Daily Archives: April 7, 2010

Oh. Em. Gee.

Heyy! I’m stopping by for an early post tonight – I’ve got a jazz concert to go to :)

Thank you so much for all the kind comments regarding my latest vlog (click to watch if you haven’t yet!). I got a kick out of many of you saying you’d never have the guts to film one. It’s all about embarrassing yourself in as many formats as possible on the internet :P 

Also interesting to hear your thoughts on participating in races. As I said, I’m debating whether or not I want to compete in any this year. I love the idea of them, and who doesn’t love crossing that finish line? But I’m not a person who reacts to stress well, and I don’t find the pressure and anxiety that comes with races to be productive for me. Not to mention, I’m not competitive at all!

I think racing is great for a lot of people, because it gives them a goal to work towards. A lot of people need that goal to get them out the door everyday. It was really helpful for me when I first started getting active, but I don’t feel like I need to make such a commitment to get me to the gym everyday. If anything, I’m more dead set on doing a pull-up! Gah! It feels like I’ll never get there!

Anyways, I do have a half-marathon in Toronto picked out for September. But this summer is shaping up to be crazy, so I am not signing up for it until I know for sure I can do it. No pressure! I am a stress-free zone! (or, that’s what I keep telling myself :P ).

Got up this morning and ran a little over 5 miles on the treadmill doing my favourite speed intervals. It was rough! I got really sweaty and my face felt like it was on fire.

Had the usual dairy mess once I got to work looking presentable.

IMG_5524 IMG_5527

Yogurt, IsoLean peach-mango protein powder, benefibre, strawberries, Grape Nuts, almond butter. This was not filling. Boo.

I’ve also cut down to one coffee a day, instead of the usual two. After going through caffeine withdrawals on Monday, I decided a whole french press might be a little excessive for me. So I’ve just been chugging one glass of iced coffee before I go to the gym, and then skipping the second one I usually have once I get to work. I have no plans to give it up entirely, but cutting back where possible :)

Oh! Happy Waffle Wednesday! I celebrated at lunch with my new favourite flavour combo:

IMG_5523
Freezer waffle, laughing cow cheese, blueberry jam and smoked salmon. SO good. Sweet and savoury is where it’s at.

Hey! Speaking of which…

IMG_5521
Turtle pretzels. I ate three. My officemate and I have successfully demolished these in two days. Can I still claim “healthy fat” on these? :P

I arrived home from work today to a yummy package!

IMG_5531
Hahahaha. I love Deb. She is smart, hilarious, and also the maker of verrrry delicious homemade nut butters.

IMG_5534
It’s my consolation prize for participating in her “The Good, The Bad and The Funny Contest.” We had to submit a photo representing each. She sent me a copy of my “bad” photo, holding a pack of cigarettes! I smoked for 6 years, something I wrote about here.

As for the goodies – xanthan powder, cocoa almond butter and the OMG OMG OMG (hazelnuts, cocoa, stevia, cardamom). I taste tested each right away. OMG is right!!!

I could have eaten the bags of nut butter for dinner, but whipped up this beast of a salad instead.

 

IMG_5537

  • spinach
  • red onion
  • bell pepper
  • tomato
  • sugar snap peas
  • mushrooms
  • pickled beets
  • black olives
  • pickles
  • feta cheese
  • rotisserie chicken
  • hummus

IMG_5543
This salad gets an “OMG” too. Yummmm!

That’s all from me! I’ve got to go change for the concert. I spilled beet juice on my dress :\

 

Question of the Day: What food has you going “OMG” lately? I also pick that wafflewich combo shown above!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers