Daily Archives: March 16, 2010

Fitness and Exercise Resources

Heyyyy friends! Whaaaat’s happening. This is me pretending to be perky. It’s not working :P Today’s been an odd day with a lot of heavy things on my mind :( I spend far too much time worrying about things I shouldn’t. I’d ask if anyone else has this problem, but I know I’m not the only one!

On the bright side, I slept for over 7 hours last night and felt pretty good when the alarm went off! Finally! I was nice and energized for my upper-body weight lifting session today. You may notice I do more upper-body than lower. This is because 1) I torture my legs enough with running, biking, step-class and other forms of cardio and 2) I’m actually trying to bulk up!! I have naturally scrawny limbs so I’m trying to get some solid definition happening. I still do at least one full-body workout a week, but an excess of squats and lunges aggravates an old hip injury.

Anyways! Today’s workout was stolen from the March issue of Oxygen Magazine. I don’t love a lot of fitness magazines geared towards women, but this one I do because it has real and useful information. (and THANKS to Janetha for the subscription :D ) The moves were designed to be divided into different days, but I threw them all together :)

 

Exercise Weights Reps Sets
Alternating Chest Sets:      
Machine chest press 40 lbs 6-8 4
Incline dumbbell fly 15 lb dumbbells 6-8 4
Alternating Back Sets:      
Barbell bent-over row 60 lbs 6-8 4
Close-grip lat pulldown 75 lbs 6-8 4
Alternating Shoulder Sets:      
Seated dumbbell shoulder press  17.5 lb dumbbells 6-8 4
Cable lateral shoulder raise 5 lbs 6-8 4
Alternating Bicep Sets:      
EZ bar preacher curl 30 lbs 6-8 3
One arm cable curl 12.5 lbs 6-8 3
Alternating Tricep Sets:      
Forward tricep extension 20 lbs 6-8 3
Bent-over dumbbell kickback 12.5 lb dumbbells 6-8 3

Heckyes. I warmed up on the elliptical for 15 minutes first, then I finished it off with 10 minutes on the stepmill and a random assortment of crunches and planks. My arms were shaking by the end!

I was a hungryhungryhippo by the time I primped and got outta there. I usually have my lunch bag open before I even get my office door unlocked.

IMG_4905

Same thing as yesterday! Greek yogurt, stevia, strawberries, almond butter, homemade granola.

IMG_4908

Love that little peek of morning sunshine :) I know I was all “what’s the big deal” about greek yogurt in the beginning, but I think I was able to truly appreciate its greatness today. It’s nice to not have to add extra protein to yogurt. Plus, the thick texture is pretty amazing. Kinda like Cool Whip, which I admittedly have a huge soft spot for.

Snacks – yes snackS, because I ate two today – were a fresh batch of homemade protein bars. This time in Cherry Dark Chocolate. Take that Kashi!!

IMG_4903

  • 2 cups (dry) rolled oats
  • 2 scoops (60g) vanilla protein powder
  • 2 scoops (60g) chocolate protein powder
  • 5 tbsp almond butter
  • 2 tbsp dried cherries, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chocolate chunks
  • 1/2 cup water

All stirred up until powder is just dissolved, and mix is crumbly/sticky (not gooey!!). Flattened into a 9×9 pan and left to harden in the fridge. Makes 8 bars. I haven’t calculated the exact nutritionals on these, but I assume they’re around 200 calories each and 16g protein. The basic recipe is always the same, I just change the add-ins, kinds of nut butter, and protein powder flavour.

Oh yes, and it was delicious!! Both times! ;)

I was out of the office editing a promotional video all day, so I got to come home for lunch. I thought of making something fancy, but got lazy and just ate my packed lunch while watching The View.

IMG_4916 
Maple smoked salmon sandwich with laughing cow cheese, honey mustard, fresh dill and spinach. Between the honey mustard and maple flavour, it was sweet!

The usual beta carotene on the side…

IMG_4913

Speaking of the View, I am so sick of hearing about famous men having marital affairs. Ugh. Can we please stop giving those men airtime? Thanks.

Supper! IMG_4920

Look familiar? My meatloaf pizza was so good yesterday, I wanted to eat it the exact same way today!

IMG_4926

Just as delicious the second go around. This is definitely being added to my list of favourites!

 

I don’t have much to ramble about today, but I thought it would be useful to share some of my favourite weight lifting resources. I will fess up – I have two big goals I want to achieve with this blog: I want to address anxiety disorders, and I want to get women weight lifting! Different, kind of, but I’m sure connections can be made.

Anyways, if you’re looking for some weight lifting inspiration, get click-happy!

Men’s Health
Women’s Health (although Men’s Health is better)
Bodybuilding.com
http://exrx.net/
Oxygen Magazine
Fitness RX

And my absolute bible for weightlifting moves can be found here:

http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

It’s a directory of copious amounts of moves. I still like reading other magazines like Shape and Fitness from time to time. While I think they’re mostly fluff, I have stumbled upon some great moves and workouts in them before. Basically, if it’s got fitness in it, I’ll read it! :)

 

Okay, so let’s expand on my list: what’s your favourite fitness and exercise resource?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers