Girl’s Weekend

Hiiiii!!!!! Remember me?? I missed you guys!! A big thanks to Allison and Michelle to holding down fort while I was away. My bloggie break over the weekend was fab, but I’m definitely ready to start up again. My coworkers aren’t as into my food and workout rambles :P

Today will be a fun lil’ recap of my weekend away. I feel like I should prelude this by saying that I went all out this weekend. Sometimes a girl just needs to throw all her healthy living ambitions out the window and party like it’s 1999. So that’s what I did :D

I was lucky that a friend from work joined me for the 4.5 hour drive to Halifax. What would have been a very boring drive was a fun one! We chatted the whole time and listened to some good tunes. We arrived right before suppertime and I had a glorious reunion with bestie Erika.

Check out the view from where I was staying:

IMG_3848
Right next to the Halifax Commons! I would like to note that Nova Scotia has significantly less snow than New Brunswick. What’s the deal.

I also made friends with Erika’s cat, Griffin.

IMG_3838

Well, kinda. If biting my ankles is how he shows love.

Friday night was supposed to be our laid-back night. We made plans to meet up with a friend who was celebrating her birthday at a swanky bar. We stocked up Erika’s fridge appropriately. Beer and water is all you need, right?

IMG_3828

Alexander Keith’s beer, very Halifax appropriate I might add.

We also picked up a Dairy Queen ice cream cake to celebrate our belated birthdays together. I don’t even like ice cream that much!

IMG_3833
But I can’t turn down the cookies & fudge interior, and I love that gel icing.

The bestie and I got all dressed up for our night on the town!

IMG_3836

Don’t be fooled by the wine glass – it’s actually rye and water with extra ice. Just like my Papa drank. It’s the only alcohol I still enjoy drinking!

We did end up at the Taboo nightclub, which is a very classy joint. But I guess we had more party in us than we thought, because we ditched it for The Dome which is anything but classy!! It was there that we danced our booties off till the wee hours. Many more rye and waters were had, followed by a giant slice of pizza at 3am. Upon arriving back to Erika’s place we attacked the ice cream cake with spoons! Ooohh it was sooo baaad, but ohsogood.

We didn’t get to bed till 5am and needless to say, were dead the next day. We watched New Moon on the internet in bed, until we finally got up at 2pm to do the Booty Camp Fitness DVD. It was basically 30 minutes of squats and lunges, but hurt so good after such an indulgent night! We also hit up Pete’s Frootique for fresh fruit smoothies and Lululemon. I splurged on a $100 pair of black groove pants. I’ve tried them on three different occasions and finally took the plunge! Mostly because I keep buying cheap-o yoga pants that suck balls. I got fed up and wanted some quality goods that fit me well.

Saturday night ended up being an evening in since we were wrecked from Friday night’s shenanigans. It turned out to be awesome though because Erika found a working Nintendo in the garbage!!

IMG_3850

Nintendo as in NES, the original. Lots of Mario playing followed.

And, ugh, more ice cream cake.

IMG_3853

I’ve officially eaten enough ice cream cake to last me the next five birthdays.

Sunday morning, Erika and I got up and went to her apartment complex’s gym for a quick 30-minute cardio sesh. I sweat out more birthday cake. It felt good.

Then it was time for my Halifax blogger meet-up!!! 

IMG_3867

Left to right: me, Angie, Katie, Renee, Jaime, Lynn and Melanie. Can I just say I love blogger meet-ups? It is so neat to meet up with people you’ve never met, and yet already have so much in common with! We blabbed for a long while before I even opened the menu! 

IMG_3859
We chose The Wooden Monkey restaurant which features lots of organic, locally-grown ingredients.

IMG_3858 
I went for the Lentil Burger: lentils, carrots, miso, garlic, onions, daikon, seeds and oats, lettuce, tomato on a fat-free 5-organic grain pita with a sweet honey mustard.

IMG_3860

Did you say pita? Yesplease!

IMG_3864 
And an apple salad for the side. I do believe it was greens, green apple, walnuts, goat cheese and some vinaigrette for the dressing. The salad was awesome, as was the burger. My only complaint is that it was way too heavy on the mustard.

Thanks to all the Halifax ladies for coming out for a Valentine’s Day meet-up!! It was sososo nice to put faces and voices to the blogs I read, and get to know some non-bloggers alike. Also really fun to hang out with Maritime foodies!

I picked up my work buddy for the drive home, which also went by smoothly. We of course had to make a pit stop in Oxford, Nova Scotia – Canada’s blueberry capital.

IMG_3868

I don’t know why, but I am fascinated by giant monuments.

Upon arriving home, I decided to finish my sugar-filled weekend with a bang – more sugar!

IMG_3871

 Jaime gave us all sugar cookies at lunch.

IMG_3874
I had a small piece of the red one, then went back for another piece, then devoured the whole thing! Jaime, it was delicious!!

But I’m officially on a sugar detox.

Until I eat that pink cookie ;)

Hope you all had a fabulous weekend full of lovely Valentine’s things, or Olympics watching, or just plain relaxing :)

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite alcoholic drink? Mine will always be rye!

Posted on February 15, 2010, in Fun, Restaurants, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. So glad you had a good weekend! Looks like a blast. I’m definitely a red wine girl and crave it fairly often. :)

  2. I love it when healthy living blogettes proverbially throw it out the window once in a while! It seems, dare I say…balanced!

    I definitely had a fun filled weekend of staying in my jammies and watching the olympics. Oh, and though I’m officially dry for the rest of the forseeable future, I really did love the occasional whisky sour. I loved that “old man” drink (I bet I could make a kickin’ mocktail version, too!).

  3. Blueberry capitol??? I must go there…..

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend!

    Favorite mixed drink would be an amaretto sour. Yum, yum.

  4. Glad you liked the cookies! Wish our little visit had been longer…I feel like we barely talked!

    I must find that blueberry while out on my Summer road trip adventures this year. :) I too love me the bigass crazy monuments.

  5. What a fun weekend! I love ice cream cake!

    I love rye! Rye and ginger is the best, but Amaretto sours are my alltime fave =)

  6. I want ice cream cake now!!

    My fave is a Gin Rickie (gin, simple syrup, lime and club soda). Very few places know how to make one so I always need to give directions.

  7. My favorite drinks were rye and Sleeman’s Vodka Ice? but I gave up drinking 6 years ago. I’m glad you had the cake and not a blizzard….I gave them up too :-)

  8. Looks like a really fun weekend and blogger meet up! I’ve only been to one blogger meet up, but it is so awesome to meet people who’s lives you read about all the time :)

  9. I’m so jealous!

    Looks like you guys had a great time! :)

  10. Sounds like an amazing weekend. I’m so happy you got to see your friend and have a blogger meet-up!

    Nicole G

  11. What in the world is rye? Is it a Canadian thing? I love margaritas! I can’t remember the last time I had one…I need to work on that!

    I loved Nintendo. But I loved the Super Nintendo even more. I pretty much wasted my childhood away in front of that thing.

    • Haha, rye is a kind of whiskey. I think it’s actually a Scottish thing? My Scottish grandfather always drank it, so I learned it from him :) And YES to the Super Nintendo comment!

  12. we missed you too!!
    what a fun weekend!
    i tweeted you today about the pro/pb combo on a wrap..it got all melty and DELISH!

  13. OMG I WOULD HAVE LOVED TO PLAY MARIO OLD SCHOOL!!!! I am not a PS3 or anything even beyond SNES, but LOVED SNES! So fun!

    SO happy you had a fab weekend in Halifax!!

    So great to meet you!!

  14. Fave alcoholic drink is Moet Rose. All good champagne is great, all good rose champagne is even better :)
    Glad you’re all caught up with my on your reader!
    love this post…from nintendo to Goove pants to cookie/sugar detox joke…welcome back susan, i missed u!

  15. What a great & fun weekend you had! My fav alcoholic drink is a glass of red wine, preferably Merlot.
    Your friend’s cat looks almost like my cat. :-)

  16. I’m a wine girl myself. :)

    It was really great to meet you, I love blogs G2Gs! I felt the same way about the burger too – to much mustard.

    Love the old school Nintendo games too, they’re the only ones that I’m any good at, LOL.

    Glad you had a great trip!

  17. Looks like such a good time! I love the original NES! Especially Paperboy and Castlevania.

    As for alcohol I LOVE rum. Spiced rum, banana rum, coconut rum…any rum. I love mixing banana rum with orange juice and peach schapps. <3

  18. WOOHOO for going all out! DQ’s ice cream cake is to die for – I love the middle part. What a fun blogger meet up! The sandwich you ordered sounds great – minus the excessive mustard, of course! Jaime’s cookies look so professional! Glad you had a great weekend :)

    I like either a little pinot action or Blue Moon. I can’t do sugary drinks!

  19. I am in DIRE need of an all girls party weekend. I haven’t seen my bestie in a while either. Glad you had such a fantastic time!

    My go-to drink is a vodka-cranberry.

  20. Aw! It looks like you had a fantabulous weekend!!

    My fav drinks are bubbly, wine, amaretto on the rocks, or pineapple + captain’s, all depending on what sort of mood I am in!

  21. That looks like such a fun weekend! Nothing better than hanging out with old friends. Especially when cake is involved :D And YES to blogger meet-ups! So much fun (and so…strange that you know the people so well, despite having never met them, no?!) I am impressed that you fit working out in amidst the shenanigans- pic of the Lulemon pants please?!

    I don’t drink, but my old fave was Archers (peach schnapps) and lemonade (British lemonade- more like 7-up than American lemon weirdness)

  22. What a fun weekend. :)

    My favorite drink is a simple lemon drop. Chilled vodka (I like Grey Goose) with a sugar covered lemon wedge. SO GOOD ONCE IT HITS YOUR LIPS!

    And of course… wine… red or white, as long as it has sweet tones.

  23. ohhh man ice cream cake! YUM!

    I dont have a favorite drink..honestly, I just dont like the taste of alcohol that much!

  24. What a fun weekend you’ve had! I feel like I always have some sort of cake fest when I reunite with besties like that…so bad but ohsogood!

    I love red wine – malbec and a lot of spanish reds make the cut. But I also love cider and I am finally starting to get into beer. But red wine at the end of a long day or with a delicious meal is perfect.

  25. I love rye and coke in the winter- vodka and cesars through the summer and wine all year long..

    gin and I are not friends-

    looks like such a fun weekend- I too went sugar crazy- todays my day to get back on track- hopefully

  26. OMG, your weekend looks AWESOME! Especially the Nintendo LOL LOVE it!! :D All the food looks yummmmmmmy, good times!

    My favorite alcoholic drink is kahlua.

    Jenn

  27. pizza, ice cream cake, cookies, and a lentil buger….you are MY kind of girl :P

  28. What fun you and Erika had=- you ripped it up! WHat is rye? I know of it as a bread, but I know you didn’t mash a piece of toast in a wine glass with ice ;-)

    That blueberry is hilarious. If you come to LA there’s a huge Dinosaur on the way to vegas you need to hit for a photo op- and then there’s always the huge donut of Randy’s donuts! :-)

    Fave drink: probably red wine. If calories were no object however I’d be all over the dacquiris and margaritas. :-)

  29. What an awesome girls weekend! I am so overdue for one of those.
    I have never tried rye! Favorite alcoholic drink? Oh man. I would say it’s a toss-up between champagne, red wine, and gin. I love gin.

  30. Hi there! Just stumbled across your blog!
    I’m from Halifax and it’s so awesome to see another Maritimer in the blogging world (I’m brand new to it and so far haven’t seen anyone close to home!)
    The Wooden Monkey is probably my FAVOURITE restaurant, and i’ve only been there once (ironically my meal was also the lentil burger..i had roasties with mine though:)) hoping to go back there soon seeing as i’ve been craving a lentil burger since!
    LOL, I’ll stop rambling, it’s nice to meet you!

  31. THAT GIANT BLOOB IS AMAZING.

    i love griffin! such a sweetie. and gimme the ice cream cake, i would eat it all! i still have a hard time accepting the fact that you dont really like ice cream haha. sounds like you lived it up~ sometimes you just have to have a wild night like that! i probably have 3 or 4 a year still and i fully love every minute.. well, except the hangover ;) so jealous of the bloggie meet up! and the name of that restaurant rocks my face off.

    fave booze? beer is green lev.. i don’t love liquor but i usually order bacardi razz+water.

  1. Pingback: Fatty February Update! « The Great Balancing Act

  2. Pingback: Things I Learned This Month – February 2010 « The Great Balancing Act

  3. Pingback: Three Generations « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers

