Goals and Reader Challenge!

A thought just occurred to me as I was uploading my food photos from today. Ever find it strange that other food bloggers say calorie counting is too much work? Or that it’s obsessive and makes them think about their food too much? Um, I don’t think anything requires more work or is more obsessive than taking pictures of what you eat and posting it on the internet. Just sayin’!

So last night I slept for 8 hours for the third night in a row. I had three people tell me that I looked good today, including my boss who asked what I was doing in Saint John because I looked “healthier.” Well jeez louise. Perhaps there’s something to this “sleep” thing after all? :P Okay, no more telling myself 6 hours a night is sufficient – 8 hours every night this week. If I blog about it, I have to do it. Anyone else with me??

All the sleep helped me power through a stellar spin class this morning. I was on my ‘A’ game and it felt gooood. However, realizing I forgot my post-workout iced coffee in my fridge at home was not good. Had to make a mad dash to the cafeteria for the hot stuff as soon as I got there.

IMG_5035

I love the taste of coffee, but I have to admit, I really don’t care for hot drinks. I think I may actually prefer it iced now!

Breakfast was odd but super filling!
IMG_5025

That would be a Maple Nut Clif and two boiled eggs.

IMG_5037

IMG_5044
I really dug this breakfast. I’ll have to recreate it with my own bars ;)

Speaking of my own bars – I had a Cherry Dark Chocolate as a snack.

IMG_5028
Lunch was leftovers from last night.

IMG_5029
My hamburger/bean/tomato sauce mix was super duper filling and I didn’t even make it to the carrots. Beans are the most filling food ever. No contest!

After eating at my desk, I did the impossible. I drove to the grocery store, picked up a week’s worth of food, drove to my apartment and put it away, then drove back to work, all within my hour-long lunch break!! Phenomenal. I love grocery shopping on the weekends, but hate doing it on weekdays. I think I may have spent less money too because I didn’t have time to scour the aisles and buy random products :P

My poor office mate, I then subjected her to the stench of canned smoked herring this afternoon.

IMG_5022
On top of a couple rye crackers. The smell of boiled eggs seems to go away pretty quickly, but the fish smell definitely lingered! I eat and drink like an old man.

Came home to a fridge full of fresh ingredients, so a big ole’ salad was the natural choice.

IMG_5051

  • spinach
  • red onion
  • tomato
  • bell pepper
  • mushrooms
  • pickled beets
  • green olives
  • feta cheese
  • grilled pork chop (cut into pieces)
  • tzatziki

IMG_5046 
My new favourite thing is pickled beets! Try ‘em! Beets are so sweet that they aren’t as “pickly” tasting as cucumbers. Also, you hardly need any dressing if you add them to a salad (although tzatziki never hurts).

I’ve been buying pork chops lately as my weekly “raw meat” purchase because they’re one-third the price of chicken breasts. Crazy! $3 for two chops, $9 for two breasts. I was asking my dad about the price difference, because he knows the answer to everything. Well apparently, he asked his dad, my Grampie the same thing. He went into this big thing about how the pork industry in Canada is in rough shape. They can’t compete with the high production of corn-fed pork in the States.

I’ve been doing a lot of research into the Canadian meat industry ever since watching Food Inc. Surprisingly, there are a lot of differences. For example, it’s illegal in Canada to use hormones or steroids on chickens to make them bigger, which we know is not the case in the States. Also, the Atlantic Superstore gets their beef from the US, which means it’s subject to all the things cows in the States are allowed to ingest. Instead, we deport all of our great Albertan beef! Boo.

 

Anyways, where was I? Oh yes! Monthly Goal Check-In!

1. Work on getting my car sold and apartment subletted. My subletter was here just an hour ago to sign an agreement!! Consider that one MAJOR check on my to-do list :D The car thing is going slower, I may have to get my mom to sell it after I leave in June…

2. Apply for a bazilion jobs in Toronto. Fail. But I did make some good contacts this week in terms of freelance writing work.

3. Take more initiative at work so I can finish my contract knowing I made a mark. This is proving harder than I thought! I already have so much on my plate, it’s hard to bring new things forward. I did knock off a kick-ass recruiting video last week which I’m pretty proud of :)

4. Learn as much as I can about personal training. I clearly did the best at this one! I already feel a gazillion times more confident AND excited about personal training after just one weekend of classes. I talked everyone’s ear off about it today :P

5. Run outdoors again. Check! Got my second outdoor run of the season in on Wednesday. A 4-miler in the beautiful evening sunshine. Unfortunately, the weather here as taken a turn for the worse. I woke up to snow this morning and it’s going back down to freezing this week. What a tease of spring!

 

Question of the Day: Anyone else in for a sleep challenge this week? I’m thinking a giveaway might be a nice motivator for this one. Pledge to get 7-9 hours of sleep a night, then next Monday I’ll take giveaway entries by asking how many hours you actually got. It’ll be fun! Well, in a sleepy kinda way ;)

Posted on March 22, 2010, in Challenges, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. Well, it has be to be nice to know that Canada has some good chicken, but sort of crummy your good beef is deported and you guys buy our crap. Ah well, You win some you lose some.

    I would LOVE to do an 8 hr sleep challenge, but I know it’s not possible this week. Ive got a big ole test this week so I’ll be staying up later than usual. Blah!

  2. I am always getting 8-9 hours of sleep. One of the perks of being a stay at home mom ;)

    And I agree a billion percent about the taking pictures of all your food thing. That can be obsessive for me which is why I don’t do it. If it works for someone else that is great, but it makes me worry about food more than counting calories or tracking sugar grams or whatever else out there. I don’t ever plan to do the food picture taking thing besides things I hope to highlight.

  3. I always always get 8-9 hours of sleep. I just cannot function without it, so it’s not an option for me to sleep less.

    I’m impressed at Canada’s standards for food! Its great that they don’t use hormones on chicken!!

  4. fattiefatterton

    Amen to your first paragraph!! It’s not that hard to count it, especially if you eat the same things over and over again – which most of those folks do.

  5. I can just barely function on 6 hours of sleep. I usually get 8-10 haha I love my sleep! You can do it!!

  6. I’m definitely in for a sleep challenge! I used to be so good about getting enough sleep and now, not so much! This will be good for me. :)

  7. Hi,
    I just started reading your blog about a week ago, its so good :)
    I am in the process of moving to Vancouver, I am out of my place this month, but applying long distance is such a pain in the butt!! I feel your pain :(
    Here’s to both of us finding good employment opportunities!

  8. so interesting about canada’s meat industry – i think i definitely trust it more than the good ol’ u.s. of a.

    yay for 8 hours! i really am a straight up 8-9 hours kind of gal. i can get less every once in awhile, but i become a crabby bitch and fast if i don’t sleep. nuff said.

    love the looks of that ginorm salad – i had that for dinner tonight, and it was perfection! have a great night lady :)

  9. YUUUM – gotta love bean-filled combos!
    It´s amazing what a couple hours of sleep can do for you!
    :D
    Have a great week, Susan!
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  10. I wish, wish I could get 8 hours of sleep. I just can’t seem to get more than 7, no matter what time I go to bed! Weird. So, I’ll just go for 7.

    I am excited for your PT training, too! :D

    I had one real goal for the month of March, and it’s almost a done deal.

  11. I find it really easy counting my calories as I use SparkPeople to do it. Since I’ve been doing it two months str8 now I am usually pretty good doing it in my head as I make my meal too.

    If 6 out of 7 nights for the sleep challenge qualifies I’m up for the challenge. Thursday’s are a poker night so I never get more than 5 hours.

  12. ahahahahahahaha your first paragraph hit the freaking nail on the HEAD. 8 hours a night. dang. that may be hard.. i have a problem “unplugging”.. maybe i will try for 7? your nails rock. i saw your tweets about the amazing grocery run. that is unheard of! you should be on that show supermarket sweep! did you get that up in your neck of the woods? it used to be my favorite game show. HEY! i bought a can of beets like 2 hours ago! they arent pickled. but still, beets no less. love it when you check in! yay!

    xoxoxo

  13. I do my very best to get 7-8 hours of sleep every night! I loooove pickled beets! I could eat the whole jar!

  14. wow love your bfast! the clif bar looks funny folded over like that! i will def try my BEST to get 8 hrs!

  15. YESYESYES! Totally in bed with you bahahah! (at least Janetha thinks so!) Seriously, that is my major downfall. Not having lights out early. I wake up at 5-6am every morning no.matter.what. I am the human alarm clock. So if I get to bed at 12am due to the Blortex, well missy you just earned yourself 5 measly hours of sleep-boo. Yes, I’m in. Totally. I’ll make it a challenge- thank you.

    Yah, good point on the taking-too-much-time calorie counting thing. The ONE day in my blog that I photo’d all my eats I seriously needed a vacation for a month. I thought I’d die. Counting is way easier. Especially now that I have Lance counting for me ;-)

  16. I remember when i was younger i used to sleep TEN-TWELVE hours each night..It was wonderful..
    Now my biological clock will only allow me about 6..and even those 6 hours have to be fought for..
    My body tends to want to get up at half 4…ridiculous!
    I refuse to resort to sleeping pills though..
    Im lucky that i still manage to feel fully rested on what little sleep i do get..I sleep SO soundly…and thankfully given that im a student can afford if necessary a nap during the day.. ;)

    Im curious about this boiled egg thing love..My mum suggested i have them for breakfast too..Do you really find them satisfying?…So far the only things that keep me full of energy for breakfast are oatmeal and soups..I’d love to try something else if it’s worth it..
    For some reason having eggs scrambled or in an omlette just doesn’t cut it in the satisfying stakes for me..Maybe boiled will?..

    xox

  17. I’m on board for the sleep challenge. Just adds another layer to my goal attempt for the week of getting my sleep schedule fixed. (If I go to bed when I really want to I’d get 8-8.5hrs a night)

  18. I always stay in bed until the very last second. Like today I got up at 8:12 and got to work at 8:30. I should probably go to bed earlier rather than hitting snooze 400 times.

