Opening the Floor

Did you have your waffles today??

IMG_3937

Waffle Wednesday has officially become my third favourite day of the week (behind Saturday and Sunday, of course). Wednesdays are now my regular full-on rest day from the gym. Which means sleeping in late(er), making breakfast in my peejays, and drinking a whole (giant) mug of coffee while perusing the internet.

IMG_3942

Until I realize I have 20 minutes to shower and primp, and rush off late for work :P Today was just one massive waffle instead of my two regular big ones ;)

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • dash vanilla extract
  • 1 package stevia

All blended up and made in the belgian waffle maker, then topped with peanut butter, blueberry jam and maple syrup. Puuurrrfect way to get over that mid-week hump!

Work’s been pretty good this week. Things have slowed down a bit so it feels like I have time to catch my breath between assignments. I actually love being busy at work, but I also need that down time of easy stuff in-between.

Snacks!

IMG_3928

Banana+cashew butter mid-morning. I totally thought I packed peanut butter and got quite the surprise when I tasted it.

Lunch!

IMG_3931

Leftovers from supper yesterday – Olive & Feta hummus stuffed chicken breast, roasted pepper quash, parsnip and turnip. Dude. I don’t know why it has taken me so long to realize that making extra food at suppertime makes for suuuuuper easy lunch preparation the next day. I guess it’s because I have access to a microwave at work for the first time. This meal would not have been as yummy cold.

Speaking of cold meals – check it out!!!

IMG_3922

GREEK YOGURT!!!! In my fridge. Better yet, in my belly.

Not sure if everyone knows, but I’ve never tried Greek yogurt before. Up until now, there hasn’t been a brand that made it available where I live in New Brunswick. Thank you Liberte.

Now, I know making Greek yogurt is easy peasy, but I could never figure out if the stats on the homemade stuff would be the same. Anyone got any insight on this?

IMG_3923 
Doesn’t get much better than 20g protein for 110 calories!

I paired the yogurt with a free sample I got off the Kashi website.

IMG_3924

Toasted Berry Crisp cereal. The stats are just like many of the other Kashi cereals… decent on the protein, good on the fibre.

IMG_3926

All packed up for my afternoon snack!

IMG_3935
So what did I think?? Well, first off, I wasn’t that impressed by the cereal. It was too fake tasting with the weird chewy berry bits. And some parts got soft real quick in the yogurt. As for the yogurt – um, Greek yogurt is just thick yogurt. Actually, I didn’t really notice much of a taste or texture difference between the regular Liberte stuff (which is really thick to begin with anyways). I suppose it does taste like sour cream plain. And you can’t beat the protein content. But it’s also five bucks a pop, and I don’t rely on yogurt for protein. So it’s nice as a treat!

All these hot lunches had me craving a cold supper! It’s been almost a week since I had a pita! That had to be remedied at once.

IMG_3945

  • smoked mackerel
  • laughing cow cheese
  • mustard 
  • pickles
  • red onion
  • tomato
  • spinach

IMG_3948

Can you see the mackerel poking out from behind the spinach?? Wikipedia tells me that Atlantic mackerel is extremely high in vitamin B12 and has almost twice the Omega 3 of salmon. Suh-weet!!

This evening I “attended” a webinar on the Can-Fit-Pro conference being held in Moncton next month. Still debating whether or not to go. The timing and price aren’t that great, but it will be a great learning opportunity for me as a future personal trainer, and maybe I could make some contacts?

While webinar-ing, I snacked on a carrot protein cake. 

IMG_3959

  • 1 scoop (30g) vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • dash cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger
  • 2 tbsp carrot puree (ahem, baby food)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites

All mixed up in a mug then popped in the microwave for 90 seconds. Turns into a HUGE cake. I topped mine with a peanut butter/almond milk mix to make the nut butter go farther ;) Yumyum!

