A Sugary Sunday

Crap. Is the weekend really over? I’m pretty bitter over that lost hour – I coulda used it!

I slept in till 8am today which is pretty much unheard of for me. Except, seeing as it was well past midnight before I went to bed, it doesn’t add up to much extra sleep :(

Decided to take a rest day since I worked out twice on Saturday. Rest days call for fancy breakfasts in bed :)

IMG_4818 
Protein pancakes! This is a new recipe that I sort of made up as I went along, and turned out delicious!

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • cinnamon
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1/4 cup soy milk

IMG_4827

Topped with coconut, fresh strawberries and sugar-free syrup. Remember when I was complaining about frozen strawberries earlier in the week? Well, fresh ones were on sale for $5/5lbs. And they’re pretty tasty too! They’re the giant strawberries… in season in California maybe?

IMG_4829 
I was pretty proud of myself for making up a decent batch of pancakes on a whim like this. However, my usual protein pancakes/waffles with oatmeal and cottage cheese aren’t quite as dry.

Lunch featured some maple smoked salmon.

IMG_4834
On a english muffin with honey mustard, fresh dill, spinach and swiss cheese. Delicious!!! I’m on a dill kick, it adds such an interesting flavour!

Shortly after I had a chat with Holly about our upcoming adventure to Banff, Alberta! Those of you who are interested in coming, expect an e-mail soon. I booked my flights last week and will be booking our accommodations in Banff tomorrow. I am SO excited. I’ve been to California, but I’ve never been to Western Canada before. I can’t wait to see the mountains!!!

Then, it was on to more serious business. Brownie making business.

I saw this recipe from Zesty Cook for chocolate caramel brownies and knew it would make for a perfect Treat Monday contribution. I’m all for healthy-fying sweets, but not when I’m sharing them with other people. Let’s face it, healthy substitutions just plain suck when compared to the real thing :P

I didn’t double-check the recipe before I bought groceries yesterday, so I didn’t have all the right ingredients. But I still made do!

Started by mixing up a Duncan Hines chocolate fudge brownie pack as per the instructions on the box. I baked a little over half of it for about 15 minutes.

IMG_4840

As that was baking, in a pot I melted a package of Kraft caramels with 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup soy milk (less than what the recipe calls for – it seemed like a lot!)

IMG_4837

IMG_4839
Poured the caramel sauce on top of the brownies with chocolate chips…

IMG_4843
And added the rest of the brownie batter!

IMG_4846
It took a while for the rest to bake, 20-30 minutes? I really should have timed it as the bottom got a little crunchy. I just wasn’t in a precise mood today I guess ;)

IMG_4848
I cut it up into 25 little squares THREE of which I ate! Three brownies people!! Not to mention licking the bowl. But that’s a given.

brownie
Get these away from me asap! They are sooooo good! I actually felt a little sick after my brownie consumption as I’m not used to digesting so much crappy sugar at once :P Thankfully, I have my co-workers to pawn them off on for Treat Monday.

I made up for my mass brownie consumption with a giant salad for dinner.

IMG_4877

  • spinach
  • onions
  • mushrooms
  • bell pepper
  • tomatoes
  • pickled beets
  • artichoke hearts
  • olives
  • grilled pork tenderloin
  • feta cheese
  • tzatziki

I used Liberty tzatziki which was absolutely fab. Thick and creamy, with a nice garlicky flavour to it.

IMG_4876

Might I add the pickled beets were also a wonderful addition. Thanks to Emily for helping me get the guts to try them!! (and now I officially feel like an old man for loving them)

IMG_4883

Short and sweet post tonight folks, I’ve got a 6am date with a spin bike. I have a feeling I’ll be sweating brownie batter out my pores :P

 

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite sweet treat? Cookies? Brownies? Cake? Cupcakes? Ice cream? Donuts? Pastries? I am 100% a cookie and brownie person. You could dangle any other sweet treat in front of me and I wouldn’t care. But that is definitely not the case with cookies and brownies!!

Posted on March 14, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. I love sweets. Chewy, fudgy brownies. Soft, gooey cookies. Buttery ice cream. Moist chocolate cake. You name it, I love it.

  2. Those brownies look awesome! Good job on taking something regular and making it AMAZING!

    I just made a cake last night that I blogged about so that’s what I’m currently eating. Although, I’m more of a cookie girl…I’ll take whatever I can get ha!

  3. Hmm, what if you like ALL of those things? haha. Definitely the things I can resist the least are ice cream and brownies..and now I really want those caramel brownies!

  4. OH those brownies! My weakness is ice cream, which I had two bowls of tonight – Malted Milk Ball Gelato. Now I feel bloated and lethargic, it sure was good going down though. I love tzatziki, but never buy it, great idea!

  5. oooo – those brownies look good!

    I love *love* pralines. I cannot get enough of them and just eating 1? Fugedaboudit! Try 3 or 4….. or 5.

