Waffled.

*peeks head in*

Hiiiiii. I’m not here to stay, I just couldn’t let a Waffle Wednesday pass without sharing the celebrations!

IMG_5778 
The usual protein waffles recipe:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp maple extract
  • cinnamon

Blended with an immersion blender and cooked in the belgian waffle iron.

IMG_5780
Dipped in a mix of sugar-free syrup and almond butter. Eaten with my hands of course! I accidentally let one of them overcook and it was wonderfully crunchy. Almost like a big waffle cookie!!

I woke up feeling like I’d been run over by a truck this morning – cold was back with a vengeance! I’m happy I’ve decided to take the rest of the week off exercise. Just what the doctor ordered :)

Archie picture of the day…

IMG_5786 
I wonder what he is thinking? I think he misses my mom, Mark and his doggie-pal Rudy. But I think he is also plotting how to get to that rotisserie chicken that’s in the fridge…

 

Like to click?

World’s best waffle site is right here. Check it out. Do it now. Two words: falafel waffle.

Paige has some good tips on how to get through a tough run.

Janetha posted some great weightlifting how-to videos.

New York Times peeks into the lives of food bloggers

 

Question of the Day: What is your favourite waffle topping? I like mine straight up with butter and syrup. But not quite like this…

 

I’m off to study!! xoxo

Posted on April 14, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Mmmmmm. Waffles! I really need to get myself a waffle maker, D: I love them but can’t make them at home! (and when they’re elsewhere I always question what’s in them..haha)
    my favourite toppings for waffles/pancakes is PURE maple syrup. Straight up. Maybe it’s just the fact i’m a Canadian/Maritimer, but I love me my maple syrup. :) Peanut butter is delicious, too! (Although I tend to cook my peanut butter INTO my pancakes~)

  2. It’s been about 3 years since my last waffle! It was good though as if I remember right it was topped with whip cream,blueberries,strawberries and bananas and syrup. I was stuffed afterwards but it was so good.

  3. I’m a straight syrup girl. Though lately to up my fat content I’ve been topping them with peanut butter lately. The pb gets all melty and I have bites of banana alongside. MMM I wish I was home Wednesdays! I guess I’ll hafta do Waffle Friday or Saturday =)

    Nicole G

  4. A waffle iron would get me into trouble! I love your protein waffle recipes. I’m sorry about your cold – keep that VitC up and feel better soon.

  5. GOOD LUCK STUDYING GIRL! you and me both!

  6. I love the chemical-based Walden Farms strawberry or blueberry syrup along with either of the fresh fruits. It is probably creating havoc for my liver, but it’s yummy and I like the lack of calories!

  7. Either just butter or mass quantities of fruit!

  8. Definitely jam or honey! :)
    I rarely eat waffles, I think I see a waffle in my (near) future…

  9. your waffles turned out amazing! i wish my iron was circle and not square. a circle one is going on the registry, no doubt.

    THANK YOU again for the coolest gift ever! xoxo

  10. fave topping = dredged, i do mean flooded, in syrup. and butter (vegan or whatever) but it must be saturated and oozing with calories or it’s not a waffle

  11. Sending you oodles of feel good vibes while you’re studying love..Im with ya in it all and trying to get through 6hrs of studying a day.. *yawn*
    WE CAN DO IT!
    Peace..xox

  12. Andddddd now I want a waffle. ASAP.

  13. your waffle looks like the sun! I love! :)

  14. Ditto! Butter and syrup. Your waffles made me drool! Thanks for the recipe!

  15. Your waffles look extra pretty today :)

    Maple syrup and buttAH win me over every time!

  16. Thanks for the link love, love!
    I neeed a waffle maker. Except if I get one more kitchen appliance for my birthday/Christmas from the husband…haha. I think I need to buy it myself ;)
    Hope you feel better stat!!!

  17. Buttah and syrup, or fruit compote =D

    xo
    K

  18. I still haven’t bought that waffle maker I found. I wonder why waffles haven’t made it over here yet?

    Favourite topping- banana and real maple syrup.

  19. Butter and syrup is definitely my waffle/pancake topping of choice, too! I feel like that is unpopular to say in blogworld, so I am glad to see I’m not the only one :) Occasionally I’ll throw some banana on there, but only if I’m feeling really adventurous :)

  20. nut butter + a smidge of maple syrup. perfection.

  1. Pingback: Upper-cuts and Burgers « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

