Daily Archives: April 5, 2010

In A Fog

Hellooo friends!! Did many of you have to work today? I didn’t, I’m on a four-day weekend, and I’m honestly excited to go back to work! How weird is that? I don’t think I’ve ever had a job I liked that much before :P

Even after four days, my body clock is still set on early. It’s at least nice to be able to eat in bed and not at my office desk :)

IMG_5476

Today’s breakfast was cream of oats cooked with soy protein powder, benefibre and cinnamon. It cooked up so quick on the stove! Five minutes flat.

IMG_5473 
Topped with blueberry jam and peanut butter. Cream of wheat isn’t quite the nutritional powerhouse of oats, but it is notably high in iron. I know some ladies need to keep on top of their iron levels ;)

I took the day off exercise after yesterday’s two-hour extravaganza. The only part of me that’s sore is my chest after doing 5 minutes of chest presses. I noticed I only had one serving of coffee grinds left, so I decided to skip it today since I wouldn’t be working out anyways. I’ve been in a fog all day! Not to mention, suffering from a dull headache. I drink one french press a day, and I hadn’t realized I’d become so dependent on it. Boo. I’m not giving it up though, blasphemy! :P

I spent the morning cleaning and watching the last of the Real World DC. Broke for an early lunch because my hunger is always out. of. control. on rest days.

IMG_5484 
Tuna + baba ganouj pita with yellow bell pepper and tomatoes. Carrots in the back. T’was colourful :)

After everything was clean, I got into the kitchen to mess it up again. Started with some treats for Treat Monday Tuesday at work!

IMG_5487
I made a batch of homemade turtle pretzels that I first made over the holidays. This time I was able to find waffle pretzels, and I used mini Rolos instead of the giant caramel cups I used before. Oddly, I can’t find regular sized Rolos anywhere.

Anyways, stuck the Rolos on top of the pretzels and put them in a 250 F oven for about 5 minutes – just enough to soften up the chocolate. Then I pressed a pecan half on top of each one and let cool.

IMG_5497

And by “let cool” I mean taste test ;)

These were a hit over Christmas, so I knew they deserved a re-make for the office.

IMG_5505

Not to mention, they’re a little on the lower-calorie side compared to the cookies and squares I’ve been bringing in. A nice post-Easter indulgence ;)

Afterwards, I got adventurous and tried out a new homemade protein bar recipe. These aren’t perfected yet, but I’ll share anyways in case you want to build upon it to make it better. My goal was to have a dense and crumbly baked bar. 

IMG_5488
Started with 2 cups oat flour, which I made by blending oatmeal in my food processor.

Then I mixed in 4 packets Benefibre, 2 scoops chocolate whey powder, 2 scoops vanilla whey powder, 6 tbsp crunchy peanut butter, 1/2 cup egg whites.

IMG_5490
And flattened into a square baking pan…

IMG_5494

Baked at 350 F for 15-20 minutes (however long it takes to do the dishes).

IMG_5496

Et voila! Makes 8 bars.

image

image

IMG_5504 
Like I said, needs work. I don’t like the “squeaky” texture whey gets when it’s baked, even though I thought I was going to avoid it here. And oddly, they’re a little more bland than the unbaked variety, even though it’s the same exact ingredients. Still edible though, and will make for easier transportation :)

Supper was a four ingredient dinner. No ham today!!

 IMG_5509

  1. Turkey breast
  2. Broccoli
  3. Sweet potato
  4. Barbecue sauce

IMG_5511

Tossed together and baked. I’m loving these minimal ingredient dinners! So simple and tasty :) I like being able to taste every ingredient…

Ohyes, and there was a lot more studying today…

image

I can name the main structures of the heart! Yayyy! Exam is April 17, and I still feel like I have a lot to get through. I also fell asleep while studying today. I never just randomly fall asleep like that! I conked out for a solid 30 minutes, only to wake up with my laptop still on my tummy and my glasses on. That’s what happens when I skip my coffee!!

 

Question of the Day: Are you a coffee person? Do you rely on caffeine? I drink two big cups, or a french press’ worth, of coffee a day. All before 10am, any later and it effects my sleep at night. I drink one of those cups before I work out in the morning and it makes a world of difference in my workout. I never thought I was dependent on it, but I guess I am. I better sleep well tonight!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers