Q&As – Round Eleventeen

Hiya! Well, Monday is behind us, on to my least favourite day of the week… Tuesday. Ugh. What a waste of a day Tuesday is :P

A lot of you have food allergies and intolerances! Most popular being dairy and gluten. Although a couple mentioned people they know with allergies to onions which would SUCK. So would a nut allergy.

Anyways, my Monday started fabulously as it does every week now with an RPM spin class. This morning was a little tough though, more so than usual. But I still finished class strong, leaving happy and endorphin-ated :)

Got to the office and attacked one of my new fave desk-breakfasts.

IMG_4175

  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 stevia packet
  • 1/3 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup faux-nola granola

Morning snack was, dare I say, the best homemade granola bar yet!!

homemade protein bar
Apple cinnamon flavour. Should have known the one with the cinnamon would be the winner ;)

Lunch!

IMG_4172

Nooo, not an apple and more cottage cheese. I’m cheap when it comes to tupperware.

IMG_4168

Last of my leftover tofu potato salad. Will definitely be making this again, in fact, I think it will get a recipe page :)

Lunch dessert was a Mini Egg cookie. The cookies by the way were a total hit at the office. Even the seasoned bakers of the bunch wanted the recipe! I highly recommend them if you’re looking for a solid chocolate chip recipe with something a little different.

This afternoon, I had one of my favourite new snacks.

Beemster cheese

Meat + cheese. Or, Yves meatless roast beef slices wrapped around Beemster cheese. Full fat cheese! Gotta keep my fingernails growing at lightning speed ;)

I always have intentions to run errands after work, but I’m SO hungry by the time the day is over! So per usual, I rushed home and started throwing supper together before I barely had my coat off.
 IMG_4181

That would be a chicken breast coated in egg whites, panko bread crumbs, ground flaxseed and Kirkland no-salt seasoning.

IMG_4185 
Roasted veggies on the side tossed in 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil, pepper and 2 tbsp shredded old cheddar cheese. And yes, I dipped my chicken it kethcup, then went and got some bbq sauce too. Delicious dinner!

 

Q&As – Round Eleventeen

Do you ever worry about getting bored being a personal trainer or about the lack of financial security in that job longterm?
Thanks!
(I think being in a gym all the time would drive me crazy-the lighting, the germs on the machines,the smell of sweat…wondering your thoughts esp since gyms are known to be big carriers of flu bugs, staff infections, skin diseases etc???!)

Funny, whenever I go to the gym now I think to myself “hell yeah I could spend the day working in here.” My gym is really nice though. Big, naturally lit with large windows, well ventilated, etc. Not in some dank basement like many gyms I’ve been to.

In terms of germs, I work in a university right now which is also a breeding ground! College kids aren’t necessarily shining examples of cleanliness and hygiene :P

I also make a point to never worry about financial security. I’m really good at saving money so I always have a nice cushion. Having lots of money has never appealed to me, and I try not to let money deter me from taking risks. I’m a strong believer that if you’re passionate and driven, you can be successful no matter what your chosen profession. Hell, I went into journalism. I made more money as a barista than I did as a reporter!!

I think the most important thing though is that I do not plan on being a personal trainer for the rest of my life. I view it as a starting point for me. I have a really strong desire to help people get healthy, but I want to expand that out of the gym walls and reach a larger audience someday. Okay. My dream is to write for fitness magazines and websites – so what? :P

 

Lori (Finding Radiance) Said:

Question: Is there a food that you hate that really wished you liked? (mine would be fish)

And – do you take any daily vitamins or supplements?

I wish I liked canned pumpkin!! Odd, because I like mushy baby food, but canned pumpkin still makes me gag. I wish I could plump up my oats with that tasteless orange mush, but it just makes them inedible :\

I just started taking fish oil! But besides that, no. I reallyreally should. I say this every time someone brings this topic up. Especially Calcium, Vitamin D and a B complex.

 

helenapooh Said:

How long have you been blogging for? Is it hard to develop the habit to post everyday?

