Pineapple? Pine-evil.

Boys oh boys, I’m watching the Olympic Canada-US game right now and it’s already action packed! I’m not a huge team sports fan, but as a Canadian, I can appreciate a good game of hockey ;)

Anyways, I did not have the best of days today. It started well, with a bowl of custard oatmeal.

IMG_4090

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup egg whites (stirred in while simmering)
  • cinnamon, vanilla, stevia
  • 2 chopped sates
  • 1 tbsp cashew butter
  • unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp pure maple syrup

IMG_4097

I don’t get to make stove-top oats at home during the week since it takes so long (it’s all about the slow simmer ;) ) so they make for an extra-special weekend treat!

Except, it kicked my sweet-tooth into gear, so I enjoyed a Lindt Fleur de Sel with my morning pot of coffee.

IMG_4099

Just a splash of almond milk in the coffee. Mostly to cool it down.

Then, the trouble started. I opted for a Tropical Fruit Tart Larabar as my pre-workout snack. The sugar from the dates always gives me lots of energy.
 IMG_4102

 IMG_4103
I’ve never tried this flavour before, but didn’t think much of it. Even when I took this photo of the ingredients!

IMG_4105
It was small as always. Larabars are not for volume eaters.

IMG_4109

As I was chowing down on the bar, I looked at the wrapper again and noticed pineapple was listed a the second ingredient. I’m allergic to pineapple!! I didn’t worry too much though, as I’ve eaten crystallized pineapple in the past with no incident. I figured it would be dried pineapple in the bar… right??

Well, whatever it was, it made me sick, real sick. I’ve gone for tests, but apparently vomiting upon consumption of anything pineapple related isn’t a common problem. I ate this at 10:30am and the pain/sickness didn’t subside until 3pm. It’s the kind of pain where I can’t do anything but shrivel up in a ball and moan. I couldn’t even stand the sound of the television. I think I may have drifted in and out of sleep a little, but who knows.

Aaaanyways. I’ve learned my lesson. Absolutely NO pineapple is entering this belly EVER again!

Sometime during the tummy episode, I hoped a settling sandwich might help things along.

IMG_4113

This is my favourite sandwich combo at the moment – PB + protein powder. I took half a scoop of chocolate whey powder and mixed it with water until it formed a goo, then spread it on one side of the bread. PB went on the other side. Delicious.

I actually briefly considered going to the gym once I was able to move again. I had a stellar upper-body sesh planned that I was sad to have to skip. But my mom always says things like this are the universe’s way of telling me to sloooow doooown. So I took the hint, and went to the grocery store instead.

Holly asked if I could show my grocery haul and what’s in my pantry/fridge. So for today’s Q&A I’ll show ya what’s in my grocery bag! (pantry/fridge coming soon!)

First off, I wanted to show you the protein powders I bought after my protein post yesterday.

IMG_4118

By coincidence, I ran out of both chocolate and vanilla today, so I went to GNC to find naturally sweetened powders. On the left is Iso Natural in vanilla flavour and Kaizen Whey Isolate Protein in chocolate flavour on the right. Both are sweetened with stevia.

Produce!

IMG_4121

  • 1 pink grapefruit
  • bag of onions
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 2 bartlett pears
  • bag of carrots
  • baby spinach
  • 3 plum tomatoes
  • bag of green beans
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • bag of mixed fresh veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots)
  • sliced mushrooms
  • 4 bananas
  • 1 zucchini

Meat and Dairy:

IMG_4123

  • dozen eggs
  • Western Creamery 1% plain yogurt (never tried this kind before!)
  • Laughing Cow light cheese wedges
  • Scotsburn 50% less sodium 1% cottage cheese
  • Compliments egg whites
  • Maple Leaf light swiss cheese
  • Yves veggie roast beef slices
  • 1 lb salmon
  • 2 chicken breasts

Random stuff:

IMG_4125

  • Panko bread crumbs (on special!)
  • can diced tomatoes
  • Nestle lime carbonated water
  • cantaloupe
  • Bick’s garlic dill pickles
  • cinnamon
  • lemon juice
  • butternut squash
  • E.D. Smith sugar-free syrup

More random stuff:

IMG_4128

  • unsweetened vanilla  Almond Breeze
  • dates
  • butternut squash baby food
  • Bob’s Red Mill quinoa
  • Thompson raisins
  • unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Finn Crisp rye crackers (new-to-me food!)
  • Mini Eggs
  • Beemster single-serving cheese
  • Eden Organic garbanzo beans

Phew! That’s a lot! And it’s all for ME!! I eat every last crumb that I buy. I do buy some higher-end food products, but food is one of the few things I splurge on. I don’t spend anything on clothes and I never eat out, so it fits into my budget :) Tour of my fridge and pantry will come this week!

I was starving by the time I got home, my belly was in working order again. Luckily, I had leftover potato tofu salad.

IMG_4129

I’ve got to pat myself on the back for this salad. Adding cottage cheese, eggs, and tofu is a great way to get protein in a potato salad, and it’s delicious!!

After dinner, I whipped up a batch of my homemade protein bars for the week.

IMG_4134

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 4 scoops vanilla whey powder
  • 6 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • one applesauce cup
  • 1/4 cup water

Mixed until crumbly, then flattened into a 9×9 pan and stuck in the fridge to harden.

IMG_4142

Makes 8 servings, at 210 calories, 9g fat, 4g fibre, 23g carbs, 16g protein.

IMG_4160
I think these may be one of my best batches yet!!

Then it was on to the more decadent stufff…

Mini Egg cookies!! 

IMG_4146 
I took the recipe from here. Only changes were that I cut the recipe in half and left out the macadamia nuts. Essentially a chocolate chip cookie recipe with the world’s best chocolate chips ;)

IMG_4148

I made these specifically to bring into work for “Treat Monday.” Something we decided was necessary to start doing. I am proud to say that not only did I not eat my weight in cookie dough while preparing these – but I also didn’t try one when they were done!!! First time ever. I think telling myself that I’d have one with my coworkers tomorrow was enough to keep me from giving in to the temptation.

Plus, I also promised myself another kind of sweet treat once I was done baking.

IMG_4154
Protein cookie batter ;) Made with my new Kaizen chocolate whey powder and a few dashes of almond milk. Topped with peanut butter, chocolate chips and spinkles… of course. Protein powder gets a BIG thumbs up. One of the best ones I’ve tried yet!!

Well that’s all from me tonight. Despite spending half the day in bed, I’m exhausted. My Monday morning spin class is more important than hockey, sorry sports fans! :P

 

Question of the Day: Do you have any food allergies/intolerances? I thought I was such a weirdo until I started reading food blogs and realized almost everyone has some food issue. Pineapple is by far the worst for me, but raw spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, bananas, kiwis, avocadoes, mangoes, and many more have all given me an upset tummy. Same goes with cooking oils.

Posted on February 21, 2010, in Health and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 51 Comments.

  1. Oh man, I’m so sorry about the pineapple incident!
    I have IBS so there is a lot of stuff that bothers my tummy, but luckily small amounts of most things are fine for me.

  2. Sadly I’m lactose intolerant so milk is a no no. However last week I thought I woud “test” my body to see if it was really intolerant to lactose so at a restaurant I ordered ice cream. I spent the entire night completely bloated, in pain and nauceous. It is safe to say that I officially cannot consume anything with lactose :(

  3. Glad to hear you are feeling better. I am going to give those protein bars a try…they look delish.

    I have lots of allergies. I am alergic to chocolate, all tree nuts and peanuts. My allergies are life threatening and I carry an EPI Pen with me at all times.

    Enjoy your treat day tomorrow.

  4. So sorry about the pineapple episode! Blech. It sounds like I’m the same way with fish – I cannot eat fin fish like salmon, but strangely, I can have shellfish like shrimp and scallops. Its pretty strange because most people are allergic to shellfish and opposed to fin fish.

    Anywho, have a great Monday! Your sweet treat looks awesome.

  5. Oh bummer! I’m glad you’re feeling better. I think I’m slightly allergic to walnuts because if I eat too many (which usually only happens if I get candied walnuts in a salad…love!) my mouth feels funny. That’s about it though.

    Let me know if you like those rye crackers…I think I’ve had them before, and they’re really good and great nutritional stats too.

  6. Wow, that’s horrible! The only food issue I have is that I am lactose intolerant.

    I *wish* I was allergic to chocolate. Or cake. Or cookies.

    On the flip side, I’m allergic to everything else, like grass, dust, animals, any form of morphine, penicillin, bees, etc.

  7. Ugh – that stinks about the pineapple fiasco! Glad your allergic reactions don’t last too long. Bravo on not eating the cookies (or dough). I am a big dough eater. I think I like dough better than the finished product :P

    I don’t really have any food allergies that I know of except for fountain ice tea (from concentrate). I don’t know as it is an allergy, but there had better be a bathroom nearby if I have this stuff!

  8. I am totally allergic to pineapple and kiwi! They both do the same thing to me that you just mentioned.

    • I remember you blogging about that!! Kiwi will make me sick too, but not as badly. And sometimes, it makes my mouth feel funny. I think it’s the bromelain enzyme they share. But oddly, papaya, which also has bromelain, doesn’t bother me in the least.

  9. I’m typing from my phone so this won’t be as long as I’d like. Butttt sorry about the pineapple! :( that sounds like the worst. Looooove your grocery haul! So many good things. I need to try that sandwich combo. The cookies look super good–great job not eating any! Wow!! Xoxo

  10. Sorry you got sick! And sorry you can’t enjoy fresh pineapple =(

    I don’t have any food allergies or serious intolerances, but I’ve noticed since I was younger that when I consume alot of dairy I get congested and stuff, so I try not to eat it in large quantities. Wonderfully though, as a child I used my aversion to milk to convince my mom to let me have ice cream for breakfast – you know for the calcium! LOL

    So I hope its not too late, but I was away for the weekend and couldn’t comment, but I have a question. I’m pretty sure (and ignore the question if I’m wrong) that you went away to college. You’ve also mentioned that you suffer from anxiety (particularly social). What made you decide to go away to school and out of any sort of comfort zone you probably had at home?

    Nicole G

  11. Hi there. Quick question about your protein bar recipe. Do you mean 1 measured cup of applesauce, or one of those little pre-packaged applesauce snack cups? I’d like to try the recipe, and just want to be clear before I start. Thanks! Susan

  12. Those cookies look SOOOOO GOOD!!!!

  13. Ooo your allergies are roughies!

    I have a bunch of allergies too. Once upon a time I was allergic to pinneapples but not anymore. My worst reactions (make me sick for days) are peanuts and real vanilla. But I also have issues with melons of all types, sesame oil, lavender, and bananas.

    The worst one to deal with is peanuts. I have to be really careful when purchasing protein bars and the like. It’s also why I tend to make my own bars.

  14. i adore your dessert!
    AND the home made goods :)
    GIRL i made aprils new low carb protein bars today w. banana extract and THEY ARE AWESOME! you must try them!! very filling and so great!

  15. I don’t think I have any food allergies. I am deathly allergic to most penecillins though.

    How do you fit all that food in your kitchen? I’ve seen the picutres you posted of your apartment!

  16. I am one of those weird lucky people who can eat just about anything. Anti-inflamatories on the other hand, we are like oil and water

  17. eek! I’ve never heard of a pineapple allergy. So sorry you got sick! I don’t have any food allergies but my father in law is allergic to onion. I think that would be a horrible allergy to have because some form of onion is used to cook almost all dinner foods. He can’t even have onion powder in any form!!

  18. Topped with peanut butter, chocolate chips and spinkles = gorgeous.

    tHe custard oats. amazing.

    the pineapple. I am intolerant to soooo many foods, Susan, as you know, gluten, soy, dairy, eggs…but chicken, fish, shellfish, certain beans, certain fruits and veggies i should avoid but dont…
    Some things i go into shock and airway closes and i nearly die. Other things are gastric distress beyond all words. Other things are mental fog, bitchy, headache, moody. Other foods cause joint swelling. It’s like certain things i “could” cheat on if i wanted to have the neg symptoms but 1 bite is not worth it to me these days.

    So sorry bout the pineapple. You definitely have a latex allergy.

    http://allergies.about.com/od/medicationallergies/a/latexfood.htm

    Google latex allergy + foods.
    It’s all cross related. I learned this in my epic life journey into food allergies. Dont expose yourself to this stuff anymore, your allergy and reactions will get worse and you could go into anaphalatic shock. And that’s not really that fun, Ive been there :)

    • Yes, it seems the pineapple thing just gets worse and worse for me, not better. I’ve looked into latex allergies, which would also explain the avocado and other various produce I have trouble with. Or it’s the bromelain enzyme in the pineapple. Whatever it is – it’s my nemesis :P You were definitely right on allergy tests being useless!

  19. Oh poor you I know your pain, I am intolerant to gluten/wheat and it kills me if I eat it, also dairy sometimes really makes me sick not good! Your protein bars look yummy x x

  20. Oh man, nothing is worse than stomach issues. Luckily I don’t have tummy trouble with food, but sugar alcohols really do a number on me.

  21. I can’t seem to eat stovetop oats!! :(
    Maybe it’s simply too heavy for my body, but if I eat it for more than 1 day during the week tummy trouble hits me. I do get stomach aches all the time, though.
    For example, mid morning when my stomach is empty…I can NOT give it fruit. The other week I had an apple mid morning and the pain lasted for two days! LOL, so I stick to kashi granola bars. ;)
    I’m glad you’re feeling better though! It’s probably the acid; I have acid reflux/problems in general so that’s probably the reason most fruits on their own give me trouble.

  22. After a recent episode of hives I had some allergy tests done (blood tests) that showed potential peanut and wheat allergy. Been eating both things all my life with no problems but the doctor said it is possible to have adult onset allergies. No stomach upset from either so I am thinking the tests might be a fluke since seems like food allergies usually cause more symptoms than just hives? So now I am doing a two week elimiination diet for both peanuts and wheat and then will try adding them back again.

    Love mini eggs so much. My husband hides them and rations them out or I eat the whole bag. So glad they only come out once a year for a short time or I would be in trouble.

  23. Oh my gah! That’s horrible! Pineaapple.. yeah. Ugh, that sucks.
    And Susan, I loooove your picture of custard oats. I miss whole egg custard oats :( But I’ve def been eating my fair share of microwaved egg white oats!

    Love your grocery bag and total kudos to you for not eating the batter. You and I both know that’s a problem area for me too! Rewarding yourself at the end of it with a nice big bowl of “faux” sounds pretty smart to me! Love it. :)

  24. Latose intolerant here! But I still eat cheese and some dairy, I just can’t do like straight up milk.

  25. I would HATE to be allergic to pineapple! I’m a total pinacolada lover! Boooooo!

    I am a MAJOR MAJOR fan of those Beemster single serving cheeses….LOVE that cheese! My grocery store is always out!

    Lots of delicious looking things here!

  26. Oh no!! Sorry the pineapple attacked! That sounds awful. I don’t have any food allergies (that I know of) thank goodness.

    Those mini egg cookies made me so excited – they look yummy!

  27. ohhhh…that totally sucks you are allergic to pineapple! i am glad nothing worse happened. i honestly am not allergic to anything…at least that i know of. i might be allergic to playdough…i gag uncontrollably around it.

    YAY FOR GROCERY HAUL! that is a beautiful shop of goods right there. every once in awhile, i do a huge shop like that too to restore my goods. i am totally with you – food is something i have no shame spending money on. at. all.

    i hope you have a fabulous treat monday my love – chat soon :)

  28. Your reaction to the pineapple sounds miserable!

    I have recently discovered I’m intolerant to gluten. At first I was really depressed because it’s hard to avoid and in all my favorite stuff, but I feel so much better now that I don’t really care anymore! I also seem to have some issues with lactose but I choose to ignore those! lol!

    Oddly my husband cannot eat onions. He will immediately puke. If he has a salad and someone has cut the lettuce with the same knife they chopped an onion with he will puke. I don’t know if that’s an allergy, an intolerance, or what you’d call it.

  29. Oh my dear. sorry about your pineapple episode! I don’t have any allergies or weird things like that although too much dairy does give me the bloat. Too bad I love it so much…

  30. Sorry about the pineapple :( That sucks. Not the lack of tropical tart Lara bars (ick) but pina coladas! Gah. The other day I was hunting for that banana jam (yes, still) and found a pineapple one I *nearly* bought to send you.

    Those cookies look delish! As do the bars- I have all those ingredients too. They don’t need nut butter for these?

    I have a strange reaction when I eat eggplant. I also had a really bad reaction to shrimp a few years ago- I suspect it was food poisoning, but I am scared to test it out. I was sick for days!

  31. That stinks, I love pineapple!

    I also love the looks of those bars and cookies! I need to make me some bars. And cookies… oh my do I love mini eggs!

    I have a lot of intolerances… I can’t handle meat or cow’s dairy well, and I suspect I have an intolerance to wheat. As long as I am moderate about eating them, though, I’m usually ok.

    xo
    K

  32. That hockey game was amazing! I didn’t care really who won (I do feel a bit sorry for Canada) because it was just awesome to see so much talent at once.

    I’m so sorry about your stomach ache! Food allergies and intolerances can really wreck your insides. Sometimes I get serious pain when I eat an unripened avocado or banana, but that’s about it.

  33. Hey Susan! I love the homemade protein bars!! They look great! :)

  34. oh no! So sorry that happened.

    I love Larabars but they always make me sad when Im done bc they are so tiny and I Want more!

  35. oh, i’m sorry you’re allergic to pineapple! it’s such a delicious fruit. i got an allergy test a few years ago and found out i’m SLIGHTLY allergic to almost every single vegetarian food source – which is why i’m no longer a vegetarian!

  36. I love the no fat Western Creamery Yogurt(dod you notice on the side it is made by LIBERTE??)

    Also love the Finn crisp original flavour you bought…so good with hummus.also yummy with cheese and jam, or a little Becel….

    Yum!!

    I love the yogurt with a little natural maple syrup drizzled on top along with some slivered almonds!

  37. Eek So sorry about the wretched pineapple! Scary if what Averie says is true- about the latex cross allergy?? Latex is used all the time for medical/dental. ANyway, glad you’re better.

    Adore your sprinkles. And the photos are stellar.
    D

  38. Oh no! What a nightmare about the pineapple. It’s one of my favorite fruits, I don’t know what I would do without it!

    That is the ONLY Larabar flavor I have yet to try!

    I love seeing inside people’s cabinets and fridges :) I think it says a lot about them. Yours is what I expected…healthy and fun!

  39. I’m allergic to pineapples as well, the raw (especially unripe) ones. I ate a small cube (1.5×1.5×1.5cm) because it was in my pineapple fried rice and thought nothing of it because it was such a small piece. I got a fever like 10 mins after, followed by vomitting. It’s been 4 days ….. I’m still sick at home with a delicate stomach and feeling of nausea. :( I’m perfectly fine if i eat thoroughly cooked/canned pineapples though.

  1. Pingback: Q&As – Round Eleventeen « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: The Age Old Weight & Rep Debate « The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: Single Ladies « The Great Balancing Act

  4. Pingback: Fatty February Wrap-Up & Then Some « The Great Balancing Act

  5. Pingback: New Month, New Goals! « The Great Balancing Act

  6. Pingback: Springing to Life « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