    Lucky Canadians! Sounds like your food is much less frightening!

  19. I’m in!
    I need more sleep, really. During the week, I wake up around 5:30, 6am. And I go to bed around 11. Which is why I’m as good as dead during the day. I’ll try to go to bed earlier ;)

  20. haha, I eat like an old man too! When I was in highschool, my girlfriends used to call me “grandma” (well, that was mainly because I wouldn’t go to the bars underage…but, you know…)

    VERY interesting tidbits on the pork/chicken/beef bits. Its a sad state that at least we don’t have the *options* of buying our own meats, even at an increased cost. Bah.

    BTW, I met Robert Kenner, the director of Food Inc. a few weeks ago and had a chance to chat with him about some stuff! I wrote a couple blog entries about it if you are interested in checking it out. He was awesome and super friendly and answered a bajillion of my questions :)

  21. congrats on getting your zzzz’s in. I’m better on some days but I definitely dont’ get a consistent 8 hours in every night. This is definitely something I need to work on.

    I love grocery shopping, maybe too much. If I’m rushed for time, it’s best though so I dont end up buy random things like I ALWAYS do!

  22. Looks like you’re making great strides toward your goals!

    Sleep is an amazing thing. I’ve love to make a sleep pledge, but I have a 5-month old who happens to be sick right now so 5 is a good night for me. LOL I will commit to going to bed when she does instead of staying up to do things around the house.

  23. I NEED to sleep more! I try to get 8 hours, but usually it is knocked back to 6-7.5. Sleep really is the best medicine! (That, and water!)

    I LOVE how filling beans are, too. It’s all that good-for-you fiber! I could eat beans all day… though I’m not sure how much my live-in boyf would like that ;)

    It is cold and rainy here- I wish it would be spring again so I can RUN more!!

    I’m in for the challenge!

    xo
    K

  24. so much I want to say…

    1) yes to the calorie counting V photos/uploading…though if you have never counted calories before and genuinely have NO idea what is in the stuff you eat, I can kind of see why it would be more time consuming. For like, a day.
    2) maple nut Clif = best flavour ever
    3) pickled beets rock my world- they are huge in the UK. A typical salad in Britain is iceberg lettuce, cucumber, tomato and pickled beets.
    4) I need more sleep too- though since going to the gym, I am sleeping so much better…going to bed by 11-ish and up by 5:30 at the latest. I am in for the challenge, aiming to be in bed by 10:30.

    Thank you so much for all your comments yesterday! I loved hearing your opinions since 1) you know me/understand where I am coming from, and 2) have PT experience :D

    Great job with your goals- must be such a relief to have the apartment situation sorted!

  25. I had to giggle at your first thought there – so true, to a point.
    I moreso publish my food to share with others and give them ideas of new meals they can try:) Or if I borrow a meal that another blogger posted it, I’ll post it. Numerous times, I’ll mention that since I’ve had a breakfast cookie every day for the past three days, that I won’t post it, and I’ll try and think of something new! But for those who post it/when bloggers post it for accountability purposes, you’re SO right! Then again, I still read these blogs, so that can be considered obsessive too. Kind of contradictory! haha :) OK, enough rambling!!
    Glad you’re getting your 8 hours! It’s so hard sometimes. I’m definitely an 8 hour girl, but it’s more realistic that I get 7, unfortunately. In order to get 8, I’d have to be asleep by 8:45 p.m.
    Have a great day, girlie!

  26. Ohhh I want 8 hours every single night and to be honest I get it most nights. Or at least 7.5. Otherwise I can barely function and am crabby like none other! What a princess…

    Loving that gigantic salad!! Best thing ever after a grocery store run!

  27. I’m a 8/7 hr girl always I need my sleep! You might like my giveaway x

  28. I will definitely join the sleep challenge, but I would say most days I get 7-8 hours and on a very lucky day 9. My biggest problem with sleep is not falling asleep, or waking up before my alarm (I know weird problem to have). I always dedicate enough time to sleep, but my body does not always agree, boo!

  29. Amy (Up and Running!)

    My mom is from Paris, Ontario! =) We live in the states but we visit there frequently.

    I LOVE pickled beets. I’ve been known to eat whole jars at a time…so bad, I know.

  30. I love your Clif bar’s model pose :P
    Haha…

  1. Pingback: Workout Skeds « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: five. « meals & moves

  3. Pingback: Not Blogging « The Great Balancing Act

  4. Pingback: Sweet and Savoury « The Great Balancing Act

  5. Pingback: Fitness Test Day « The Great Balancing Act

  6. Pingback: Goals and a Giveaway!!! « The Great Balancing Act

  7. Pingback: Things I Learned in March « The Great Balancing Act

  8. Pingback: Can you get more sleep? « SmoothieGirlEatsToo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