  6. GAH those brownies look DANGEROUS! yum. i need to make them for the office. love the new protein pancake recipe! looks like they turned out nice and would have lots of protein. im ice cream for lifer all the way. this weekend was too short, but i love DST because it stays light longer! hope your monday is fun~ i am sure the brownies will be a hit!! xoxo

  7. I can’t think of a sweet treat I don’t love that’s why they’re banned right now!

  8. I’m actually not a brownie person. They’re ok. But I’d rather not eat them.

    I like tart frozen yogurt, cupcakes with lots of frosting, and cookie cake!

  9. OMG those brownies look amazing!!! I wouldn’t even get that far with heating the caramels b/c I would be eating them!

    I am an ice cream person. I try not to keep it in the house but if I do, it’s the sing;e serving portions.

  10. @ your question of the day: ALL OF THE ABOVE :P hehe, actually….I’m not a big chocolate person. Although I do like brownies from time to time….or super DARK chocolate. Chocolate cake and/or ice cream? Not so much. But I’ve got to say that my favorite is cookies, with cupcakes coming in at a close 2nd. And my absolute number one pick? White chocolate macadamia nut cookies. They are my DRUG.

    Whoa, clearly talking about sweets makes me all sorts of crazy, haha!

  11. I love brownies!! I never thought to melt caramel on top, yum! It would be totally dangerous for me to have those around. I also get a little queasy after eating too much cake, brownies or cookies.

  12. I love cookies…and cake..and brownies…I have a huge sweet tooth. I have to check out that Liberte tzaziki, it looks awesome.

  13. I saw those brownies when you posted on FB…they look incredible! Tzatziki = LOVE. I am so hooked on that stuff- have you ever made your own? I keep considering it but with the price of Greek yogurt here, I think buying it made works out cheaper.

    Fave sweet treat- I love muffins! And big crumbly scones like the ones they have in the US. British scones are more kind of bready-doughy. Still delish, but NY knows what’s up on the scone front.

  14. I just had to wipe the drool off my screen. Best dessert ive seen in a month or more, thank you for that!!!!!!!!! Nice work girl!!!!!!! I will be making these for scott right about the time i need something major, this will be my trick up my sleeve :)

  15. I have known those brownies by the title ‘Better Than Sex Brownies’ and boy howdy are they good.

  16. *de-lurk alert*
    I wanted to come out of hiding to say how much i love your blog..
    You Ooooooze vitality and life..It’s so inspiring..
    and also rather terrifying (hehe..hence my lurking for so long!)
    Stunning mind, body and spirit!
    I really admire you..
    I also envy you for those brownies..
    damn they look good!
    Chillel. x

    • Awww, thank you so much Chillel, you just made my Monday morning! :D I’d totally share those brownies with you if I could…I need to get rid of them!! :P

  17. Those brownies do look dangerous!!

  18. I am a cookies and brownies person too :)

    Mmmm…i’m gonna have to try those pancakes sometime.

  19. I want to eat that caramel sauce with a spoon! I am definitely an ice cream gal

  20. I’m totally a cookie person. The only advantage to being gluten free is that I can’t impulse eat as much! If I want cookies or brownies I have to make them!

  21. I’m definitely a cupcakes person … especially gourmet, extra-fancy cupcakes. My work is ordering cupcakes from a cupcake specialty store in town (Crave cupcakes) … and I don’t think I have enough will power to resist! Aah!

  22. Those pancakes look fantastic! I’m kinda wishing I had them for breakfast this morning….;)

  23. I’m pretty sure I would have eaten a lot more than 3 of those! YUM! I bet your house smelled amazing.

    I’m a donut girl! LOVE THEM!

  24. chocolate chip cookies are my weakness – home made by the way, but I don’t discriminate.

  25. ummm hand over a brownie and no one gets hurt. ohhhh wait…i think these would make EXCELLENT hiking fuel in banff :)

  26. I love all desserts. I have little will power in that arena. Luckily I am pretty good about balancing portions and not stuffing my face like I used to do. Those brownies sure do look amazing though.

  27. Yum – your brownies look delish! I’m definitely an ice cream girl but brownies are a close second, for sure! :)

  28. Those pancakes & brownies look amazing! And what an easy recipe, too =D

    I LOVE dessert… ice cream and brownies are my fave, and I love cookies too!! I could take or leave cake and donuts.

    xo
    K

  29. Those panakes actually look great! You definitely deserve a gourmet breakfast in bed :) And I completely agree about the hour – I almost feel jet lagged!
    Those brownies look SO decadent. I wouldn’t have had ANY self-control around those puppies. haha
    Have a great Monday, sweetie!

  30. I am an ice cream fanatic, have been my whole life, but those brownies look absolutely amazing. I wouldn’t turn one down ;)
    Have a great time in Banff, it is an incredible place. I spent 2 weeks hiking there in 2003 and was in heaven. Not many Americans know about how stunning the Canadian Rockies are and I feel lucky to have gone. In the next couple years I will definitely be going back.

  31. Wow those brownies do look good, I love cake and chocolate! I’m looking forward to my easter egg! x

  1. Pingback: Meatloaf Pizza and Goal Check-In! « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: experimentation station. « meals & moves

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