I’ve been blogging for almost one year and two months. I never had trouble getting into the habit of posting regularly. I started blogging during my last semester of university, so I was looking for a way to procrastinate :P I really enjoy it, and it’s something I look forward to doing every day. I will admit to pre-writing posts when I know I’ll be busy though!

 

Lara (Thinspired) Said:

I have no idea how you can tough it out for an entire HOUR on the treadmill! What are your tricks for beating boredom?!

It reeeeally helps when I have some rockin tunes on my iPod. I like upbeat, melodic songs that I can run with. Also, I don’t run “hard” during my long treadmill workouts. When I’m sprinting, I can’t think of anything besides remembering to breathe and counting down the seconds. But when I’m going at a lower intensity, I have an easier time letting my thoughts wander, and that’s entertaining enough :) Also, I never keep it at the same speed or incline for longer than 10 minutes. For my favourite 60 minute treadmill workout, I change the speed every 60 seconds!

 

I think I have just a couple questions left before I wrap up this latest round of Q&As, so if there’s anything else you still want to get in, just leave it in the comments or send it to thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com

 

Question of the Day: What’s one food you dislike that you really wish you liked? Lori doesn’t have to answer this one since she already did :P

Posted on February 22, 2010, in Fun, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. It’s funny – my long treadmill runs go by fast because of tunes as well. I just put on my favorites, keep a lower pace and listen! It helps me to cover up the stats on the treadmill so I don’t stare at the seconds going by….

  2. Yummy granola bar. In all honesty I really wish I liked vegetables. They are so good for you and I just cannot stand the taste. My nutrition teacher said I must be a “super taster” because it’s almost every vegetable, not just a specific one. :(

  3. Eggplant and mushrooms give me the heebie jeebies. I actually just shuttered thinking about their texture. Yuuuuuck.

  4. Cooked bell peppers; they are in so many things but I find them super gaggy.

  5. It’s not food but kind of thankful I never liked coffee or beer. 2 less vices I didn’t need to break.

    Can’t think of a food I wanted to love but didn’t.

  6. I wished I liked blue cheese. It has a strong flavor that I would imagine would be great on salad and burgers, if I liked it! Not sure if it’s the blue coloring or the fact that it’s moldy cheese that turns me off.
    Canned pumpkin was an acquired taste for me, now I love it!

  7. That granola bar looks delish, as does the wonderful cold breakfast. I need to reincorporate cottage cheese into my eats – I haven’t had it in months!

    I also wish I liked canned pumpkin, but I can’t bring myself to eat it. I also really want to love avocado and all its healthy fats, but bleh I just don’t like it =(

    Nicole G

  8. Mine may also be fish…I’m looking into marinades

  9. I wish I liked football. Weekends here are consumed with football games, and I hate every minute of it.

    I also wish that I like going to bars. I feel that I’ve lost a lot of friends because I’m just not interested in partying it up anymore. I’m more of a wine and board games gal! I have the hardest time meeting people that are the same.

  10. eleventeen, my fave number! i think i need to make these apple cinnamon bars. i have never seen one in stores and it simply must be something i try. without raisins. this week. dont let me forget. yay for getting your mag! that was quick. and glad your cookies were a hit! i didnt expect any less. awesome Q&A sesh. as usual. i only hate raisins and hot dogs.. and i am OK with that.. so i have no answer! happy tuesday susan! MWAH

  11. HI babes! Wow, so much to catch up on! I am glad you are doing so well with the fatty february challenge. I have been adding fats, but not in the volumes you have, so I’m not sure if I’m seeing any results yet–one thing I have noticed, however, is that my portions have gone way down and my satiety has gone way up. Especially when I have a hearty protein and fat combo–keeps me full for like ever! You look like a hottie in your new workout clothes :) I’ve missed you! xoxo

  12. Glad your cookies were a hit!! I’ll have to swipe your recipe to make it for work :)

    Great Q&A session! I’m the same way with supplements – I always say I should take them but then I don’t. Oops!! There really isn’t a food that I don’t like that I wish I did. If I don’t like something, I just don’t like it haha!

  13. I dislike most teas, and I really wish I could enjoy them!

  14. I wish I liked bell peppers, asparagus, and olives. I am making strides with olives though. I’ve forced myself to eat the kalamata ones until I liked them. The green and black ones are still not my friends. I tried a similar strategy with peppers but it didn’t work. Asparagus I like only the very, very tips.

    Unfood related I wish I liked yoga. I just really HATE sun salutations. I only like balancing poses.

    I don’t care for green tea much either…and I am the office tea drinker!

    • I’m right there with ya on the sun salutations. Can’t STAND them!!! All the up and down overandover again drives me loopy, and it’s incredibly boring. Why I’ll never get into vinyasa-type yoga. Also why I love hatha, iyengar and yin though, because a lot of it is just stationary poses. Balance poses are also my fave, but I think that’s just because that’s what I’m best at ;)

  15. I’m with you on the tunes. I try to add 5 or 6 songs to my ipod weekly to keep things changing. A good magazine during my cooldowns also helps!
    I’m so easy to please – the only foods I truly dislike are lima beans and anything super spicy. I wish my digestive system could handle the spicy stuff because my hubby loves it!

  16. Hmm, sometimes I wish I liked cheese because it’s in so much stuff! But it’s not ALL that great for you so I guess it’s okay that I don’t like it.

    That granola bar looks AMAZING. I love apple cinnamon flavors of everything!

  17. Cottage cheese and granola is one of my favourite combos- I love it with banana :)

    I wish I liked ginger and citrus fruits- so many things have lemon/lime/oranges in them, and ginger seems to be in everything. There aren’t many foods I dislike, and can quite easily avoid the ones I really hate (pretzels, potato chips- anything crunchy/crispy!)

  18. Great Q&As! I wish I liked fish more…I like it enough to have it occasionally but not enough for it to be in my diet weekly (or even twice a month). Bad.

  19. your pictures look so tasty. yum yum.
    i’m craving cookies today! haha UH OH

  20. i wish wish wish i could like olives and mushrooms, but i can’t! and they tend to be in everything when you least expect it!

    woowoo for spin class and ghetto tupperware containers! that’s how i roll too. what’s the point in buying them when i have a bajillion yogurt containers laying around?

    yay for q+a…thanks for the treadmill tips. you know how much i hate the treadmill, but these should come in handy until i am able to run outside consistently again!!!!

    heart you!

  21. Your b-fast and that potato salad look so good! I always make food as soon as I get home too =)

    I love your answers- I am the same way with money AND on the treadmill!

    I wish I could like steak, sometimes, because my boyf likes it so much but I really do not. I do not wish I liked lima beans and radishes. Yuck. ;)

    xo
    K

  22. I love that potato salad – I hope you will give it a recipe page. I love the variety in your meals!!

  23. Your breakfast always looks so good!

    I wish i like tomatoes, I can eat tinned toms or baby vine toms but the normal size yuk! I just hate them! x x

  24. You know I love that breakfast! But it’d be even better with 1/4 cup of oats in there, just sayin ;)

  25. Ants on a wasa, how funny!! :D

  26. I wish I liked shrimp. I also wish I liked mushrooms. And most people in my life wish I liked cheese but I am glad I don’t like it. Oh but I do wish I liked cottage cheese, though (see why I annoy people?) There might be hope, as it’s only recently that beans, avocado, and eggs have all moved from the “wish I liked” to the “like…ok maybe love!” category

    I sure wish I didn’t like sweets so darn much (but I know that’s not what you asked).

  27. Yay! Thank you for answering my question :) Ok, now my mission is to revamp my iPod so I don’t get bored tomorrow…

    Good idea to use the flax seed as a crust on your meat. I tried almond meal the other day and it didn’t work too great. I’ll try flax next time :)

    Hope you’re having a good week, Susan!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

