Daily Archives: February 11, 2010

Spicy Thursday

I’m on my weeekeennd!!! Tomorrow, I will be arriving here:

Sigh. One thing I will miss about the Maritimes is being so close to the ocean. My mommy always used to bring me to Halifax when I was a kid and ask me if I could see England :P

But let’s be realistic here, a good chunk of my time will be spent here:


Lululemon! I’ve been saving up. That should allow me to buy one pair of pants :P

But I’m getting ahead of myself here. It’s still Thursday!

I got up this morning for a cardio machine workout. I’ve been doing a lot of these lately because I lost my iPod. I used to run on the treadmill for my cardio days. But 60 minutes on the treadmill without music sounds mind-numbingly boring to me. So instead I did the now-usual 35 minutes intervals on the elliptical, 10 minutes on the rowing machine, 10 minutes on the stair mill. The elliptical intervals get my heart pumping, the rowing machine works my upper body and the stairmill does a number on my lower body. Perfection!

Then it was off to work for another successful cold breakfast.

IMG_3782

  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • cinnamon
  • raisins
  • 1/2 chopped apple
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

Another winner!! Well, as far as cold breakfasts go. We have a microwave at my office, but the room it’s in is always locked till later in the morning :(

Morning snack was a peanut butter & jelly Larabar.

IMG_3789
I think this may be my new favourite Larabar flavour? I still have to try the peanut butter cookie, then a real decision can be made.

Lunch was spectacular!!

IMG_3788
I know, looks like a boring sandwich and orange. But for the sandwich I spread on 1 tbsp peanut butter then mixed 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder with a touch of water to make it into a thick goo. Then I spread it on the other slice of bread. Omg. So. Good. It tasted like nutella!! Plus, it was a great way to add some protein to a PB sandwich :)

Afternoon snack included baby carrots and Olive & Feta Hummus.

IMG_3790
I had to cut the baby carrots in half again – they make them too big!!

Also, I tried another Yogi tea in my attempts to be an office tea-drinker.

IMG_3792
I expected this to taste like NeoCitran, but it was really good! More ginger-y than lemon-y. For some reason, I don’t like fresh ginger, but I love ginger-flavoured things. Plus, it totally cleared up my sinuses :)

Came home and tried something different for supper – parsnip fries!

IMG_3797

And by “fries” I mean, “sliced in small strips and sprayed in oil, salt and paprika.” I do the same exact thing with all root veggies and call them “fries.”

Next to the fries was an egg scramble.

IMG_3800
Featuring an 1 egg, 1 cup egg whites, onions, tomatoes, spinach, old cheddar and a minced chipotle pepper.

Aaalll together now!

IMG_3802
This was only my second time using chipotle, and hot damn those things are… hot. My lips were burning! But I really enjoy the smoky taste of it. The parsnip fries were quite good as well. They hold up really nicely, and don’t get floppy like some other veggies tend to.

Well I wish I had more exciting things to ramble about, but I jut finished putting all the posts up for this weekend and I’m all blogged out! I will miss you guys this weekend… but not too much ;) Have a great Valentine’s Day! <3

Question of the Day: What’s your favourite spice? Four of the C’s get the most use in my kitchen – Cinnamon, Chili, Curry and Cumin. Sometimes all together! ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers