Meatloaf Pizza and Goal Check-In!

Ooohhhh maannnn. Anyone else have a rough Monday? I think it was a combination of having a busy weekend, plus the time change. I didn’t have a great sleep last night and felt like a cranky zombie until about 2pm. Spin class didn’t even do it for me. It was far more torturous than it usually is. In fact, most people had that “just been run over by a truck look.”

Oh, and my day totally got started off on the wrong foot. I went to put my contacts in first thing this morning, except, they weren’t in the case. I dug my finger all through the solution and couldn’t find them. After a couple minutes, I realized they were still in my eyes. Even worse, they’d been in since Saturday!! I woke up with crusty eyes Sunday morning and briefly thought I was getting pink eye. Then I forgot all about it and wore my glasses all day! Then I woke up with super dry and crusty eyes again today and was really grossed out realizing they were still on my eyeballs. *shudder*

Aaaanyways, moving on! Desk-breakfast was solid today. I’m finally starting to get used to these! (I used to hate cold breakfasts)

IMG_4887
Greek yogurt, almond butter, stevia, fresh strawberries, homemade granola. It’s a classic combo for a reason.

Lunch was the exact same salad I had last night, just in giant tupperware.

IMG_4888

Highlights of the salad were definitely the pickled beets and tzatziki. SO good! It also contained pieces of my first ever attempt at cooking pork. I over-cooked it, which I suppose is better than under-cooking it :\ I picked it up because two pork tenderloins were one-third the price of two chicken breasts. Holy shit.

IMG_4889
I always put half the spinach on the top so I’m not left with a bunch of dry spinach at the end.

Highlight of the day definitely came at 2pm (when my mood improved!). My boss lent me his car to run an errand and had The Beatles’ Rubber Soul album in the CD player. I cranked it, rolled down the window to let the spring air in, and sang along to Think For Yourself. Good times :)

Dinner was, ahem, “inspired” by this magazine I stole from my mom’s house (busted) which you can get for free at Sobey’s. (Canadian grocery store)

IMG_4893
Always on the lookout for high-protein dinners, this Crustless Meatloaf Pizza caught my eye.

IMG_4890

From the website:

1 cup Compliments Balance Tomato & Herbs Pasta Sauce, divided

1/3 cup dry unseasoned bread crumbs (I used panko)

1 egg, beaten

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tbsp dried Compliments Italian Seasoning (I used Kirkland no-salt seasoning)

1/4 tsp each salt and pepper

1 lb extra lean ground beef (I used extra-lean ground turkey)

1 cup Compliments Finely Shredded Pizza Cheese Blend (used 3/4 cup Kraft shredded old cheddar)

2 cups assorted vegetables such as sliced onion, red and green peppers and mushrooms (I used artichoke hearts, onions, mushrooms, yellow pepper, spinach and tomatoes)

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F (200°C). Place 3 tbsp (45 mL) pasta sauce in a large bowl; stir in bread crumbs, egg, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Crumble in the beef and mix gently to combine. Press evenly onto a 12-inch (30 cm) rimmed pizza pan.
  2. Spread the remaining sauce evenly over the beef. Sprinkle with cheese and top with vegetables. Bake, on the lowest rack, for 15 to 20 min. or until the pizza is set and the cheese is bubbly. Cut into wedges and serve.

IMG_4897

My kitchen takes crappy photos, but I wanted to get a shot of it as a “pie” :)

The yumminess in some natural light with steamed veggies topped with coconut…

IMG_4900

HOLY CRAP YOU GUYS. This was so good. If you like meatloaf, make it now!!!

I went back for seconds ;)

 

Okay, it’s Monday, which means it’s time to check in on my March Goals:


1. Work on getting my car sold and apartment subletted.
Apartment is 85% subletted! I have someone who has offered to take it, but I still need to get a deposit and signature from him (should be Wednesday). As soon as that happens, then it’s officially done! I also cleaned out my car and took pictures of it yesterday, so I’ll be posting ads for it soon too.

2. Apply for a bazilion jobs in Toronto. Definitely lagging on this. But I’m not stressing about it that much. I know no matter what I do, I’ll have enough money to at least survive, so that’s comforting…

3. Take more initiative at work so I can finish my contract knowing I made a mark. I’ve been really busy at work, but people are at least noticing the time and effort I put into it, which means a lot :)

4. Learn as much as I can about personal training. I lagged on this last week! I still have to complete my online lessons, which will be time consuming. Hoping to get that done in the evenings this week – I start my in-class learning this Saturday at a gym in Saint John!!

5. Run outdoors again. CHECK!! I got three, surprisingly “easy,” miles in on Saturday. I’m hoping to get another outdoor run in after work this Wednesday :)

 

Question of the Day: How are you doing on your goals for this month?

Bonus question: Do you sing in the car? I do. No shame.

Posted on March 15, 2010, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. wow. Looks amazing! I sing in the car too. :)

  2. Pizza and meatloaf…will have to try this one day. Goals are going well and I sing when the mood strikes.

  3. it probably grosses you out that i leave my contacts in for months at a time…

    i also could never wonder if they were in or out, because i am nearly blind without them.

    anyway!

    love your meatloaf pizza. actually i call it meatza! i made it way back when:

    http://mydiet-tracker.com/weight_loss_forums/viewthread.cfm?f=1&t=54040

    there are photos there!

    i didnt make march goals, but you are doing great on yours. hooray for the apt getting subletted!

    i sing, no shame.

    love you!

  4. So funny, I was just looking at that recipe today and planned on adding the ingredients to my grocery list this week. :) Thanks for the review.

    PS. Who DOESN’T sing in their car? I’m so guilty of blaring the tunes and singing at the top of my lungs.

  5. I am printing the meatloaf recipe and cannot wait to make it!

  6. Um. Today sucked big monkey balls.

    Seriously.

    I hate it.

  7. Sorry about the rough day! Mine was just crazy. It seemed like the day flew by though, so at least its over! Onward and upward (while singing LOUD in the car!). :)

  8. Ugh, I had a totally off day too! I want to say it has to do with the time change, and the new moon (Actually Averie from Love Veggies and Yoga was talking about this today!) Really sluggish and just plain BLAH.

    Anywho… that meatloaf pizza looks so interesting!!

    My goals are going ok… still working on them!!

    And I LOVE to sing in the car, too bad I don’t own one now! :P

    xo
    K

  9. you are really doing well with your goals! I also need to work more on studying my personal training text book. Maybe we can push each other to complete our courses and pass our exams!

  10. AMAZING DINNER! and awesome job on your goals girl!!

  11. I might be crazy, but I can wear my contact for 1-2 weeks in a row and it not bother me. I can’t imagine that’d be good for my eyes though.

    And wow, that dinner looks amazing. I will definitely be saving this recipe.

    I sing all the time in the car. Ain’t no shame :).

  12. Hello comfort food!!! That looks amazing–oddly enough I was thinking about making both separately this wk!

    I sing all the time in the car, I am surprised I havent broke the windows yet since I am tone deaf.

  13. Can I just note that your meatloaf pizza looks BETTER than the one in the magazine picture. You’re a professional! =)

    I sing in the car SO much. There was a show (I think on MTV?!) that involved putting secret cameras in a person’s car and watching them sing and make fools of themselves. I could totally see myself being on one of those episodes because I ROCK OUT lol
    Guess that’s the downside of driving so much

    Nicole G

  14. I am deathly afraid of meatloaf, but that sounds great! Did it have nutritional stats in the magazine?
    I’m at about 33% on reaching my March goals. I have definitely NOT eaten less fruit and we haven’t tried out the 2 new activities yet, but I have completely revamped my workouts with more focus on weights. I am hoping to see some serious results by the end of the month.

    • Hey Heidi! The stats from the magazine are: 240 calories, 24 g protein, 10g fat, 11g carbs per 1/4 pizza. But mine were a little different because I used turkey instead of beef and less cheese :)

  15. Ugh. My goals are not going well. I need to be blanketing the world with job applications, but for some reason I’m dragging my feet.

    Love the spinach on top trick!!

  16. I not only sing in the car, I perform. I blast music and sing my little heart out. If I’m on a longish car trip I usually lose my voice…

  17. Hmm I don’t think I sing in the car…often. Heehee. I took a “sick” day today so it wasn’t bad (but tomorrow’s going to SUCK)…plus it’s getting crazy nice here in So Cal so I took my dog for a glorious, sunny walk. Good times.

  18. my kitchen takes good pics from 11am-3pm. 2 hrs on either side of that are fair. but basically all dinner shots suck. big time. your pics = perfect!

    goals. you’re trying to sublet and apt..Im trying to organize in interstate move for a family of 3 while coordinating the sale of a home and managing my life, child, and family while making it look like mary poppins: easy and effortless. suffice to say, life is FULL right now… :)

  19. Oh my gosh i have a pathological fear of that happening to me with contacts…Did you get them out okay?..
    The hypochondriac in me is convinced i’ll go BLIND if i accidently forget to take them out…
    So im hoping your beautiful eyes are okay!

    While i wish that your spin class had been more enjoyable i really appreciate your carefree attitude to exercise..You don’t take it too seriously and i love that..I often feel like i have.to.enjoy every workout and put so much pressure on myself to have fun that i get ridiculously nervous beforehand scared that i wont enjoy myself…crazy eh?..
    So.. lesson learned from you: It’s OKAY to have a crappy workout..Just make up for it by having yummy meatloaf pizza!
    woohoooo!
    xoxox

    • I used to put a lot of pressure on myself when working out too! Especially when running, I’d get so stressed out before a run that it was going to be a bad one. But statistically speaking, when you’re working out 5-6 times a week, it’s impossible for every session to be awesome. Just gotta go with the flow and cut your losses. A crappy workout is still sometime better than none at all :)

      Oh, and the contacts were super easy to get out because they made my eyes so dry!!

  20. I have always worn my contacts for weeks at a time so I finally got some that are approved for overnight wear up to a month. Of course I usually go two.

    I do sing in the car. I don’t even have to like the song…I sing along to just about anything. I’m sure it’s annoying on car trips. I obviously don’t sing well since when my daughter was a baby she used to say mommy please don’t sing! lol

    Goals are going so-so…I’m excersing a lot at least.

  21. taking contacts out that have been on your eyes for too long is THE WORST.
    meatloaf pizza…that’s different!
    I totally sing in the car!

  22. Yikes at the contacts! Are your eyes okay? Did you have weird double-powered vision when you wore glasses at the same time? (That sounds like a dumb question, but I am curious since I don’t wear glasses/contacts!)

    Coconut on vegetables is a genuis idea! Must try.

    Your tzatziki is making me really jealous. I was so close to buying some this weekend but picked up baba ganoush instead. No bueno :(

    • Hahaha, I think my vision was a little better? I didn’t drive that day, and I really only need my glasses for driving. My apartment is so small I can’t really tell the difference because nothing is far away enough to be fuzzy :P

  23. Good idea of putting the spinach leaves on top! I always have leftover leaves, too :)
    Sorry about the eyeballs :( Remember to take you contacts out tonight! hehe

  24. ALWAYS sing the car. no shame at all. usually to broadway tunes, which make for extra obnoxious hand gestures.

    meatloaf pizza is SO cute! i love it!

  25. Had to leave a comment- tried the meatloaf pizza tonight and it was amazing! I had to change things a little – chili sauce and organic ketchup instead of pasta sauce, flax and water for the egg, and wheat bran. I also made it an individual size. It was the perfect thing to eat as I watched my kids devour real pizza!

    Keep up the personal training studying – well worth it and always good stuff to read!

    Cindy

  1. Pingback: Fitness and Exercise Resources « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Good Sweat, Good Eats | The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

