Daily Archives: April 13, 2010

Run To The Hills

Hey! I got a kick out of those of you rating your sweet tooth off the scale :P Many of you said you had more of a salty tooth! I can’t relate, I will always choose sweet over salty. Unless the two are combined, then my mind explodes.

Good news, I didn’t pass out at the gym today! Sad days when this is a bonus, here’s what I did:

10 minutes elliptical, increasing resistance

Straight Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Romanian deadlift to row  50 lbs 6-8 4 Back
Wide-grip lat pulldown  65 lbs 6-8 4 Back

10 minutes rowing machine

Straight Sets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Dumbbell bench press  22.5 lb dumbbells 6-8 4 Chest
Dumbbell fly  17.5 dumbbells 6-8 4 Chest
Dumbbell shoulder press  17.5 dumbbells 6-8 4 Shoulders

10 minutes treadmill, increasing speed

Supersets:

Exercise Weight Reps Sets Target Area
Cable pushdown  25 lbs 8-12 3 Triceps
Barbell 21s 20 lbs 8-12 3 Biceps
Barbell upright row  30 lbs 8-12 3 Shoulders

10 minutes stairmill, increasing speed

Finis! I had a whole banana with PB today (usually I only have half) and lots of water, I felt pretty good the whole time. Not on my “A” game, but I was expecting much worse.

Got to the office and had the usual cottage cheese mess.

IMG_5736
Have you heard? Cottage cheese is the new yogurt. Plus, it’s awesome with strawberries, banana extract, cinnamon, almond butter and Grape Nuts cereal. Yupyup!

Morning snack:

IMG_5733 
Homemade dark chocolate s’more protein bar. Holymoly, these are really good! So chocolately and protein-y. This is where I should make some awful “s’more” pun. Lucky for you, I hate puns.

Came home for lunch today! Wanted to take the dog out, and whipped up a quick lunch in the meantime.

IMG_5739
My sweet veggies – carrots + sugar snap peas with the last of the salsa and hummus.

Look! Proof that baby carrots come from real carrots!

IMG_5741
A very Janetha-esque photo with a begging pup in the background ;)

My new flavour obsession…

IMG_5746
Maple smoked salmon + laughing cow cheese + blueberry jam in a grilled sandwich. This was even more heavenly grilled!!

I ate my snack late this afternoon, so I wasn’t gnawing my arm off like I usually am after work. Turned into a gorgeous day so I took Archie for a walk before dinner.

IMG_5748
Confession: I live next to several hills that would be awesome for running hill repeats. Instead, I choose the very flat trail in the opposite direction. Hills scurr me!

IMG_5751 
But I took Archie up the hills today. His small poodle legs could use a little muscle definition :P

IMG_5754
This is me attempting to look badass with my shades on, but I just look smug!

I also had a bit of a “moment” walking up the hill. I came up to these two college girls who were huffing and puffing up the incline, noticeably exerting themselves. I on the other hand was barely bothered walking up. Only two years ago, I would have been one of those girls, struggling to make it to the top. Instead, here I was taking my “fitness” for granted. I hardly notice these types of things anymore and need to thank my lucky stars that I can prance my way to the top if I want to! (although, I really wish I could help those girls get to the top easier as well…)

Came home and threw together my favourite salad combo as of late.

IMG_5764
Spinach base, with highlights being pickles, pickled beets, chicken, feta, olives and tzatziki. I’ve been eating a lot of salads lately! I find if I just buy the fresh veggies, then I feel pressured to eat them before they go bad. Easy way to make sure I get my veggies in ;)

Archie tried to beg while I was eating, but I think our hill walk tuckered him out.

IMG_5766 
So many trees to pee on… so little time…

Also found this for two bucks at the store today…

IMG_5757

The name “Susan” means “graceful white lily,” and they just happen to be my favourite flower! I never have fresh flowers in my place, but for $2 I don’t care if it dies in a few days – it’s worth it! Plus, I love the smell, even if it reminds people of funeral homes :P

I also want to mention that I’ve decided to take a bit of a mini-break from the gym. Hallie reminded me to take my own advice of taking extended breaks every once in a while, and it has been a while! Thanks Hallie! So I’m going to chill out for the next few days and let my body fully recuperate, because it’s obviously trying to tell me something. I love working out so much that I always have to be cognisant of the symptoms of overtraining. But with my impending PT exam, there’s no better time for a rest than now!

And with that, I’m off to study!

Question of the Day: Do you know what your name means?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers