Oh. Em. Gee.

Heyy! I’m stopping by for an early post tonight – I’ve got a jazz concert to go to :)

Thank you so much for all the kind comments regarding my latest vlog (click to watch if you haven’t yet!). I got a kick out of many of you saying you’d never have the guts to film one. It’s all about embarrassing yourself in as many formats as possible on the internet :P 

Also interesting to hear your thoughts on participating in races. As I said, I’m debating whether or not I want to compete in any this year. I love the idea of them, and who doesn’t love crossing that finish line? But I’m not a person who reacts to stress well, and I don’t find the pressure and anxiety that comes with races to be productive for me. Not to mention, I’m not competitive at all!

I think racing is great for a lot of people, because it gives them a goal to work towards. A lot of people need that goal to get them out the door everyday. It was really helpful for me when I first started getting active, but I don’t feel like I need to make such a commitment to get me to the gym everyday. If anything, I’m more dead set on doing a pull-up! Gah! It feels like I’ll never get there!

Anyways, I do have a half-marathon in Toronto picked out for September. But this summer is shaping up to be crazy, so I am not signing up for it until I know for sure I can do it. No pressure! I am a stress-free zone! (or, that’s what I keep telling myself :P ).

Got up this morning and ran a little over 5 miles on the treadmill doing my favourite speed intervals. It was rough! I got really sweaty and my face felt like it was on fire.

Had the usual dairy mess once I got to work looking presentable.

IMG_5524 IMG_5527

Yogurt, IsoLean peach-mango protein powder, benefibre, strawberries, Grape Nuts, almond butter. This was not filling. Boo.

I’ve also cut down to one coffee a day, instead of the usual two. After going through caffeine withdrawals on Monday, I decided a whole french press might be a little excessive for me. So I’ve just been chugging one glass of iced coffee before I go to the gym, and then skipping the second one I usually have once I get to work. I have no plans to give it up entirely, but cutting back where possible :)

Oh! Happy Waffle Wednesday! I celebrated at lunch with my new favourite flavour combo:

IMG_5523
Freezer waffle, laughing cow cheese, blueberry jam and smoked salmon. SO good. Sweet and savoury is where it’s at.

Hey! Speaking of which…

IMG_5521
Turtle pretzels. I ate three. My officemate and I have successfully demolished these in two days. Can I still claim “healthy fat” on these? :P

I arrived home from work today to a yummy package!

IMG_5531
Hahahaha. I love Deb. She is smart, hilarious, and also the maker of verrrry delicious homemade nut butters.

IMG_5534
It’s my consolation prize for participating in her “The Good, The Bad and The Funny Contest.” We had to submit a photo representing each. She sent me a copy of my “bad” photo, holding a pack of cigarettes! I smoked for 6 years, something I wrote about here.

As for the goodies – xanthan powder, cocoa almond butter and the OMG OMG OMG (hazelnuts, cocoa, stevia, cardamom). I taste tested each right away. OMG is right!!!

I could have eaten the bags of nut butter for dinner, but whipped up this beast of a salad instead.

 

IMG_5537

  • spinach
  • red onion
  • bell pepper
  • tomato
  • sugar snap peas
  • mushrooms
  • pickled beets
  • black olives
  • pickles
  • feta cheese
  • rotisserie chicken
  • hummus

IMG_5543
This salad gets an “OMG” too. Yummmm!

That’s all from me! I’ve got to go change for the concert. I spilled beet juice on my dress :\

 

Question of the Day: What food has you going “OMG” lately? I also pick that wafflewich combo shown above!

Posted on April 7, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. You have great photos. The turtle pretzels sound great.

  2. i LOVE deb’s nut buttas! they are the best! i need to try your salmon wafflewich. i was going to do a savory wafflewich today for lunch but i only had one waffle left in the old freezer.. so yeah. that is that. the salad looks fantastic. my OMG food as of late is my coffee cake! i cant wait to eat some more of it tonight! have fun at the concert :) xoxoxo

  3. I am envious of that nut butter delight!!

    The salad I made yesterday had me oohing and ahhing for sure: mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, avocado, roasted asparagus and roasted broccoli. Winner!

  4. You´re so right – OMG!
    Delicious eats :D
    Loved the waffle, too… A great way to celebrate waffle wednesday!
    Have a great jazz concert, Susan!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  5. Love the idea of taking a waffle-wich to work! Your turtle pretzels look delish- I’d be tempted to eat the whole batch!

  6. I think avocado has been that food for me lately. I am adding it to everything I can!

    I didn’t get to watch your video because I didn’t want the sound playing (:() but I agree that there is no reason to sign up for a race if it would stress you. Pullups are still a great goal…and something very few can say they do. I used to be able to. I felt so hardcore!

  7. Never would have thought of cheese,salmon and jam on a waffle. Like them all but together well guess some day I’ll have to try it :-)

    I do the same thing, I wait till i’m sure I can do it. I’m sitting on the fence right now about signing up for a Half Ironman in 3 months!

  8. My OMG food right now is steel cut oats made with soy milk and a sprinkle of brown sugar.

    PS….your salad is right up my alley!

  9. I’ve been on the biggest salad kick lately, which isn’t like me at all. I think it’s the warm weather…

  10. Yay and thanks for the shout! You can see evidence that your photo went through the blender, huh!? Glad you’re liking the nut butters. I need to make more OMG OMG OMG b/c it’s always the first thing I run out of (surprise!)

    Hope you had fun at the concert!

  11. Fresh, natural baby carrots, fresh-picked from the farm. OMG!!!

    I like your attitude. I don’t get racers who get waaay too competitive abt numbers and times, too.

  12. Nice “swag” score from Deb! She’s amazing :)

    As for the turtle pretz, nice. Stilll omg’ing over those!

    In my own life, the recipe I posted today for my choco protein coffee shake, it’s very easy. But I really dig it. Today. I mean tomorrow it’s onto the next thing…

    I ordered my ACE books/materials today! I am so stoked! I thought of you when i hit place order :)

    xoxo

  13. Hehe..It’s nice to know that while i’ve put you on a pedastal you DO still slip up and spill beet juice on yourself.. :)
    Hope it comes out!

    Oatmeal makes me go “OMG” every.single.day..As well as eliciting a few other not-so-savoury sounds if ya know what i mean..haha..

    Hope the concert was aweeeeesome!
    xox

  14. Your waffle combo looks amazing! I think I’m going to make waffles now. :)

  15. Which Toronto half marathon?! I want to do one in September, too!

    OMG foods… um, anything I ate over the weekend at my fave restaurants back home! And the vegan casserole I made last night that both Nick and I loved!!

    xo
    K

  16. Wafflewiches sound REALLY good..i’ve never tried one! Or those “other” brands of freezer waffles, to be honest. I tried whole wheat Eggo’s awhile ago..what brands do you recommend? :)
    and as for “OMG” eats…hmmmm. The last things I can recall going “OMG” over were my friends homemade rolls (they only had 4 ingredients– flour, yeast, water & salt, but they were FANTASTIC) and a smoothie I drank on Sunday. First smoothie I’d had in ages and it tasted wonderful!

    • Hey Cassie! Hands down, Nature’s Path has the best waffles. Maple Cinnamon is my favourite, but the ones in this post are Flax Plus. I hear Kashi waffles are decent too, but I can’t buy them here.

      Homemade rolls?? Droooooool. I hope you put some buttah on those! ;)

      • I sure did! :) Bread is one of life’s little wonders..haha.

        I’ll check out the Nature’s Path waffles next time i’m at the grocery store! I WISH we had Kashi waffles here! It’s like we Canadians only get their cereals/granola bars. Boooo. There’s so many of their products i’d like to try!

        • I know!! I thought Kashi was strictly cereal/bars until I started reading blogs and was just like “whaaa!?” when I saw all these fancy microwave meals and such. We also only get their boring/bland bars here too! Harumph. :P

  17. I’ve been sick so my OMG food right now is a strawberry frozen fruit bar. So nice on a sore throat!

  18. simple but sweet potatoes! I dunno why but I JUST started eating them and I love them.

  19. I have also thinking of running a race. But, if I do, it will be a first for me! I am not competitive with anyone but myself. Every time I finish a run, in my head I am yelling “I dit it!”…..so I can just imagine how good it would feel to actually finish the race! Inyour situation, with your move and all…..perhaps training for a race would be a good distraction? A stress reliever! But, I am sure you know yourself best….if you think it will cause you stress instead of relieving some….then don’t do it :)

  20. erintakescontrol

    I missed the turtle pretzels…where the heck have I been?!

    I used to smoke, too. I’m only 25, but I smoked for 10 years. Looking back, I find it absolutely ridiculous! I didn’t “know” you on your old blog, so I’ve got your link up and I’m going to read it now!

  21. OMG to anything sweet n’ savory – hits the spot everytime! yay for a jazz concert – that sounds like so much fun!

    and i just watched your VLOG – you are too cute! i never really thought about just running a half-marathon just to do it (instead of signing up for one). i think i am one of those people who needs races to keep motivated!

    love ya lady – let’s catch up soon :)

  22. You might want to shoot for a chin up first, then a pull up LOL! You’ll get there.

    Love the waffle sammie combo – yum, yum! I need to make up extra protein waffles to keep around for the sandwiches.

    Last food I went OMG over was the blueberry pancake cupcake with maple buttercream icing I had over the weekend. Foodgasms for sure.

  23. As the winner of Debs photo competition the OMG OMG hazelnut is my OMG food! So good x x

  24. Red curry always makes me go OMG!

  1. Pingback: A Sign From the Gods « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

