Out of Hibernation

Success!!

IMG_4799

I finally ran outdoors today!! Oooh, it was awesome! But I’ll tell ya all about it in a second ;)

First, I was rudely awakened by my alarm at 6am on a Saturday because I had to work :( I’d been planning on an outdoor run this afternoon, but still did an exercise DVD in case I wouldn’t be able to squeeze the run in. 50 minutes of Jillian Michaels’ No More Trouble Zones. It’s mostly a strength-based DVD using hand weights and bodyweight. I like it!

And that “old favourite” I prepared last night? The breakfast cookie!!

IMG_4773 
Oooohhhh man. I used to eat one of these every single Sat & Sun when I was working the 5am shift every weekend at the radio station. It’s been too long! (for the breakfast cookie, not the 5am shift).

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • cinnamon
  • raisins
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp butternut squash baby food

Mixed all up in a bowl, flattened on a plate, and left in the fridge to harden overnight.

IMG_4775
I usually eat these with my hands, but decided I wanted to “frost” it with yogurt, thus a fork was required. It was awesome! My homemade protein bars by the way, are essentially breakfast cookies with extra protein powder. Easy peasy!

Work actually wasn’t that bad today. I was working with a film crew to capture a student event. I wasn’t stuck at a desk or anything :)

I was feeling experimental when I came home, so I decided to try my hand at Heather’s homemade coconut butter. An extra source of fat? Yesplease!

I started with a bag of cheap unsweetened shredded coconut.

IMG_4779 
Dumped into my food processor…

IMG_4781
And processed!

IMG_4785 
…and processed…

IMG_4788
I added a tablespoon of coconut oil, but it still wasn’t getting nice and creamy like I’d pictured. Perhaps it was my cheap, dried-out coconut? Would it be better toasted?

Whatever, coconut is coconut and I still have a jar of a tasty oat topper :)

IMG_4792

I felt my intense food processing was adequate warm-up for my first outdoor run of the season!! A momentous occasion indeed. According to my blog archives, November 14 was the last time I ran outdoors (in similar conditions actually – 6C, or 42F).

After exactly four months of running maybe 5-10 miles a week on the treadmill, I had absolutely no expectations for today’s run. I didn’t get to take my favourite trail as parts of it are still snow covered. Instead, I took the more populated road to downtown along the river. A quick out-and-back route that took me about 29 minutes. One thing I noticed right away is that my cardiovascular abilities have improved a lot! I wasn’t huffing and puffing like I used to and my heart didn’t feel like it was going to beat out of my chest :P It’s definitely going to take my legs a little while to adjust again though. They were a little shocked today!

IMG_4804
Solid run folks. Felt good to dust off my running hat :D

It was 4pm by the time I got back, and I technically hadn’t eaten a “real meal” since my breakfast cookie (ie just lots of snacks to hold me over). So I dug deep into my cupboards and came up with this:

IMG_4807

Canned salmon and Health Valley lentil soup.

It was still missing something though, so I then burrowed into the freezer and pulled out this:

IMG_4808 
I never have any memory of buying these blocks of spinach, and yet there’s always some in my freezer?

After a little curry, maple syrup and 15 minutes to simmer on the stove, I had this fabulous bowl:

IMG_4817
Impressed. I’ll definitely be buying this lentil soup again! I’ve heard people complain that Health Valley is bland because it has no salt, but I just see it as a blank canvas. I can add any flavouring I want!

After dinner I put an official end to No Grocery Week and spent a ludicrous amount of money on groceries, undoing all the savings from this past week. A stocked fridge just makes me happy :)

Then it was off to another play being put on at my university. Technically, more “work” but watching plays doesn’t really feel like work. Once again I was impressed by the talent my school has to offer!

Now it’s waaaay past my bedtime. Not to mention, losing an hour tonight with Daylight Savings! Hope y’all had a great Saturday!

 

Question of the Day: Do you exercise outdoors in the winter? I don’t. It gets cold and I just can’t handle the harsh air. Especially when it comes to running, it’s dangerous with the ice! And then there’s the summer, where I have to be out there at 5am before the insane heat sets in. Yes, I am a running princess :P

Posted on March 14, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. I do exercise outdoors in the winter, but I don’t live in Canada. :)

    Glad you felt so good on your first outdoor run of the season. Sounds like you stayed in great shape over the winter Susan!

    Mmm, coconut butter. I bet it will taste amazing on top of some custard oats, creamy or not. Everyone keeps getting different results. I haven’t tried it with the flakes, only the shredded coconut. Maybe it was processing time? Another girl said her processor ran for 20 minutes before it got creamy.

    Enjoy your Sunday!

    • I’ll definitely keep experimenting with it!! I think I processed for close to 20 minutes, but called it quits when my little food processor starting smoking :P

  2. I do sometimes, but frankly, I just don’t live in a great area for outdoor exercise EVER. No shoulders on the roads, lots of hills, loose unfamiliar animals, no lighting….recipe for disaster. I’m a domesticated animal.

    Also, I’m going to make a batch of your protein bars right now. If they suck, I’m blaming you! :)

    • Haha, no way! You’re a breakfast cookie pro, you’ve got it in the bag!

      P.S. I bought dried cherries today specifically to try your version of the breakfast cookie :)

  3. Congrats on the run! That’s awesome that you didn’t burn out. I remember trying to run outside after a “treadmill phase” and it was like I’d never ran before in my life!

    I totally broke down and bought a jar of artisana coconut butter. I won’t ever know how to replicate it if I never try the original…right?!?

