Run To The Hills

Hey! I got a kick out of those of you rating your sweet tooth off the scale :P Many of you said you had more of a salty tooth! I can’t relate, I will always choose sweet over salty. Unless the two are combined, then my mind explodes.

Good news, I didn’t pass out at the gym today! Sad days when this is a bonus, here’s what I did:

10 minutes elliptical, increasing resistance

Straight Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Romanian deadlift to row  50 lbs 6-8 4 Back
Wide-grip lat pulldown  65 lbs 6-8 4 Back

10 minutes rowing machine

Straight Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Dumbbell bench press  22.5 lb dumbbells 6-8 4 Chest
Dumbbell fly  17.5 dumbbells 6-8 4 Chest
Dumbbell shoulder press  17.5 dumbbells 6-8 4 Shoulders

10 minutes treadmill, increasing speed

Supersets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Cable pushdown  25 lbs 8-12 3 Triceps
Barbell 21s 20 lbs 8-12 3 Biceps
Barbell upright row  30 lbs 8-12 3 Shoulders

10 minutes stairmill, increasing speed

Finis! I had a whole banana with PB today (usually I only have half) and lots of water, I felt pretty good the whole time. Not on my “A” game, but I was expecting much worse.

Got to the office and had the usual cottage cheese mess.

IMG_5736
Have you heard? Cottage cheese is the new yogurt. Plus, it’s awesome with strawberries, banana extract, cinnamon, almond butter and Grape Nuts cereal. Yupyup!

Morning snack:

IMG_5733 
Homemade dark chocolate s’more protein bar. Holymoly, these are really good! So chocolately and protein-y. This is where I should make some awful “s’more” pun. Lucky for you, I hate puns.

Came home for lunch today! Wanted to take the dog out, and whipped up a quick lunch in the meantime.

IMG_5739
My sweet veggies – carrots + sugar snap peas with the last of the salsa and hummus.

Look! Proof that baby carrots come from real carrots!

IMG_5741
A very Janetha-esque photo with a begging pup in the background ;)

My new flavour obsession…

IMG_5746
Maple smoked salmon + laughing cow cheese + blueberry jam in a grilled sandwich. This was even more heavenly grilled!!

I ate my snack late this afternoon, so I wasn’t gnawing my arm off like I usually am after work. Turned into a gorgeous day so I took Archie for a walk before dinner.

IMG_5748
Confession: I live next to several hills that would be awesome for running hill repeats. Instead, I choose the very flat trail in the opposite direction. Hills scurr me!

IMG_5751 
But I took Archie up the hills today. His small poodle legs could use a little muscle definition :P

IMG_5754
This is me attempting to look badass with my shades on, but I just look smug!

I also had a bit of a “moment” walking up the hill. I came up to these two college girls who were huffing and puffing up the incline, noticeably exerting themselves. I on the other hand was barely bothered walking up. Only two years ago, I would have been one of those girls, struggling to make it to the top. Instead, here I was taking my “fitness” for granted. I hardly notice these types of things anymore and need to thank my lucky stars that I can prance my way to the top if I want to! (although, I really wish I could help those girls get to the top easier as well…)

Came home and threw together my favourite salad combo as of late.

IMG_5764
Spinach base, with highlights being pickles, pickled beets, chicken, feta, olives and tzatziki. I’ve been eating a lot of salads lately! I find if I just buy the fresh veggies, then I feel pressured to eat them before they go bad. Easy way to make sure I get my veggies in ;)

Archie tried to beg while I was eating, but I think our hill walk tuckered him out.

IMG_5766 
So many trees to pee on… so little time…

Also found this for two bucks at the store today…

IMG_5757

The name “Susan” means “graceful white lily,” and they just happen to be my favourite flower! I never have fresh flowers in my place, but for $2 I don’t care if it dies in a few days – it’s worth it! Plus, I love the smell, even if it reminds people of funeral homes :P

I also want to mention that I’ve decided to take a bit of a mini-break from the gym. Hallie reminded me to take my own advice of taking extended breaks every once in a while, and it has been a while! Thanks Hallie! So I’m going to chill out for the next few days and let my body fully recuperate, because it’s obviously trying to tell me something. I love working out so much that I always have to be cognisant of the symptoms of overtraining. But with my impending PT exam, there’s no better time for a rest than now!

And with that, I’m off to study!

Question of the Day: Do you know what your name means?

Posted on April 13, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. That smoked salmon sandwich looks so delish! I have to try making that! I don’t know what my name means, I did at some point, but I’ve forgotten. Good luck studying!

  2. I’m with you- I def. take my fitness for granted. Sometimes I feel really weak for stopping to walk during a 5 mile run…but I know a lot of people who struggle through 3 mile runs. I guess it’s just all about perspective :)

    The sweet + savory sandwich combo sounds awesome!

  3. Lilies are my favourite flowers as well. Having a birthday in early April, they were always in bloom.

    Andrea means courageous and strong (it also means masculine when used as a male name, but I usually leave that out); Claire means bright and shining.

    Good luck with the study!

  4. Archie is so cute! Are you going to be able to send him back? :D

    I love those lilies – they have such a heady scent to them.

    My name doesn’t really have a meaning itself, but I think it is a derivative of Laura.

    ( I like to think it actually means ‘radiant’ ;) )

  5. Mmm that sandwich combo sounds amazing! You’re so creative =D

    I had NO idea what my name meant, so I looked it up. Apparently it means “follower of christ”. HA. Ok, well, maybe we don’t all fit our names…

    xo
    K

  6. I love the pic of Archie “begging” for your dinner. That is one tired looking doggy. Just want to cuddle him up!

  7. I’m so glad i’m not one of those girls anymore either! I’m 34 and can out last many young ones.

    I’m not sure what my name means(goes to google) “to open” hmmm…that’s weird.

  8. Madeline means “Woman of Magdala, or tower.” It also happens to be the name of the Island my parents went to on their honeymoon…

  9. Nicole means “Victory of the People” in Greek. I’m not sure what that says about me. It always confused me because to be honest the phrase means nothing to me lol. Though its better than what my father wanted to name me. Panayota. After my grandmother. I love my greek grandmother but a little girl growing up in America (not in a Greek neighborhood) and looking pure Irish (dominant mom genes) would probably have been rough. But my mom put her foot down =)

    Nicole G

  10. Leah = “Weary One” and it can’t be more true! I’m a lazy, weary bum!

  11. Thanks for the shout out! You’re my go-to gal for fitness advice so I’m glad to return the favor.

    I don’t know what Hallie means…all I know is I was named after my grandfather Harold, because they called him Hal for short. Some people call me Hal too and in a weird way it makes me feel closer to him (he passed away before I was born).

  12. Pretty sure Lily means flower. I was always bummed in school when we did the “what does your name mean?” exercise.

  13. Glad youre taking a break if that’s what your body and brain need!

    The smores bars…mmmm good

    The carrot, well Janetha was not the 1st person/thing that came to mind. Chihuahua’s weenie was more like it LOL

    xoxo

  14. Carly is the feminine of Charles, which means “strong man,” so I guess that would make it “strong woman”?

  15. Love the Archie photos! I hate running hills too – I much prefer running on the flat, even if hills are a killer workout.

  16. I don’t know what you’re going to do when you have to give Archie back to your mom..I’m going to miss him SO SO much on your blog..and i know im not alone.. :D
    Let me know what happens to your blog stats when he disappears..:op..
    Lol just kidding..im faithful Susan!…i promise..

    My name has Hebrew roots..and means “praising”
    From my African side it means “sunshine” :)

    xox

  17. “I will always choose sweet over salty. Unless the two are combined, then my mind explodes.”

    Right there with you . . . mmm . . pb & chocolate.

    My name means “full of grace”. Guess I should stop running into things! ;-)

  18. My name means Heavenly Messenger. I’m such an angel! ;)

    Archie is sooo cute. I wish he could stay with you! :)

  19. Yay for your fitness moment on the hill!! That’s so awesome, Susan. Great accomplishment. And I totally see the badassness in that pic, haha.

  20. Archy is so cute. As are you in your badass shades! Hehe.

    I love cottage cheese with cereal and fruit…okay, don’t gag, but if you mix it with a really crunchy cereal (like grape nuts) and microwave the mix, it’s amazing. The cottage cheese melts and kind of goes stringy, but has the crunch of cereal. Okay, probably weirded you out now :P

    Chicken and tzatziki = my dinner last night too. yay!

    • Oooh, a warmed cottage cheese mess sounds really good actually!!! I like heated CC, so no gross out here :)

      P.S. I’m going out for Greek for lunch – more chicken and tzatziki is definitely in my future. Yum!

  21. I used to know what my name means but I can’t remember now. I want to say it was something like “princess” which I soooo am not a princess. LOL

    And I think you should do a video of you prancing to the top of a hill. I bet that would be a sight. ;) I would prance with you though, because I agree we have to recognize the ways our increased fitness help us.

    • I think it does mean something like “queen,” or along those lines. My mom’s name is Christina :)

      Bahaha, there is probably already video footage of me prancing somewhere…I should probably find it and delete it :P

  22. Julie means youthful :) I am totally young at heart!

  23. My name is Welsh and it means “loved one”. Yeah, my parents are saps.

    Good for you on taking a break! March was my “down” month since I was on holiday for two weeks and then took my sweet time getting back into running and yoga. I feel way refreshed now!

    Have a good one!

  24. your beggin pup had me grinning :) you def look MFBA in the shades, susan. i dunno what youre talking about. i am going to have to tell my mom about her name, susan, she will be stoked!

    my name probably means black girl. because that is what everyone associates my name with before meeting me. i am not kidding. they hear about me, then they meet me and say “i thought you were going to be black”. but really, ive looked into the etymology of my name and i got nothin.

    LOVE YA!

  25. Lilies are so pretty but I HATE the smell, it’s the smell of death to me – damn funerals!

    It’s so weird seeing someone where you once were, I always want to say something to them to encourage.. “I know how you feel, that was me, look at me now!”

    My name means “woman warrior” – pretty sweet :)

  26. Wow, that carrot is bizarre……

  27. Don’t be scared of hills they’re the best, I used to always run the ways that meant hills when I ran all the time, I can’t wait till I can get back to it!

    I’ve been told so many time what my name means but can never remember the full explanation, something to do with the sun rising,,,,,,, x

  28. Don’t you love when you have those moments. They always push me to keep trying harder and harder and be grateful for the life I have today! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

