Granola, Chocolate and Hummus, oh my!

Helloooo! As with most Sundays, I have a ton of food photos to share! And I’ve got a ton more food to prepare for my day tomorrow – so let’s get to it, shall we?

Woke up this morning and made my mom and I a waffle feast. 

IMG_3667
For three waffles:

  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 3/4 cup egg whites
  • 3 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

IMG_3671
For the topping I heated frozen strawberries in the microwave, then stirred in 1 tbsp maple syrup and a couple spoonfuls of plain yogurt. I think the pictures speak for themselves – major yums!

I spent the morning lazing around. Sundays are meant to be lazy! By the time I’d gathered the energy to go to the gym, it was time for another snack.

IMG_3673

Almond butter + banana. Basically the same thing I eat everyday before I go to the gym. Never fails.

Then it was off to the gym for treadmill, upper body and abs.

Treadmill

Minutes Speed – MPH Incline
0-5 3.5 0.0
5-6 5.5 0.0
6-7 6.0 0.0
7-8 6.5 0.0
8-9 7.0 0.0
9-10 5.5 0.5
10–11 6.0 0.5
11-12 6.5 0.5
12-13 7.0 0.5
13-14 5.5 1.0
14-15 6.0 1.0
15-16 6.5 1.0
16-17 7.0 1.0
17-18 5.5 1.5
18-19 6.0 1.5
19-20 6.5 1.5
20-21 7.0 1.5
21-22 5.5 2.0
22-23 6.0 2.0
23-24 6.5 2.0
24-25 7.0 2.0

 

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Romanian deadlift to row  50 lbs 8-12 3

 

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Dumbbell incline bench press 20 lbs ea 8-12 2
Underhand grip lat pulldown 55 lbs 8-12 2
Dumbbell bench press  20 lbs ea 8-12 2
Wide-grip lat pulldown  55 lbs 8-12 2

 

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Barbell upright row  20 lbs 15 2
Barbell curl  20 lbs 15 2
Skull crusher  20 lbs 15 2

 

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Cable horizontal woodchop  35 lbs 12 2
Plank  bw 60 sec 2

Treadmill

Minutes Speed – MPH Incline
0-1 3.0 0.0
1-3 3.5 0.0
3-4 8.5 0.0
4-6 3.5 1.0
6-7 8.5 1.0
7-9 3.5 0.0
9-10 9.0 0.0
10-12 3.5 1.0
12-13 9.0 1.0
13-15 3.5 0.0

I wore my new running shoes today and they were awesome :) Amazing how much the cushioning wears down in just six months, I could notice a huge difference!

I went straight to the grocery store after the gym, so I picked up a Bolthouse Farms vanilla chai tea and drank it right in the store as I shopped. I was ravenous!

It was way sweeter than I was expecting! Not bad for 20g protein, but awful at 42g sugar in 450 mL. Blech.

Came home and had some real food, including a new (to me) food!

IMG_3677

 Armstrong garden herbs cheddar cheese.

IMG_3681

I guess I can’t really call this a “cheesestring” as it’s not stringy. Cheese stick perhaps? Regardless, it was creamy, full-fat, treat :)

Then it was on to my weekly food prep!

First up: some of Deb’s Puffy Pimped Protein Faux-nola.

IMG_3687

It’s a lower-cal, higher protein version of regular granola. Subbing out puffed rice for some of the oatmeal. I followed the directions almost exactly and it turned out amazing. Seriously. Cooking down the maple syrup first, and then stirring in protein powder, gave it such an awesome flavour!! Once you’re done making coconut chia granola, go make this :)

In between stirring the granola, I got to work on Averie’s Vegan White Chocolate Chocolate-Peanut Butter Cups. 

IMG_3693

Except I used totally non vegan ingredients ;) As with most of Averies’ recipes, this one is super simple. Just stir up some peanut butter, cocoa powder, vanilla extract and agave nectar for the filling. Pour a little white chocolate into the cup, plop in your filling, then top it off!! Keep reading to hear the results of these bad boys.

Theeeen it was some Olive & Feta Hummus a la me ;)

IMG_3683

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 3.5 oz feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup sliced black olives
  • 2 small cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper

All blended up in my food processor. This turned out great. I can’t wait to make tomorrow’s turkey sandwich with it.

Oh yes, and while all this was going on, I also roasted a chicken.

IMG_3698

With some roasted brussels sprouts and parsnips. One of my fave dinners!

And the best part – dessert!

IMG_3702

IMG_3705 
Ohheckyes, it was good. I was scared I didn’t sweeten the filling enough, but the white chocolate is so sweet it goes perfectly. The rest of these will be pawned off on my coworkers tomorrow, muhaha ;)

Okee doke, I hate to blog and run, but I have to go get ready if I intend to get up for spin class tomorrow! Have a great start to your week!!

 

Question of the Day: White, milk or dark chocolate? I’m dark chocolate all the way, but I lovelovelove white chocolate too :)

Posted on February 7, 2010, in Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. that syrup looks incredible!! yum!

    I’m a total dark chocolate girl. Once I got hooked on that, I don’t really enjoy milk chocolate at all anymore.

  2. I channeled my inner Susan and made waffles today too! They were excellent, I froze extras for the week, we will see how that works out!

    I love dark chocolate…..I ration myself some expensive stuff every day. I have yet to pick up the fleur de sel, though. hmmm…..

  3. I don’t discriminate I like them all. However they are all off my list right now as I try and shed a few lbs.

    I don’t particularly like cottage cheese so do you taste it in waffles or will it turn out as well with out?

    • You can’t taste the cottage cheese at all! I blend it until smooth, so you don’t get the weird chunks that grosses most people out about cottage cheese. Plus, the addition of it is what makes them “protein pancakes.” But you can sub it out with Greek yogurt and I think it will still work :)

  4. All of your food looks so good- the waffles, the hummus, the pb cups…ahh

    I don’t do the *dairy* thing so I’d have to say dark chocolate…but semi-sweet chocolate is good too!

  5. I love white chocolate! But I try to choose dark when it’s an option. :-)

  6. Hi Susan thank you for the linkage love on the White Choc PB Cups….and glad you enjoyed them!!!!!!!

    All my stuff is ridic sweet. I have 2 sets of recipes; the ones I eat and the ones I publish. Even my less sweet versions, people write in, oh it was good but it was sooo sweet. I’m like, whoa, you should try the ones in the ratios that I make that dont hit the blog LOL
    But lots of my readers are raw vegan types and they think dates are like super sweet. I however could put 8 packets of splenda in a venti drip coffee and think it needs more :)

    Anyway girl, thanks seriously for making them. You ‘re the 1st person in the sphere that has made these and photographed them.

    And glad you find all my recipes easy. that’s the name of the freakin game. Rachel Ray of the raw vegan dessert world :)

    Ok you know over the holiday when you were making all those pretzle things with melted candies in them, haystacks maybe? Naomi one fit foodie just made something today and i know you made all that stuff over the holidays…i need to make something like that, do you have a favorite or a link that you’d recommend for me?

    xoxoxo

    :)

  7. So much good food in this post! When I first saw the hummus, I thought it might be cookie dough. But really, olive and feta hummus actually sounds BETTER than cookie dough. Olive hummus is one of my favorite things ever!

    OH, the roast chicken. We had one last Monday, but I already want another :) And brussels and parsnips are the perfect pairing! I might add carrots to that in my “dream roast chicken dinner.” Oh, and wine of course :) If we ever meet in real life, we just HAVE to eat a roast chicken :)

    I love all three kinds of chocolate, but I try to stick to dark because I can at least make some sort of health justification with it ;)

  8. I am a huge fan of dark chocolate. I have eaten an entire KING SIZE Dark Hershey’s Bar in one sitting. Yes the one that weighs like 1/2 pound.

  9. Oh hurrah! Thanks for the shout for the fauxnola- I’m so happy you like it! I keep mine in the freezer b/c I still tend to just sprinkle as a garnish so I don’t use it up super fast. can’t wait to see what you do with it!

    And your nonvegan white chocolate treats look sooo fancy all swirled like that- really pretty! Hummus- nom- I can see why you’re looking forward to lunch tomorrow.

  10. Wow! What a busy lady! Well done on your uber productive Sundah! Have a great week.
    I’m 100% a dark chocolate girl. Any variety, any way, I’ll eat it!

  11. What a busy day of treat cooking, everything looks fab! I’m one 100% dark I hate white choc its way to sweet, I like the bitterness of dark. People say its better to have dark because its so rich you don’t need as much……….ummmmmmmm thats definitely not the case with me I could eat it all day long! x x

  12. Everything you’ve made looks delicious!

    On the subject of chocolate – I’m an equal opportunity chocoholic – I love most kinds to be honest. However, in different situations. I find it much more difficult to have a small piece of milk chocolate (especially with salted, caramelized almonds), so I tend to buy the 70% stuff, as I’m more likely to show moderation with it.

    Layering dark and white chocolate is heavenly!

  13. Dark chocolate for me.. in copious amounts!

  14. That granola sounds awesome! I’m very intrigued to try it out :)

    Aren’t those pb cups freakin’ amazing? Looove them.

    I’m def a dark chocolate kinda girl, but I don’t discriminate ;)

  15. I love dark chocolate! It’s so yummy! I’ll eat just about any chocolate though! :)

    Your waffles looked amazing! Your chicken too. I’ve been roasting one a week for the past month!

  16. holy yummy cooking – i want one of everything in this post please :)

    dark…once you go black, you never go back. (that was the worst pun ever, but i could not resist)

  17. Dang Susan – those chocolates look professional! (and yummy).

    I used to be milk chocolate all the way when I was younger. My husband actually converted me to dark chocolate when that was all that was available to eat. Now I enjoy the flavor.

  18. You went a little nuts this weekend with the baking.. I love it!

    I need to make a big note to get back to some of these recipes.

    How was your visit with your mom? Score any sweet swag? I love heading to places like London Drugs or Walmart with the rentals- something about spending money on dish soap just KILLS me!

  19. Hands down – DARK. I love it. The darker the better.

  20. I’m still jealous of your waffle maker. It seems like they would be so much more fun to eat than pancakes! haha

  1. Pingback: Monthly Goal Check-In « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