 

So I contemplated doing the anonymous questionnaire on formspring that many bloggers have been doing lately. But I’m one of those losers who doesn’t appreciate anonymity on the internet. Maybe it’s the journalist in me. Aaaanyways, I would really like to do another round of Q&A, it’s been a while since the last time and I lot has changed in my life since then! So I’m opening the floor for questions, silly or serious, don’t be shy! You can leave them in the comments, or e-mail them to me personally at thegreatbalancingact@gmail.com If you don’t want your name attached, just let me know. I’m pretty open about most things, so go nuts! :D

Posted on February 17, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. You are going to laugh your ass off when you see my post later! We were on the same EXACT page with breakfast this morning! ;)

  2. I REALLY want to try one of those protein cakes. They look absolutely delicious. I need to invest in some protein powder STAT

    I’m gunna have to mull over this FAQ request to come up with a REALLY good question LOL

    Nicole G

  3. I got that same cereal freebie. Just waiting for a good day to try it.

  4. OMG a greek yogurt virgin no more. And as is often the way, you were a little bit let down by the hooplah and experience :-) At $5 I can see your point. I am a bit scared of the stats actually b/c once I decided to try to “make” greek yogurt from plain, and by my rough calculations, a serving would be more like 700 calories or something once all the liquid has been run out of town on a rail (slight exaggeration- not much). I just buy the cheap stuff from Trader Joes’ (sorry, did not mean to be cruel to you) and assume that the stats are correct!

  5. hehe I’m with you on anonymous posts! It must be the journalism gene, we need a source!

    I don’t like plain greek yogurt, and I’m not really a fan of the 0% fat variety. I think you would have better luck with 2% fat + fruit on the bottom.

  6. I like Greek yogurt okay, but not enough to fork over twice the money! I have it as an occasional treat. I’m sure the stat of homemade is similar; since it’s basically thickened yogurt? So you are consuming more yogurt than you would with regular ones.

    Okay, question:
    1) What was your dream job when you were little? Was it journalism?
    2) ‘fess up! Ever crave fast food? ;-)

  7. Do you ever worry about getting bored being a personal trainer or about the lack of financial security in that job longterm?
    Thanks!
    (I think being in a gym all the time would drive me crazy-the lighting, the germs on the machines,the smell of sweat…wondering your thoughts esp since gyms are known to be big carriers of flu bugs, staff infections, skin diseases etc???!)
    PS enjoy your blog,esp info about things like eating more fats etc.

  8. I find there is a big difference in greek yogurt by brand. By far the absolute best is Fage. That is light and fluffy and thick and creamy all at the same time. Of course, it is the most expensive, so I get the less expensive kind. Greek yogurt is actually made with milk that has been reduced first before the yogurt making happens, rather than just removing the weigh later – cause it’s just not the same.

    Question: Is there a food that you hate that really wished you liked? (mine would be fish)

    And – do you take any daily vitamins or supplements?

  9. I loveee Liberte Greek Yogurt, it’s a new expensive addiction though it was on 2 for $5 briefly at Whole Foods.

  10. I can’t quite get into the whole greek yogurt thing, unless its flavored and has tons of added sugar!

  11. i love greek yogurt… it’s the only kind of yogurt i’ll eat now! for a while i actually hated it, and couldn’t palate how bitter it was.. but now i can’t get enough of it! i also like it because of how much more protein it has than regular yogurt.

  12. i want a waffle maker so bad! i should start a gift registry and say i’m getting married to myself.

    …for now i’ll have to make panaffles…

    • Hahaha, do you watch Sex and the City?? I’m pretty sure there was an episode where Carrie did that because she got sick of buying wedding gifts for friends and getting nothing in return. Single blogger registry maybe? :P

  13. YUUUM!
    Such delicious eats ;)
    That greek yogurt´s stats were pretty amazing, huh?
    I mean, 20g of protein in 110 calories? WOW!
    Hehehe.
    Brazilian XOXO´s,
    Gabriela

  14. Do you really use baby food? I’m not against it, but isn’t it more expensive than mashing up some steamed carrots? I’m sure it’s way easier tho :)
    I’m pretty new to Greek yogurt, but I have it at least once daily now – I just love the nutritional info!!

    • Haha, yup! Baby food is my new favourite love! It’s suuuuper cheap – around 50 cents a jar. I just think of it as a canned pumpkin substitute :) (since I don’t like pumpkin all that much)

  15. are your boobs fake or real and could you tell me about your sex life. KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    But. I kid you not. I am asked about that monthly. Usually from anon commenters. Oh and people write to me ALL the time asking very detailed GI health/elimination questions. Im a food blogger people, not a doctor!

    And I totally agree with this: But I’m one of those losers who doesn’t appreciate anonymity on the internet.

    AMEN.
    The internet is an anon enough place, that even if they sign it Jane I feel better. Totally anon is too creepy.
    LOVE THIS SUSAN thank you for saying this…I thought I was the only one who thought those things were toooooo much!

  16. My publix just got liberte yogurt. I want to try it, but it’s EXPENSIVE. Is it that expensive in Canada?

    • Yes, it’s probably one of the most expensive kinds here! $4.50 for 750g tubs of the regular stuff. The smaller Greek tub cost me $5 and I only got two servings out of it! (albeit, they were large servings). My regular yogurt is Source Plain, which is sort of the in-between yogurt for taste and price – $3 for typically 4 servings.

  17. I FOUND A WAFFLE MAKER!!!!! I was quite literally squealing in the store- we don’t get store-made waffles here and I’ve never seen a machine before so this is hugely exciting to me (even cooler is that the plates come out and you can make donuts too, lol).

    I love mackerel! I forgot all about it! The only fish I buy regularly is canned tuna…I need to start looking in the fish aisle. Smoked mackerel and kippers are delish. Have you ever had pilchards? I almost bought a can today because they are SO cheap, but then I thought they might be cheap for a reason :P

    Yeah, Greek yogurt is basically just thick yogurt. I love the stats though and I do use it as a protein source :)

    • YAY for the waffle maker!! You’re life will now be forever changed ;) Pilchards are just like sardines, right? I love sardines, we have some really good canned kinds here, in things like mustard and tomato sauce. Canned fish doesn’t gross me out all that much, canned shellfish on the other hand…ick.

  18. Oh baby- thanks for the link- I’ve got my request in for some free cereal… so excited regardless of if it tastes good or not! love it!

  19. i want a waffle maker. waffle wednesday gives me serious envy :(

  20. I wish we had more greek yogurt in Canada! I’ll have to look for that one!

  21. I just learned to like greek yogurt. But I still can’t do it plain! Thanks for the Kashi link!

  22. Your Wednesday posts always make me want a waffle maker!! I want one! I love Greek yogurt, and just started making my own, but I have no clue of the nutritional stats. I imagine it’d be the same because Greek yogurt is just strained yogurt. I think it has to do the the volume. When you strain it, you lose volume (and calories) so you can have more, and with it comes more protein? That’sjust a guess :)

  23. greek yog pretty much is just thick yogurt with lots of protein. but i j’adore it. i am pretty sure the homemade stuff is the same stats too. i played around with numbers awhile back, and they came out relatively the same. so try that out!

    i think you should go to the conference! i like to think the money you will pay up front will be MORE than worth it when you make those stellar contacts!

    hmmm…question…i like seeing people’s weekly grocery hauls. so maybe that is more of a request than a question? or a tour of your pantry/fridge? maybe you have done this and i am just crazy, i have no idea :)

    • Wonderful question Holly! I used to take photos of my groceries waaaay back in the day, but it was a lot of work because I buy so much! :P I’ll do it this Sunday after I stock up :) And YES to chatting soon!

  24. dang, your waffle is baller. i can see why it got a mention in my comment section! never had cashew butter, but cashews are my fave nut to eat plain, so i think i should try to make some. ive never made homemade GY for that exact reason. stats. i cant believe greek yogs didnt change your life! maybe you need some oikos or chobani :) ohhh i cant wait to read your next post, i see that it is q&a!

  25. I was making my own Greek yogurt for a while by straining it at home, but then I realized that I was losing a lot of really nutritious goodness from the yogurt whey that strained out! I would keep it and put it into smoothies, but I found that I wasn’t using it enough to make up for what was lost in the yogurt. I’m definitely sold on the Liberte purely for the protein content and decent calorie content.

    I tried that cereal this morning with my mail freebie too and I agree with everything you said. I won’t be buying it and it wasn’t anything spectacular! I’m a much bigger fan of the Honey flax one.

  26. Hey! I stumbled upon your blog today, love it. :) I’m so happy I found the Liberte yogurt here too! I can’t believe it’s one of the only greek yogurts on the shelves I see. How long have you been blogging for? Is it hard to develop the habit to post everyday?

  27. Is it bad for you or good for you to sleep on Hard, wooden Floorboards?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

