Daily Archives: January 27, 2010

Survivor

Love that so many of you plan on doing races! I will say though, I do agree that training for one can add unneeded stress and pressure. That’s the main reason why I don’t plan on doing another triathlon this year. I’m happy I did one, but I spent way to much physical and mental energy stressing about it. The goal for this year is to participate in a few events and have fun doing it :D

Onward!

Hit up the gym before work today Had an excellent weight lifting sesh, totally making up for the lacklustre one I had on my birthday. Can’t win ‘em all I guess! Here’s what I did:

Treadmill

Minutes Speed – MPH Incline
0-5 3.5 0.0
5-6 5.5 0.0
6-7 6.0 0.0
7-8 6.5 0.0
8-9 7.0 0.0
9-10 5.5 0.5
10-11 6.0 0.5
11-12 6.5 0.5
12-13 7.0 0.5
13-14 5.5 1.0
14-15 6.0 1.0
15-16 6.5 1.0
16-17 7.0 1.0
17-18 5.5 1.5
18-19 6.0 1.5
19-20 6.5 1.5
20-21 7.0 1.5
21-22 5.5 2.0
22-23 6.0 2.0
23-24 6.5 2.0
24-25 7.0 2.0

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Front squat push-press 30 lbs 12 3
Wide-grip lat pulldown 55 lbs 8 3

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Step-up 50 lbs 10 3
Seated cable row 55 lbs 8 3

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Lying medicine ball throw 13 lbs 15 3
Russian twist 13 lbs 30 3

Exercise Weight Reps Sets
Medicine ball pullover with stability ball 13 lbs 15 3
Swiss ball crunch 13 lbs 15 3


Elliptical

Minutes Level Effort
0-1 8 2/10
1-3 10 5/10
3-4 19 9/10
4-6 10 5/10
6-7 19 9/10
7-9 10 5/10
9-10 19 9/10
10-12 10 5/10
12-13 19 9/10
13-15 10 2/10

Phew! My heart was pumping during this one! This was also my first time doing the lying medicine ball throw. Definitely felt it in my triceps, loved it. A fun departure from my usual dumbbells :)

Went straight to work after and dug into my packed breakfast.

IMG_3299

Overnight oats!

  • 2/3 cup yogurt
  • 40g package of instant oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey powder
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • raisins

Holy moly this was thick.

IMG_3304
I’ve dabbled in overnight oats a few times, and I must say, I still don’t care for it. I’m not the biggest fan of cold breakfasts to begin with, and this is just always unsatisfying for me. If I’m eating oatmeal cold, I want it in cookie form please :)

I also had to dig into my snack a little early…

IMG_3301

Granny smith and two squares of cheddah. Apples and cheese, almost as good as apples n’ PB ;)

Then for lunch, my co-workers took me out for a belated b-day meal!! We had planned on going to a local Greek spot, but it was closed due to “equipment failure.” So we instead went to a place called Yoo China Curry House, which I’ve been to once before. I got some chicken thing with a side of some cauliflower and potato thing. And some basmati rice. It was tasty treat, and a nice change from our regular lunch routine :)

I had to work again tonight, so I came home for a quick meal in-between.

IMG_3309

Leftover turkey mini meatloaf! I always like to save a few servings of everything I make and put it in the freezer. Perfect for weeks like this one where I don’t have the time to do a lot of cooking.

IMG_3312
My veggie side was butternut squash fries. I had this exact same combo the other day, it was so good I had to have it again. This was a particularly good batch of b-nut squash fries. My oven must have been in a good mood today :)

For my evening snack I decided to mix two things I love: protein powder + applesauce.


With the addition of cinnamon + peanut butter of course. Surprisingly, this was just alright! But I’m not crazy about the vanilla protein powder I have right now. I bought Whey Gourmet vanilla sweetened with stevia, and it tastes “off.” Stevia has the tendency to do that…

So, much of my job is writing content for the university’s website. This includes going to campus events and doing postings on them. Tonight I went to a lecture featuring a Holocaust survivor. My. God. It was inspirational, heart wrenching, moving, almost inexplicable.

This man was taken to a death camp with his family when he was 12 years old. The very same day he arrived, his parents and twin sister were killed. He somehow lucked out and was taken to a work camp instead.

For the four years that followed, he escaped death time and time again. Made friends with the right people, then lost friends at the same time. The man subsisted on almost nothing for food, including a few days where he drank nothing but water and sugar.

It got me thinking about how humans are built to survive more than we can even fathom. I constantly cross paths with people who go through seemingly impossible ordeals, and still come out alive. I’ve watched best friends and family members go through hardships, who to this day still can’t explain how they got through to the other side. They just “survived.”

This Holocaust survivor saw and lived things I will never understand. But at the same time, it gives me hope that no matter what life throws at me, I can get through it, and I will live to tell the tale. We may not think we can get through something, but we absolutely can. Because we are so much stronger than we think.

So no question of the day today my friends. Just a few thoughts for the day :) See ya tomorrow!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers