Goals For February

Erm, Happy Monday? Or Tuesday, if that’s when you’re reading this. Then I’m sorry, because Tuesdays suck more than Mondays. Is it Waffle Wednesday yet??

So I’m not 100% better today. My body is still producing snot at a high rate. But the rest of me feels okay, so I got up in the minus million celsius weather to go to spin class this morning. Not gonna lie, it was hard to do with a cold! There were a few other people blowing their noses and hacking up gross stuff along with me. I kinda felt like we had a secret hardcore bond, and felt each other’s pain after each brutal hill climb. I also burned 499 calories in 60 minutes. What’s up with that?

Showered at the gym and went straight to work. Got there at 7:50 am!! I kinda like the quiet hours before everyone arrives. I get to enjoy a quiet breakfast and take my time preparing for the day ahead.

Breakfast was another go at overnight oats. Well, kinda.

IMG_3481

  • 200g plain yogurt (3/4 cup?)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • lots and lots of cinnamon
  • raisins
  • 1/2 tbsp shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1/3 cup coconut chia granola

IMG_3485

The applesauce helped and made the consistency much better! Still didn’t keep me full though.

 

Luckily, I had a PB&J homemade granola bar to keep me going till lunch.

IMG_3487

These are TAS-TEE. But the consistency is off. The jam added more moisture than I anticipated so they’re a little on the gooey side.

Lunch was as boring as boring gets.

IMG_3488

 Tuna salad (with capers) in a pita and a naval orange. Snore.

I was hungry again soon after and dug into my next snack early.

IMG_3491

Yoplait Source muesli yogurt cup and a Kashi blackberry cereal bar.

And a touch of snobbery.

IMG_3490

Although, I guess the classiness is brought down by the fact that I drank it out of a can.

This snack powered me through the next four hours! Not bad eh? I couldn’t help it, I got lost in the aisles of the grocery store after work. Happens every time. Came home to a quick dinner featuring this:

IMG_3499

Turned into this…

IMG_3495
I just mixed it with some tomato sauce, adzuki beans, broccoli, mushrooms and chili powder. Super simple, pretty tasty!

My evening snack was another bar (I try to limit myself to one a day), but I just had to try this new flavour!

IMG_3501

Okay, the Kashi Dark Mocha Almond chewy granola bar is a “new to me” flavour.

IMG_3505

I really liked it! I could smell the coffee flavour as soon as I opened the package (which is saying a lot, as I’m really stuffed up). It was still kinda bland like all the chewy bars are, but hey, you can never go wrong with chocolate and coffee. Except when there’s chocolate chips on top. They always fall off and melt in the most unfortunate of places.

I also just realized that of the six meals I ate today, only two of them didn’t contain oats. At least I’m getting lots of grains?

 

Goals For February

So this is something I used to do every month, but took January off. My goal for January was just to start my new job and “survive” the month. Besides a few close calls, I’d say I did that :) So what’s in store for February you ask??

1. Work out no more than 6 hours a week. You see, I have a bad habit of doing long ass workouts every single day. Then I get run down and sick and have to take a whole weekend off doing nothing to recover (ahemlastweekend). So my goal for this month is to find a balance between reaching my fitness goals and accidentally overtraining.

2. Say yes more. I’m awful for making up lame excuses to get out of doing things. This month, I’m going to say yes more when people ask me to do something. Hopefully I’ll get some new wonderful experiences out of it!

3. Make more leftovers. I have a tendency to make a lot of single-serving meals. Now that I have a microwave at work, it would be pretty sweet to just grab leftovers instead of making a big lunch every night.

4. Eat more fat. This is a big one and I’m going to dedicate a whole post to it tomorrow. A lot of people mentioned in my last post that they too need more fat in their diets. Well Emily and I have decided to initiate a little challenge to make it a Fatty February ;) Our hair and skin will all be shining by the end of it!

 

There ya go. Not really ground breaking goals compared to some of my old ones. But I know I can accomplish every single one of these. And they’re all important in making the next month not only run more seamlessly, but be more fun!!

 

Question of the Day: What are your goals for the month? Big or small, write them down. I’ll be checking in every Sunday!

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Challenges, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. We are totally on the same page- if you check my post today- I do monthly resolutions too!

    I don’t know why I’d have one for the whole year?! Some obviously transfer (eg. don’t eat crap 7days a week), but it’s nice to freshen things up!

    I’m making your protein bars this week- tips or tricks?! I realized this morning I should have done it yesterday, but I went for a lara, later this week I’m going to be going for a Susan (seriously, they will be called that around my house).

    • Hmm, my only tip is to add the liquid in slowlyyyy, stirring lots in between. The protein powder can take a while to dissolve, and before you know it you have goopy bars like I do this week! (but delicious goop nonetheless ;) ) Can’t wait to see how they turn out!

  2. Those are great goals! I need to yes more too. I need to get out and live.

  3. my goals for February:

    1. Run more
    2. Cook more
    3. Do everything I can to secure a new exciting job
    4. Stay positive!

  4. Great goals! mine are sleep, workout, and make time for my husband :) What a fun idea for those chickn breasts, I tried one almost a year ago and havent bought it since, but they werent bad.

  5. great goals!
    I work out way more than that! but every time i teach a yoga class it’s 90 mins. So, it’s an occupational hazard :)

    the “Say yes more. I’m awful for making up lame excuses to get out of doing things.” I say yes too much and then am like WTF did i do that for?! But it’s yes to lame stuff. I need to say yes to fun stuff!!!!

    great post!

  6. I’ve seen that veggie chicken in stores and have been wanting to try it! The gardein products are a hit or miss with me…but mostly a hit

    You have some great goals :) I think I’m going to join you on eating more fat. The lame part is that I’m sure if you did a nutrient analysis on my diet, I’d be solid in the 25-30% range of intake from fat according to the DRI. But seriously…I don’t agree with the DRI

  7. I can’t wait for your “fat” post LOL I totally need to incorporate more fat into my diet and I’m not a huge oil or butter fan.

    Your February goals sound GREAT! You’re going to do great. Hopefully some of your saying yes will result in going out with some of the ladies from work that you seemed to be clicking with before you got a little sick.

    Nicole G

  8. I’m actually the same about hanging out. Whenever it gets to the end of the day or the weekend, I usually try to get out of hanging out so I can just relax. But whenever I take the plunge, I have fun 98% of the time ;)

  9. Those are great goals. I’m also going to try and find a better balance with exercising, and try to incorporate more fat into my diet. I am TERRIFIED of fat though, so that will be really hard for me. Fat=weight gain to me. I would say I only get maybe 10-20 grams a day? I’m definitely curious about what you have to say on the matter tomorrow.

  10. Hee hee- the chocolate chips fall off and melt in unfortunate places. yep, they do! Especially when you are driving in 118 degree weather in white shorts and don’t realize it fell til you take off said shorts at the end of the day. Not fun.

    Great realistic goals- I also overtrain “accidentally”- I just love it and if I feel the love I go go go. Then I stop. Dead in my tracks for a couple of days. :-)

    I LOVE that brand of your turnover thing- we get faux meats at Fresh&easy and I just love them. SOOooo tasty.

    Goals for feb: Keep on the healthy eating train, drink lots of water, and really truly I MUST get back to computer closed by 9pm. Must must must. Can you help me!!??

  11. I think the FAT balance is important and hard to get your heard around–well for me–since I have been dieting for so long.

    I like your goals. HEAB had a before and after picture of her hands when she increased her fat intake..you could totally tell the difference.

  12. I love your goals for the month. They are great, haha.

    I’ll have to think about my goals for the month. ;)

  13. I really like your goal of “Saying yes more!” I may steal it. Have you seen the movie “Yes Man” with Jim Carry and Zooey Dechanel? It’s really good, and all about saying yes and taking risks.

    I love overnight oats! Yours look SO good. So do your home made granola bars! I love making homemade bars, need to start doing this again.

    Have a great day!

  14. I hope you feel better soon!

    I have been wanting to try the Gardien products. They look so good!

    I think your goal to limit working out is great. So many of us get caught up in it and we push ourselves too hard… and get sick!

  15. Tuna salad isn’t boring when you add capers :) That sounds like a great idea. I’ll have to try that one!
    Good luck with your goals this month! It sounds like you’re focusing on some healthy stuff. Go girl!
    I think my goal for this month will be to cut back on my grocery spending. I went outta control with “new” items that I saw on other’s blogs and it hit the wallet hard. I just have to admire from afar :)

  16. Goals for Feb:

    1. Read more; I haven’t been reading enough lately!
    2. Exercise more; I have been exercising a LOT less than usual since getting to Toronto; like 3-4x/week as opposed to my usual 5-6. I need exercise to de-stress!
    3. Work on finding meals that both the boyf and I enjoy; especially with my trying to eat healthier/more raw
    4. Blog more! I have been neglecting it a bit with the start of school.
    5. De-stress more with yoga, meditation (and exercise!)

    xo
    K

  17. Hey Susan!! I’ve missed you!! What a great new blog!
    Just to jog your memory, it is Melissa from For the Love of Health! Life got so busy for me back in June I sadly had to give up blogging! I am really going to attempt to start again because I miss it so much! I need to add more balance to my life and blogging always helped!

    I am going to catch up on your blog!
    Take care!

  18. My goals this month are to:
    1. Eat less junk. I’m eating too many desserts.
    2. Start back to exercising without getting sick.
    3. Eat more fruits and veggies.
    4. Work on my blog.
    5. Start saving money for a vacation sometime soon!

  19. Great goals. Can I get in on that Fatty February? I need this too.

    Other goal… I REALLY want to bring food back into my blog so am working towards that slowly (offline, with the goal of having blog-worthy eats ASAP), to see friends more and to get my electrical shower installed. Ie, quit procrastinating.

  20. ohhhh i am loving the addition of applesauce to overnight oats! and i am so sorry for canceling this weekend – i think sunday will be the perfect time for a marathon banff planning sesh!

    hope you have a fab week – and i love all your goals! my goals are to make some blog improvements, stay consistent with exercise and there was something else, but i forget :)

    love ya!

  21. I love your goals! I need to say yes more often also!

  22. Your goals sounds great- sounds like you have a really good “grasp” on yourself and what you need and don’t need! I’ve never seen that yoplait source, looks good!

  23. I swear Susan, my posts so often mirror yours, but I swear I didn’t look at this post until this morning! How funny.
    So now we know each other’s goals :) Fatty February sounds AWESOME. I already eat plenty of fats, but I am on board merely because it has a kick ass name!

  24. I really like your “say yes more” resolution. I may “borrow” that one!

    Also, perrier=snobbery! hahaha. I think the can adds rather than detracts (Perrier always makes me think of that Talladega Nights movie!) , because when I drink store-brand seltzer at work, people make “old man beverage” comments. Ah well, one can never win! (I love sparkly water by the way!)

  25. stellar workout. it is so hard to get motivated to workout when you are sick~ so props to you. and not like you had a mediocre one~ you had an ass kicking workout! yay! hey~ capers are pretty exciting if you ask me ;) love fatty feb! yay! i am sure i will consume my fair share of fat in jamaica. I LOVE YOU!

  26. Love the goals- fatty February ;)
    gotta eat those healthy fats!

  27. I don’t mind drinking out of a can but it drives my hubby crazy! You have such great goals.

    My February goals include being really consistent on my weight training. I usually do it but don’t really do it hard as I could!

  28. that faux chicken dinner you created looks fantastic!! love how you used simple ingredients to supplement it :)

    great goals!! eating more fats = more nut butters = happy tummy !

  29. i like the “say yes more”- i am such a hermit, but also “say no when i really wanna say no” is a good one for me.

    fatty February. i love it. yes to fats! is it weird that i fear carbs more than i do fats? i think i eat more out of the nut butter jar than i do bread/starch/grains etc. :/

  1. Pingback: Sprinkled « The Great Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 485 other followers

