Daily Archives: April 9, 2010

Flashyback Friday!

I think Rudy and I are on the same page.

IMG_5593
Made it to my mom’s safely!! I hightailed it outta there the second I got off work. I’ve gone from boring-town to a thriving household. My three step-siblings are here this weekend (ages16, 14, and 12) and we had some visitors in the form of toddlers. I like the quiet, but I get a kick out of the chaos too :)

However, two words adequately describe how I’m currently feeling – run down. Oof! It was a four-day work week for me, which sounds awesome, but not when you’re trying to cram five days worth of work into that. I went to spin class this morning and it was tough! My body is definitely tired, not to mention I’m nursing a sore throat. A good night’s SLEEP will hopefully help :)

I ate the usual desk-breakfast this morning, but I got to eat lunch at home! I showed my apartment over the noon-hour, so I threw something together while I was there.

IMG_5573 

  • rotisserie chicken
  • cottage cheese
  • red onion
  • tomato
  • hummus

Something was missing after this though, so I went back and added black olives and pickles.

IMG_5580
Delicious!! Might seem on the odd side, but just think of it as a chicken salad :)

With extra veg on the side.

IMG_5576
*crunch*

Supper was eaten during the 90-minute drive to my  mom’s.

IMG_5581
Peanut butter + protein powder dissolved with water

IMG_5587
Sandwiched together in perfect har-moh-nee. Don’t let the photos fool you though. I made a crumbly mess all over myself eating this in the car. Had an apple with it too!

 

Flashback Friday – Randoms!

Being at my mom’s means I have access to hundreds of old photos. I couldn’t decide which to focus on, so I just grabbed a stack and took photos of my favourite ones. Enjoy!

IMG_5598

Sisters Jane and Sara circa 1984 (pre-me!) playing a harmonica duet. Fun fact: sister Jane is now a professional musician!

IMG_5600
Blizzard of 1991. I remember opening that front door and seeing a giant wall of snow. It was nuts.

IMG_5601 IMG_5602

My fifth birthday. A pool party at the Howard Johnson. Ohman, pool parties were the coolest back then. We then celebrated in the restaurant and they made me cupcakes.

IMG_5603 
Unwrapping presents giddy with excitement.

IMGP0866
Something that apparently carries into adulthood ;)

Sisters!!!

IMG_5604
Baaaaahahaha. How stylish are we?? Sister Jane on the right has gold stars actually hanging off her purple shirt.

It should be noted that my dad was a pretty good photographer.

IMG_5606

I think he had a Nikon SLR?? (pre “D”SLR days) And took courses as well.

Of course, I wasn’t always cute. I went through my awkward punk-rock phase..

IMG_5595

Attractive? No. Hilarious? You bet! Me, sister Sara and sister mom in Mexico. Sara did a university exchange to Cuernavaca which was an excellent excuse for my mother and I to go visit.

IMG_5596

Mom in front of the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacan outside of Mexico City. Amazing.

That wraps up this week’s random flashback! I’ll try to capture some more while I’m home. Maybe next time I’ll build a narrative or something ;)

Click Click!

Lisa Flashbacked to a heart wrenching time in history

MizFit talks about blogging malaise

Brie made everyone cry with a post about her father

Question of the Day: Have you changed much since you were a kid? I’m told all the time that I’m completely different. I was an energetic child who loved to entertain a room, and now I much prefer being a member of the audience. And people who knew me as a kid say I don’t look the same either. Which is probably a good thing, because at one point I had a mullet…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers