Spicy Thursday

I’m on my weeekeennd!!! Tomorrow, I will be arriving here:

Sigh. One thing I will miss about the Maritimes is being so close to the ocean. My mommy always used to bring me to Halifax when I was a kid and ask me if I could see England :P

But let’s be realistic here, a good chunk of my time will be spent here:


Lululemon! I’ve been saving up. That should allow me to buy one pair of pants :P

But I’m getting ahead of myself here. It’s still Thursday!

I got up this morning for a cardio machine workout. I’ve been doing a lot of these lately because I lost my iPod. I used to run on the treadmill for my cardio days. But 60 minutes on the treadmill without music sounds mind-numbingly boring to me. So instead I did the now-usual 35 minutes intervals on the elliptical, 10 minutes on the rowing machine, 10 minutes on the stair mill. The elliptical intervals get my heart pumping, the rowing machine works my upper body and the stairmill does a number on my lower body. Perfection!

Then it was off to work for another successful cold breakfast.

IMG_3782

  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • cinnamon
  • raisins
  • 1/2 chopped apple
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Another winner!! Well, as far as cold breakfasts go. We have a microwave at my office, but the room it’s in is always locked till later in the morning :(

Morning snack was a peanut butter & jelly Larabar.

IMG_3789
I think this may be my new favourite Larabar flavour? I still have to try the peanut butter cookie, then a real decision can be made.

Lunch was spectacular!!

IMG_3788
I know, looks like a boring sandwich and orange. But for the sandwich I spread on 1 tbsp peanut butter then mixed 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder with a touch of water to make it into a thick goo. Then I spread it on the other slice of bread. Omg. So. Good. It tasted like nutella!! Plus, it was a great way to add some protein to a PB sandwich :)

Afternoon snack included baby carrots and Olive & Feta Hummus.

IMG_3790
I had to cut the baby carrots in half again – they make them too big!!

Also, I tried another Yogi tea in my attempts to be an office tea-drinker.

IMG_3792
I expected this to taste like NeoCitran, but it was really good! More ginger-y than lemon-y. For some reason, I don’t like fresh ginger, but I love ginger-flavoured things. Plus, it totally cleared up my sinuses :)

Came home and tried something different for supper – parsnip fries!

IMG_3797

And by “fries” I mean, “sliced in small strips and sprayed in oil, salt and paprika.” I do the same exact thing with all root veggies and call them “fries.”

Next to the fries was an egg scramble.

IMG_3800
Featuring an 1 egg, 1 cup egg whites, onions, tomatoes, spinach, old cheddar and a minced chipotle pepper.

Aaalll together now!

IMG_3802
This was only my second time using chipotle, and hot damn those things are… hot. My lips were burning! But I really enjoy the smoky taste of it. The parsnip fries were quite good as well. They hold up really nicely, and don’t get floppy like some other veggies tend to.

Well I wish I had more exciting things to ramble about, but I jut finished putting all the posts up for this weekend and I’m all blogged out! I will miss you guys this weekend… but not too much ;) Have a great Valentine’s Day! <3

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite spice? Four of the C’s get the most use in my kitchen – Cinnamon, Chili, Curry and Cumin. Sometimes all together! ;)

Posted on February 11, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Awww – I love that story about seeing England! Tres cute!!!

    And I hear you on the being far away from the Ocean thing – it’s what I’d miss most if I were to move back to the T-dot.

  2. i love your spicy thursday! i think it should be spicy everyday with a little bit (lotta bit) of cinnamon thrown in betwen) haha we have the same fav spices!

    have fun this weekend!!

  3. Have a super trip! Travel safe.

    My favorite spice is probably nutmeg.

  4. eats look delish! have fun girl! try to stay away from temple bar- that place is dangerous- and head to common grounds for a yummy coffee for me! xo

  5. Too cute about seeing England! I often have carrots/hummus and orange with sammy for lunch…that combo seems to be a great and filling balance!

  6. I’m jealous of 3 things – your trip, your dinner (mine consisted of yogurt and pretzels), and the fact that you will be in a Lululemon store. We don’t have one anywhere near me!! I absolutely love their clothing and would love to try it out. Soak up a little Lululemon time for me! :)

  7. I hear ya on not running without your ipod. There’s no way I could. I refuse to run races with the no mp3 player rule.

  8. Yum! It all looks great. Chipotle peppers are soooo good, but so so hot! My favorite spice is definitely cinnamon. I go through a large jar about every two weeks. I’m nuts like that.

  9. Lululemon! I’ve been saving up. That should allow me to buy one pair of pants….

    Ok girl, here’s the thing. I know I may be in the minority but. But. But I dont prefer that brand. Just make sure b4 you purchase it that you love it. That you really want it. I have spent tons! of money the past decade as a yoga teacher on that stuff and i am never happy w/ it. I much prefer other brands. It’s like Gap Jeans or Levi’s or Seven or Rock n Republic. We each have our likes/dislikes and for your sake, i hope it’s fashion utopia :)

    xoxox

  10. I love Lulemon! I have a water bottle from there but no clothes yet.

    I was so intrigued when you said you had a protein PB sandwich on Twitter- my choc protein powder would be perfect for this! Need to try. Do you find breakfasts without grains keep you full? I usually have a protein heavy breakfast, but scared I will be gnawing my arm off an hour later without grains.

    PBJ Lara = Love. ‘Nuff said.

    Fave spice… I think paprika.

    • I was surprised by how long it kept me full for! (3 hours) The bread helped maybe? The only meals that don’t keep me full are salads. Even with lots of fat and protein added. I just eat them cause they’re healthy/tasty :)

  11. hehehe I love your fries. And your explanation of your fries. Aw Susan have a fabulous weekend getaway! I’ll be thinking of you. And awesome egg scramble- that is like the perfect dinner right there.

    And I love your eats all day actually. The yogurt looks amazing- maybe with some tahini instead of PB- it mixes very well. xoxo!

  12. Yep, the 4 C’s–gotta have em! Your egg scramble looks delicious, too. I am still trying to hop on the whole egg wagon, but shoo, I’m just a creature of habit when it comes to the whites. Have a wonderful weekend! xoxo

  13. all hail those C’s! agreed. curry + cinnamon are probs at the top for me.

    i LOVE the idea of adding paprika to the fries. and i do love parsnips…so creamy but with a bit of a bite. i hope you have a fabulous weekend dear susan! and i know i have been a total slacker and not sent out the banff email this week (work has been INSANE…literally), but it is going out today!

    love ya!

  14. Oh I’d be making a bee line for Lulu too!

    (PB&J Larabars are my fav)

    Wheeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!! See you on Sunday!!!

  15. I love anything ginger! I have a really good Stash ginger peach tea on my desk now.

    Favorite spice is probably cinnamon. So versatile.

  16. I am obsessed with spices. The most used in my kitchen is probably garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne, and cumin. I prefer fresh herbs or fresh ground spices. It makes a world of difference.

  17. I hope you have a great weekend and can’t wait to see your Lulemon goodies (goody?). :)

    I’m with you on the four c’s. I also use nutmeg a lot – its great on squash, oats, sweet taters…mmmm….

  18. Ive never bought any lulemon! I cant wrap my head around spending that much money in clothes Im supposed to sweat in!

    PS—love the pb & j lara bar!

  19. Cinnamon, Curry, Ginger and good ol’ sea salt and fresh ground pepper!

    xo
    K

  20. Peanut Butter Cookie is SO my favorite Larabar! But I haven’t found the PB&J to try it. I hear it’s killer!

    Your scramble looks SO tasty!

    Hope your weekend is fun and safe!

  21. I nearly had parsnip fries today but i went for sweet potato in the end, I to love the c spices.

    Have a fab weekend look forward to seeing your pics xx

  22. I bought parsnips last night and am making those fries soon! They look SO good. :)

    Have fun at Lulu!

    Looking forward to meeting you on Sunday.

  23. The chocolate goo with peanut butter sandwich sounds SO good! Like Nutella, but healthier :)

    Can’t believe you made it through 35 mins on the elliptical without an iPod! You’re right, an hour on the treadmill without one sounds horrible! I NEED it for a good workout! Hope it turns up soon :(

  24. Love Lululemon clothes, if I won the lottery, I’d buy soo many Lulu clothes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

