Daily Archives: January 22, 2010

Flashback Friday – The Early Years

Happeee Weeeekend!!!! Loved reading your responses on my last post. Man, a lot of us used to hate some tasty foods!! Some popular ones included brussel sprouts, beets, mushrooms, oatmeal, mustard, bananas and olives. I honestly can’t believe some of you hated bananas!! That was probably my fave food as a kid :)

Okay. Moving on!

As promised, I was up at 5:30am and ready to work out! After a hazy few moments, I strapped on my heart rate monitor, lululemon, and slammed back an iced coffee with PB+wasa. Decided to go for a long-ish treadmill run today. It was a good time!!

Treadmill – 1% incline

Minutes MPH
0-5 3.5
5-10 5.6
10-15 5.8
15-20 6.0
20-25 5.8
25-30 6.0
30-35 6.2
35-40 6.0
40-45 6.2
45-50 6.4
50-55 6.2
55-60 6.4
60-65 6.6
65-70 3.5

This workout is pretty easy for the first half, and then gets really hard towards the end. It’s nice to just take it easy on the treadmill sometimes though, and not push my max like I’m always doing in speed sessions. Plus, I put some stellar new tunes on the iPod to run to :)

I went straight to work from the gym, so I packed myself a little brekkie:

IMG_3109
The last of this week’s homemade protein bars. Can’t wait to whip up another batch of these!

Morning snack:

IMG_3108

Yogurt mixed with peach-mango protein powder and some homemade granola. 

Then at 12:30 I got to leave work!! Yayyyy!!! Ran some errands and came home to a fabulous lunch.

IMG_3117

Same salad as last night. It was that good.

  • romaine
  • spinach
  • tomato
  • green pepper
  • onion
  • olives
  • pickles
  • tofu
  • feta

I’ve been eating a lot of big salads lately! It’s solely because I’ve started buying giant bags of greens, and I’m more inclined to eat mass quantities because I don’t want it to go bad. In other words, not a bad way of forcing myself to eat more salads ;)

Then I hit the road to Moncton. Snacked on a peanut butter chocolate Simply Bar in the car.

Recycled photo – the Canon Rebel is hard to manoeuvre on the highway :P

My mommy already had a wonderful dinner on the go when I arrived home.

IMG_3123
Roast chicken – one of my favourites :) On the side are some maple spiced roast sweet potato and turnip, corn and a few french fries. I put some green relish on the chicken and it was delicious!!!

Dessert…

IMG_3144

A giant bag of dark chocolate squares. I just had one, but clearly this bag is dangerous.

My evening snack was a fun food find in my mom’s pantry!
 IMG_3148

The Kashi Fruit & Grain granola bars just made their way to Canada, and I haven’t tried the pumpkin pie flavour yet. Suh-weet! 

IMG_3149

It was pretty good!! I love pumpkin spice, but I think the dark chocolate coconut may still be my favourite. I looked at the ingredients and it looks like the topping is based with dates??

Okay, now on to even more fun things… Flashback Friday!!!

 

Flashback Friday is a fun lil’ thing Janetha cooked up to show us bloggers pre-blog days. They make for some fun posts and a way to get to know us “beyond the blog.”

Since I’m home this particular Flashback Friday, and seeing as tomorrow is my bee-day, I thought it would be fun to flashback on my life!

To truly start at the beginning, here is my mom very preggers with me on Christmas 1985.

IMG_3125
Then, on January 23, 1986, at approximately 1:19 pm, I popped out. 

IMG_3126
Those other adorable faces are my apprehensive sisters Sara and Jane.

Actually, my mom looks kinda apprehensive here too!

IMG_3127
My mother tells me I was a happy baby. I suspect this may have been because she kept me fat :P

IMG_3131

Seriously guys. I had ankle rolls.

As the baby of the family, I may have been a little spoiled. To this day I still insist I am blissfully unaware of that fact ;)

IMG_3132

IMG_3141I have also always loved food.

IMG_3134

Some things never change.

My mom tells me I was a very active child. I would run and run and then just crash.

IMG_3138

Um, again, some things never change :P

Oh yeah, did you hear? I was a blonde.

IMG_3142

My hairdresser tells me I’m still a dark blonde. Pfft. Brunettes have more fun.

And while my mom may have done most of the work 24 years ago, I guess I should give some props to my dad too.

IMG_3136
No contest here folks, my dad’s smarter than your dad ;)

And one more photo I stumbled upon that I had to throw in for the FBF creator herself.

IMG_3139

Basil the Basset Hound. He passed away many moons ago, but he was one helluva dog.

 

Now it’s time to go gossip about Hollywood stars on the Haiti fundraiser with my mom. Tomorrow’s plans are gym, brunch with dad, shopping, cake baking, sushi feast, then cake eating!! Can’t wait!!! See ya tomorrow!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 487 other followers