back home for a few weeks before heading to TO for June 1st. And yes anyone living in the area – there will be tons of bloggie meet-ups in our future!

But there I am getting ahead of myself again. It’s Sunday. The end of Sunday. Sigh.

My body didn’t get the memo about it being the weekend again.

IMG_5846

Was up in the 6 o’clock hour again and stumbled to my stovetop right away to get started on a batch of cream of wheat. 

IMG_5845
Cooked with unflavoured soy protein powder and dates. Topped with cashew butter and molasses. End of the jar for the cashew butter, and it’s almost solid! That’s why it’s all broken up like that.

I was sooo not feeling the gym today, I just wanted to lay in bed reading all morning. But I forced myself out to a step class. As a little background, I usually go to step at the small women’s-only location. It’s the only time I ever go to that gym, but I just got into the habit of going there any time I went to step. It’s a small class of 25 women or so and pretty tight-knit.

Well, today I went to my usual, much larger, co-ed gym. There were at least 50 women packed into the class and two instructors I’d never had before. I was a little nervous, because step is one of those things that you need to get into a groove with. I didn’t want this new environment throwing me off my game!

Well, can I just say, it was the best step class I’ve ever been to. Ever. For a person who hates being in crowded environments, I love being in jam-packed exercise classes. I think it’s because I can blend in a little more. Plus, I feed off the energy of others, and today’s class was flying!

The instructors were hilarious and entertaining. I pushed hard because I was having a great time – my HR maxing out at 174 bpm, which only ever happens when I run! Between step today and kickboxing yesterday, it’s been a fun weekend of exercise for me :)

Like I usually do after hard workouts, I was craving eggs.

IMG_5851 
A couple boiled eggs mushed up with mayo, mustard, onions, pickles, olives and feta cheese.

IMG_5854 
And why just have an apple, when you can have an apple sprinkled with cinnamon? Just sayin’ ;)

All together now!

IMG_5849 
I wasn’t full after this, but then I wasn’t hungry for a very long time. Weird.

Showed my apartment again – I may have found a subletter! Maybe. She’s signing a sublet agreement tomorrow. But I won’t believe it until she actually moves in.

After grocery shopping, I realized that I had three cartons of egg whites in my fridge. Whoops. It’s one of those things I automatically buy every week. Apparently, I didn’t eat much last week.

IMG_5856 
For a snack, I poured egg whites into a mug, and added a de-strung (??) string cheese, nuking it for 3 minutes. Topped with Frank’s hot sauce.

IMG_5858 
The cheese is key. Then you get little pockets of melty heaven.

So, a girl at work is celebrating her birthday tomorrow, and it’s Treat Monday. Clearly, this called for something extra amazing!!!

Word on the street is that Janetha’s fruit pizza is the bestest, and I’ve been drooling over it forever. It calls for two rolls of premade cookie dough rolled out onto a baking sheet and baked. Then topped with a mix of whipped cream cheese/condensed milk/vanilla extract and fresh fruit.

Except! My grocery store only had chocolate chip cookie dough! I panicked, and bought cinnamon rolls.

IMG_5861
I started imagining a fluffy cinnamon-y crust, but realised this may not be the case when I popped it open and the rolls were already cut up. Could we get any lazier??

So I squished up all the dough and rolled it out with a water glass because I don’t own a rolling pin.

IMG_5863 
And then I baked it! Predictably, the dough in the center didn’t cook while the edges browned. But it came apart pretty easily and I was able to get a few mini pizzas.

IMG_5878 
I bought a container of fruit salad for the toppings. It’s got pineapple in it though, so I may not be able to partake tomorrow as I’m allergic (even to the juices). But I did by a melon salad, and tried a little pineapple-free piece tonight.

IMG_5864

I gotta test the goods!! It was deeelicious. The “sauce” is the best part. Maybe next time I’ll just make my own cookie dough or something ;)

Dinner was another blogger inspired recipe. This time from Leah! I wanted leftovers for the week, and she’s my go-to gal for those ;)

IMG_5875

Quinoa & Salmon w/ Tomatoes

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 cup finely chopped red onion
1/2 a giant sweet onion, chopped
1 cup finely chopped small bulb of fennel Still can’t find it in my grocery store!
2 cups water
½ teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
1 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes, preferably fire-roasted, undrained
1 pound salmon fillets, skin removed, cut into 1-inch chunks
¼ cup tightly packed chopped fresh 1 Tbls dried dill
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Zest of 1 small lemon

  1. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a heavy, 3-quart saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and fennel and cook, stirring occasionally, until lightly browned, 3-5 minutes. Add water and salt and bring to a boil. Stir in quinoa. Cover and cook over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  2. Stir in tomatoes (with liquid). Return to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and boil gently over medium heat until quinoa is translucent and tender, 6-8 minutes.
  3. Stir in salmon. Cook, uncovered, over medium heat until salmon turns opaque and is cooked through, about 1 minute. (Check and cook an additional minute if needed.) Turn off heat. Stir in dill, lemon juice, and zest, plus remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add salt to taste, if needed.

IMG_5873

I served it on top of some steamed green beans and broccoli. I’ve actually made this once before and loved it. Definitely deserved a make-again! It’s really quick and easy too. 20 minutes, minimal chopping, and all you have to do is throw a few things in a pot.

Oh, and look at who I ran into while waiting in line at the grocery store today!!

IMG_5879

Lori!!!! Eeeeee!!!! So. Freakin. Exciting. She’s featured as one of the real-life weight loss stories in May’s Shape magazine. She looks fabbity fab in the photo too. Stellar wardrobe choice Lori! I love that you’re picking up a big-girl’s dumbbell in the shot too ;)

Oh, and remember this shot of Archie I shared yesterday?

Well, I didn’t share the one of him winking at the camera.

IMG_5824

Sorry ladies, he plays for the other team, if you catch my drift *wink*

And for the record, my mom is never getting him back :P

Now I think I’ll wrap up this blogger-inspired day by making one of Holly’s no bake protein cookies. See ya tomorrow!!

 

Questing of the Day: What blogger-inspired foods have you been eating lately?

Posted on April 18, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. fattiefatterton

    I love that you used a water glass for a roller. Lol.

  2. I have been using water glasses since moving to Japan, but after *ahem* breaking three by accidentally throwing them across the floor. The husband insisted we buy a rolling pin. :)

  3. I love that Salmon dish! :D

  4. I have totally used a spray oil can for a roller before. I made savory pancakes the other night which was totally blogger inspired (and delicious).

  5. I love those cinnamon rolls – omg!

    It is soooo weird seeing myself in print like that. My husband is going to have to do something about my big head :D

    I thought that cashew butter was walnuts on the cream of wheat LOL!

  6. That fruit pizza looks awesome! I need to try it out next time I bring dessert to a big event. I’ve never been to a step class – it sounds like an awesome workout though!

  7. I inevitably have yoatgurt atleast once a week for dinner. It’s so easy to throw together when I get out of class late and don’t feel like making anything complicated. I really need to try making a protein cake when I’m home soon. I just can’t figure out what I should add to make it flavorful. I want to use my vanilla protein powder but can’t decided on another flavor. I spend way to much thinking about these things lol =)

    Nicole G
    PS. Yay for facebook friendships lol

    • Haha, it took me a beat to figure out who you were!! Then I clued in and got all excited – LOVE putting a face to the person behind the lovely comments :D

  8. What a cute little pizza idea! One time when I was about 8 or 9 I saw them make fruit pizzas on TV so I got the recipe and made them for my grandparents.. I think it was pizza dough, cream cheese and fruit or something? Who knows! LOL

  9. Love that you made J’s pizzas!
    and i missed that post of holly’s off to check that out, too

    spin class and packed and the best ever…
    oh that is amazing!

    i love packed yoga classes. it makes me focus. now, they cannot be so packed that ppl are touching me when i stretch my arms out OR if they sweat droplets hit my mat…but close quarters “feeds me” too and brings out the best in me!