  4. YAY FOR RUNNING OUTSIDE! warm weather owns my life. i HATE cold ness. heck no i dont exercise in the cold!

  5. I am out of hibernation, cause it’s been so damn hot here. Honestly if I wouldn’t have gone running by about 6am I would have died. But today I was determined to get outside and did 6.6km (run/walk) at about 8am. It was awesome. I call it heateration. I do love being outside, espeically in spring/autumn. Here it’s too rainy/windy at times during the winter to get anything done outside. I am glad that it was a good run for you.

  6. Hooray for the return of outdoor exercises! I’ve still been walking outside but it’s been pretty uncomfortable. So glad that spring is arriving :D

    The coconut topping sounds great- my guess it that toasting it would dry it out more?

  7. I live in San Diego so I shall skip the question. However, I will say that I really need to go on a “no grocery” week…although I know it won’t happen. I have so much random stuff in my freezer and fridge right now that I have no room! It’s a bit of a problem ;-)

  8. I am a wuss if its below 0, no running for me! Its been a bit milder here so I’ve been able to get out though!

  9. 20 mins is what ive heard on the coconut butter. i havent tried it b/c i only have a vita and not a food proc and have heard i need to leave my vita running for 20 mins too which i dont have earplugs handy for that :)

    And i bet at the point where your is, IF you had a vita and put it in there for even 1-2 mins it would take it at that point and totally smooth it out. Like food proc to start, vita to finish. Sounds like allota work though :)

    I love that you made it…and it inspires me to try in the vita for real! :)

  10. Congrats on the run outside! I do NOT work out outside in the winter, unless it is WARM! I ran outside for the first time a week ago and it was glorious… I love Spring!

    And I wish I had a food processor… h-m coconut butter sounds so incredible, I keep eyeing it on everyone’s blogs!!!

    xo
    K

  11. Congrats on your first outdoor run! I bet that was exciting after a long and dreary winter. I am going on my first outdoor run this weekend too.. I am getting ready to head out in an hour or so.. your enthusiasm has given me extra motivation :) I actually like to exercise outside in the winter. When I lived in Sweden, I would take walks in the snow, ice skating and skiing. It was hard to get used to the first winter but after awhile you just realize it’s all about the layers! Enjoy your weekend! xoxo

  12. That sure is an interesting looking jar you have the coconut butter in……..

    It’s just so nice to be outdoors, isn’t it? I love it. The gym is good for those days where I just want to bust out a run when the weather is bad, but an outdoor activity just feels so much more vitalizing!

    I can take some cold. I’ll bike when it is in the 40s, and run in the 30s, but I don’t prefer that weather. :)

  13. Yay to the breakfast cookie I think I might have one tomorrow so good! The coconut looks yummy, I used to run in the winter always until my back went, hopefully I’ll be back out soon! x

  14. Woohoo for a run outside!! That is something us snow bunnies don’t take for granted! I only go for walks outside when it’s warm.

    I’ve never tried coconut butter but the homemade version looks great!

  15. When I was living in Maine I ran outdoors until the roads were too icy!

  16. Well since I’m not a runner, I actually don’t ever workout outdoors…but whenever it is 50s or above and not raining I do go on decent walks with my daughter and the dog. :D

    Great job on your outdoor run!

  17. Congrats on your first outdoor run of the year! I just ran an 8k yesterday (PDR :)) and man it was tough. That wind can be a b*tch!!

    Oh,and I’m so not hardcore with outdoor workouts. I want it to be perfect–ie not too hot, not too cold, sunny, and no wind! Ha, doesn’t happen often in Oklahoma!

  18. Yeah for your first outdoor run of the season, glad to hear it went well too!

    We’ve had such great running weather lately here in NS. I’ve been out a lot lately. I’ve been running outside all Winter and at first I found it hard with the cold but after proper gear adjustments it was all good. I also enjoy a nice walk on a sunny, crisp day.

    • We definitely lucked out with our weather this spring! I’d planned on running outside through the winter… but I couldn’t justify spending the money on gear when I was already paying a gym membership.

      Alright, and I’m a wuss too :P

  19. your running hat is adorable!! I can’t wait to run outside, but I won’t venture out there until it’s 60 degrees or warmer. I think only newsies would understand the pain of a 5am weekend shift, ugh! can’t wait til my weekend work days are over! :)

  20. I love the outdoors, but just can’t do it in the winter! Of course the 3 races I’ve run this winter were 30 degrees or below, all of which totally shocked my body, in a good way, I think. I am ready to get back outside now – I’ve done enough yoga and cycle classes, my body needs a change.

  21. I never exercise outside when it’s cold! LOL! I’m a baby!

    I really want to make that coconut butter! Hmm.. I wonder if I have coconut? Off to go look!!

  22. hooray for an outdoor workout! i bet you loved that. that is great that your cardiovascularness (not a word) improved. stellar! i looove that brand of soups. actually i like that they arent too salty b/c i hate salt. anywho, off to read your next one!

  23. I’m a total wuzz and so I tend to avoid cold weather workouts (with the exception of short hikes). I also don’t run outdoors until it starts to get close to 10C! lol Bad I know!!! Total
    opposite of my co-worker that won’t run outdoors unless it’s UNDER 10 degrees!

  24. outdoor runs = love.

    and i love the looks of that soup. i always forget to “beef” up soups by doing this. and you added curry, which you know i totally appreciate.

    have a great monday :)

  25. I read this last night…and promptly started experimenting myself! I think you just need to leave it in the food processor a bit longer to get the smoother, creamier coconut butter. (obviously not with a smoking processor) I just blogged about my experience here http://run-di-run.blogspot.com/2010/03/or-maybe-some-pb.html

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf Pizza and Goal Check-In! « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