  10. And when I thought Archie couldn’t get any more adorable…

    Good thinking with the cinnamon roll crust! hehe I giggled when you said you panicked when there was only chocolate chip cookie dough. I bet that’d be good, too!

    Hope you have a great night, girl!

  11. All loveliness! I think it’s amazing how much of what I eat was inspired by a blog or forum post at some point. As far as today’s eats, it would have to be sweet egg whites. It never occurred to me to put cinnamon & syrup on egg whites until I saw it on a blog somewhere.

  12. My late cat Earl had a very pink nose. He was also obsessed with grooming and held his tail high at all times.

    He definitely played for the other team too.

  13. seriously inspirational yummy post!!! I love it- I want every bite you posted about! Happy treat monday..

  14. I’ve been drinking green smoothies, they’re perfect when the weather is warmer :)

  15. cinnamon roll pizza is GENIOUS! yum that lokos so good!

    taht salmon quinoa salad looks great too! do you think you can used canned salmon or just real salmon diced up?? YUM I cant wait to make it!

  16. yay no bake cookiiiesss! what i really want is that cinnamon roll fruit pizza! ummm…i never would have thought to use cinnamon roll as a base but that is GENIUS!

    hope you have a lovely monday dear susan :)

  17. I understand about Archie. My dog prances when we go for walks. Everyone is always saying how cute “she” is. lol! Archie’s pictures are so adorable! He brightens my morning! :)

    • Ohyes, Archie most certainly prances!! And when he lays on the couch, he crosses his front paws over each other like he’s crossing his legs :P

  18. I can’t believe how fast this year is going…feels like yesterday you were at Starbucks. Not for you, I’m sure (but seriously, this year is whizzing by, no?)

    That fruit pizza looks so delicious everytime I see it. I am constantly inspired by blogs- in fact, pretty much everything I eat is blog inspired. Except my cooked oats mixed with Greek yogurt and chilled overnight…that has been a staple for years. I need more original eats, lol (hehe- recipe tonight!). Current blog-inspired obsessions: protein muffins, hummus + BBQ sauce, parfaits and oatmeal pancakes!

  19. Just in case you or Archie wonder where one of your biggest fans/readers has gone, i have my university finals until the 12th of May so may not be commenting much if at all..I wanted to let you know (not that im ASSUMING you’d notice my absence!) so you don’t think im being horrid not commenting or that ive fallen into a black hole..

    I will def still be keeping my fingers crossed for you about your exam results!

    Peace and love..
    I’ll miss commenting!!
    xox

    • Haha, it`s probably good that you told me. Otherwise I would have checked in on FB to make sure you`re still alive! Good luck on finals!! xo

  20. I heart fruit pizza! Yumm!

  21. I have no idea where this weekend went, but I feel gipped. It went by so fast!

    Blogger inspiration? Yesterday I made a GIANT green monster smoothie for me and Matt to share :) I feel a small victory whenever I get him to drink one of those!

  22. Fabulous looking eats! I have been all over avocado lately, which I didn’t eat until I started blogging!

    That fruit pizza looks amaaazing :)

    xo
    K

  23. Hahahahah – great post, girl!
    YAY for that fruit pizza.. looked divine!
    I´m so sorry about your “pineapple allergy” – I´m addicted to pineapple! I wouldn´t know how to live without it, hahaha ;)
    Have a great week!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  24. Smoothies! I was inspired by Debs and will always be grateful for the gums being brought into my life! x x

  25. I am loving the egg loving in this post! And same here.. this weekend I even had a three day weekend, and here I am Monday afternoon 5 pm, and I have yet to get ready for my week! Although, blog wise.. I feel pretty damn productive! You win some , you lose some I guess.

    Have a lovely week my dear!

    • Bekah! I thought of you yesterday as I was struggling to cut the skin off my salmon filet. I said “Now what would Bekah do in the fish kitchens?” :P

  26. what a great improv for the pizza! it looks great and i had to click out to give you a grin :D

  27. oh and THAT WINK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: Cookie Monster « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

